We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lively, noisy and good value”

Vesta Trattoria and Wine Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Vesta Trattoria and Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #200 of 567 Restaurants in Astoria
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
555 reviews
348 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Lively, noisy and good value”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Vesta is a neighborhood restaurant that is a nice find. Menu is not large but dishes are very good and nicely presented. The house lasagna is a bit spicy with its 6-hour Ragu on lovely noodles served in a pottery baking dish in a very generous portion and seved with a nice crusty top. The pork tenderloin with apple stuffing was good, but it was eclipsed by its accompaniment of red cabbage agrodolce which was wonderful. The pork had a slightly warmed-over flavor. The room is very loud acoustically. Service was excellent.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaBecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    17
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
301 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Bella!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

A pizza with potatoes?? and onion sauce and arugala? Try it...fantastic. Great menu, nice wines, ans good service at modest prices. Super find in Astoria! Cant wait to go back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carmen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best brussel sprouts ever!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

And the pizza! With potatoes, arugula, onion spread...I order it knowing I can't eat it all and will be able to have it for lunch and dinner the next day. The brussel sprouts are cheesy, roasted, cooked to perfection without being mushy. I've been to this restaurant and never been disappointed. Parking isn't easy, but completely worth the trip.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank caren g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very rude and disruptive bartender”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This used to be one of my favorite restaurants in the neighborhood. But then they sent all of their nice staff to their 2nd location, and hired a very rude waitress/bartender. Every time I've been there since this change, I've been disappointed and offended by this woman.

It's not worth a visit unless you want abuse. Go to Bear around the corner (31st Ave near 12th Street) instead--good food and EXCELLENT service.

What a shame, Vesta, when you opened you were such a nice place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved the mussels with basil!!”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We were glad we made a reservation because this place fills up quickly! The mussels appetizer was well prepared in what I call a thinned out chowder with lots of fresh basil - to die for :) And when our entree came, margarita pizza made on whole wheat dough, we were not disappointed, lots of sauce and melted cheese. Then for dessert, we tried the ice cream sandwich that satisfied our party of three and would lure me back. Service was a little slow, but the place was packed.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sammie2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vesta Trattoria and Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Vesta Trattoria and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing