We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes it is true. Best Paninis in Astoria, Queens, NYC and 31st Avenue.”
Review of Il Bambino

Il Bambino
Ranked #25 of 567 Restaurants in Astoria
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
548 reviews
367 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Yes it is true. Best Paninis in Astoria, Queens, NYC and 31st Avenue.”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Perhaps the best know restaurant on 31st Avenue, Astoria and top rated restaurant in Astoria Queens, this gem of a restaurant attracts the young, hip and local food connoisseurs of Queens.

Off the beaten paths of Broadway Long Island City or 30th (Grand) Avenue, Astoria, Il Bambino is one of a growing number of trendy restaurants sprouting up on 31st Avenue in Astoria. I have been coming here since 2008, and have lived on 31st Avenue nearly half my life, so I have seen many restaurants come and go. Il Bambino has survived the ups and down of our great recession and bucked the average closure rate for most eateries in NYC.

Over the years, the co-owner, Darren Lawless, has worked tirelessly to maintain and run this restaurant at very high level, and this is also reflected in the fact that there has not been much staff turnover recently. You can usually find the same crew ready to serve food or coffee to those who come and go on a regular basis.

My favorite is the Prosciutto panini, on the menu.

Oh, and did I forget -most items on the menu go for the less than $15 and in many cases less than $10/item.

Il Bambino provides outdoor seating, but no scenic view I am afraid, just a view of other apartment blocks and buildings facing 31st Avenue. However, in the summer it is nice to have a beer here with a sandwich.

Restaurant is Rated A, but I will give them an A+ for excellence. They are also Zagat rated.


Kudos Il Bambino -. KEEP ON COOKIN'

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank neil102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    24
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A Never Fail with our Astoria Guests”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I know the Il Bambino staff on a first-name basis which speaks to how regularly I frequent the restaurant. Paninis and crostinis are the staples of the menu with never-fail favorites such as the truffle egg salad and shaved speck crostini. Be forewarned that most of the dishes are quite hearty. As I am now on a diet, I sampled some of the less carb-rich dishes. The roasted carrot salad, marinated sardines, and baby string beans are some of my favorites - even with the excellent selection of cold meats offered. This restaurant has NEVER disappointed a single out-of-town guest and many ask to return to Il Bambino when visiting despite the vast array of excellent Astoria restaurants available to them. Sitting on the back patio on a warm summer evening sharing crostinis, wine, and conversation with friends while watching the fireflies hover nearby makes you feel like you are far away from NYC. Note that there is a Monday half-priced wine special and an excellent selection of wines available. This restaurant is a MUST for those visiting Astoria.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Extraordinary and hearty!”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My son and daughter-in-law love this place and shared it with me. Great big hearty breakfast paninis that can easily be shared with accompanying salad. Interesting meats and cheeses make delicious paninis. Specials were available but we ordered from the menu. Coffee smelled heavenly but I didn't have any as it was a warm day. Busy place but worth the wait if you have to. Outdoor seating was pleasant, shaded and had good service. Can't go wrong with this place.
http://ilbambinonyc.com/

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank wgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of the best in Astoria!”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I've been here a few times now and have gotten something different each time. Everything has been delicious, and the panini are huge. The brunch sandwiches are really good as well. I lived in Italy for 2 years and often am unimpressed by Italian food I've had elsewhere, but I have to say Il Bambino makes me feel a little bit like I'm back in Florence!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank mhoulm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
436 reviews
360 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Good Paninis”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

A nice place with good Paninis and reasonable wine. Try it.
Remember that they serve American sizes and you can easily share one.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Bambino also viewed

 

Been to Il Bambino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing