We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good things come to those who wait!”
Review of Taverna Kyclades

Taverna Kyclades
Ranked #1 of 577 Restaurants in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good things come to those who wait!”
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Yes... The wait for a table can be quite long - but once you have a table, you will quickly forget the wait as you devour some of the best Greek food you'll find anywhere! The wait staff are prompt and courteous and the food is DELISH. What more could you ask for when dining out?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GaGaOf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    165
    41
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible service, totally overrated food, always a long wait”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

These people act like they're doing me a favor by serving me their mediocre food. Thanks anyway.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BusinessT229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belchertown, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

I was visiting from out of town and myself and family wanted to eat Greek food and based on Trip Advisor reviews, picked what should be the best Greek food in Astoria. It was a Saturday night and the restaurant was quite crowded. I ordered the filet of sole and it had no taste to it. The Greek salad was also tasteless. My wife ordered the calamari which was passable. We also waited 15 minutes for a waiter to visit us. When I read negative reviews I often think the writer was in a bad mood. In this situation, it was not the case. Find another small Greek restaurant in Astoria and have some fun. Just don't pick this Taverna.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Kabobs”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Great swordfish kabobs and the lemon potatoes are heavenly!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1LoveItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fresh Fish, delicious meal”
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We decided to eat at Kyclades after doing some research on the best Greek food in Astoria. We were not disappointed. First off, the ambiance is very lively and their outdoor dining is fun - right out on a cute stretch of Ditmers avenue. Ok, now the food. The standouts were as follows: caviar dip paired with hot grilled pita was amazingly light and rich all at the same time. The greek salad was lovely served with creamy feta. We also had the fried zucchini and eggplant which was well prepared and not too much batter but needed salt. The tzatsiki was good also. For the main courses, we had freshly grilled dorado drizzled with lemon and olive oil. It was excellent. We also had the lamb chops which were pretty fatty and not anything overwhelming. They served a dessert on the house which was out of this world. We have no idea what it was but it was some sort of custard wrapped in filo dough with honey and cinnamon. Heavenly. We highly recommend this place!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Schmersh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Kyclades also viewed

 

Been to Taverna Kyclades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing