We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Taverna Kyclades

Taverna Kyclades
Ranked #1 of 563 Restaurants in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York
Level Contributor
91 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Excellent Seafood”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is Greek seafood at its BEST. I grew up in Astoria and know Greek food very well...this place has really great fresh seafood. Do not think twice about it. Just know that if you come during peak hours you will have a very long wait. It's worth the wait though!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chrysma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    153
    37
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Economic, fast & abundant”
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Prepare your doggie bag cause you will need it!
Very good quality-price ratio! The food is very good, economic, fast and abundant!
Service is very good too. During the wait the hostess brings wine on the house, and keeps calling the people who left their names.
For an incredible low price you will eat a very good seafood in a quite nice place.
Only remark: quite a long wait because it gets crowded very easily!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MDR348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The best Greek food”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Visiting friends in NYC and all suggested that Taverna Kyclades is a must visited place, so we went there to make the best of our trip. After waiting around 45 minutes as the place is so busy, we had our table outdoor and started the meal with the grilled octopus, Greek salad and lemon roasted potato with their homemade bread. The grilled octopus was so yummy and delicious that we ordered it twice.
Then for the main entree, we had Mediterranean Sea Bass, fried Whiting and fried Sardines ... all dishes were so right and amazingly delicious.

If you are a seafood lover,,,, then this restaurant is your target !

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beesan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“THE Best Greek Food in Town”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We landed at LaGuardia, grabbed a rental car and went to this place for dinner. We were greeted promptly and told there would be a 15 minute wait. While we waited a gentleman offered us a complimentary glass of wine that was quite enjoyable.

The food was fresh and delicious! Try the Calamari for an appetizer- it’s the best I’ve ever had. The spanakopita ...again, the best I’ve ever had...simply the best. I ordered the whole, grilled striped bass and it was fresh, seasoned to perfection and delicious. We ordered a carafe of house cabernet that tasted like it cost $100 (but didn’t)- great choice to serve!

The service was superb, never missed a beat and Andy the owner came to our table and chatted with us like he'd known us his entire life- really nice guy.

Here's the clincher- My girlfriend texted 2 friends who live there asking which restaurant in Astoria to go to BOTH said Taverna Kyclades… they didn’t offer a second choice. Funny thing is the flight attendant on our flight up also told me she had "just the place" for us to go but couldn't remember the name. During the flight I gave her my business card and asked her to email it to me. As we sat down I received the email ...it was Taverna Kyclades. Don’t just listen to me, ask anyone!

It's THE place for Greek food- enjoy!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
152 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Neighborhood Location”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Meet some friends here for a quick dinner before heading to the U.S. Open. Loved it, beautiful sunny evening, friendly service and fresh food. We loved the various appetizers from sausage to calimari. The fresh sole was great and very large portions. Complimentary dessert. The line was quite long waiting for a table, but it did not seem to bother anyone. Would definetly recommend or pay another visit if I am in the area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joeger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Kyclades also viewed

 

Been to Taverna Kyclades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing