We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Brazilian food and nice live music!”
Review of Favela

Favela
Ranked #66 of 572 Restaurants in Astoria
Restaurant details
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tasty Brazilian food and nice live music!”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The food is delicious: if you are going with more than 2+ people, try to order different dishes to share as every dish has unique flavor and personality. On Fridays and Saturdays – there is live music at 8 p.m. – it is a little loud, so if you want to catch up with friends, get there at 7-7.30 so you can have both: conversation and live music with delish desert.
P.S. There is application on iphone – Savored - I made reservations through it and got 20% off the bill.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ohtany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    13
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york city
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home Cooked Brazilian food...”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I used to live in Brazil and there are many good churrascarias in NYC, but none of them satisfied my craving for a nice home cooked meal. Favela is the most perfect Brazilian restaurant ive ever been to in NYC. Their food is amazing! Their wine list is great AND cheap! and they have live music on weekends! I recommend their grilled picanha w rice and red beans. their collard greens are superb. for app get their coxinhas and their shrimp rizole (my fav) Try it!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank adricaceres13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Best caipiriha”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Incredible local Brazilian Restaurant . Home made feeling . great drinks especially Caipirinhas . Another favorite great an affordable

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Virgin-Queens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed July 31, 2011

The first time i went there to try the famous feijoada, but it was sold out. So I tried frango no pasarinho, hope I spelled right, it was delicious
Service overall is good, caipirinhas are excellent. Will go back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorginho33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Had a really nice dinner...”
Reviewed April 11, 2009

Had a really nice dinner here on a Friday day. Nice cozy, neighborhood place, attentive staff. Live trova on Friday night. The food was really good - a friend and I shared the Churrasco and really enjoyed it. Plus passion fruit Caipirinhas, croquettes (as appetizers) and coconut flan for dessert. Everything was great. And after the we just sat there for HOURS and talked and the staff did not rush us out. I will come back here in a heartbeat. Can't wait to bring others here.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Favela also viewed

 

Been to Favela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing