We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lived up to expectations”
Review of Taverna Kyclades

Taverna Kyclades
Ranked #1 of 567 Restaurants in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
105 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lived up to expectations”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We went here for lunch because of the great write-up, and it lived up to expectations. Great grilled sardines and calamari. Nice servers. We will come back for sure.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JRNYSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    158
    38
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“There is a line for a reason.”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Aside from the fact that the food is fresh and delicious, the owner is very kind and walks around to make sure that your food is good. People line up for this place, and its hyped up for a good reason. The seafood and salads are spectacular.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank reverena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Greek food and hospitality to it's finest!”
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Decided to bring the family to Astoria to show them where their Dad was born and raised. What made this visit even more special was the restaurant we had dinner at, 'Taverna Kyclades'. The food reminded me of what I have been missing so many years since I moved away, "authentic real good Greek food". More importantly my family enjoyed it very much. Was worth the 1 1/2 hour wait and the free glass of wine helped too!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank chebolu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
330 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great Greek food & fish”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

were recommended by someone who lives in Astoria, as a good place with reasonable prices, especially for lunch. well worth the visit, had grilled sardines & sides of lemon potatoes & swiss chard, not really sides but quite a enough to be a main dish. came with olive bread & olive oil for dipping. portions were quite ample, AND EVERYTHING WAS GOOD. looking forward to returning and having both the salmon [which was recommended by the person who sent us] and the whole roasted/grilled fish..

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank leo t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
91 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Excellent Seafood”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is Greek seafood at its BEST. I grew up in Astoria and know Greek food very well...this place has really great fresh seafood. Do not think twice about it. Just know that if you come during peak hours you will have a very long wait. It's worth the wait though!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chrysma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Kyclades also viewed

 

Been to Taverna Kyclades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing