We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good kitchen in Queens, NY”
Review of Pachanga Patterson

Pachanga Patterson
Ranked #93 of 575 Restaurants in Astoria
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A good kitchen in Queens, NY”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This was our third visit to Pachanga Patterson, so I feel confident is saying that this little gem is consistently good. Astoria has become a food destination in NYC over the past several years, and many of the places are concentrated in the Steinway Street area. Pachanga is slightly away from that hub, so parking is a little easier (emphasis on little), and the radius of eateries gets expanded. Pachanga is a small place, minimally decorated, yet with a warm, cozy feel. Laura and I each got a pint of Singlecut, Dean, Mohogany Ale, Astoria, Draft $6 (it has a nutty taste, somewhat close to a Guiness); for appetizers we ordered Empanadas, portabello mushroom, potato, tomato-chili sauce 9 and Steamed Mussels, saffron sauce & chips 10; both were top-notch, and the sauce with the mussels was amazingly good. I ordered Ancho-Battered Pollack Taco, red onion, citrus habanero 12, and Laura ordered Shredded Beef Taco, chipotle chile & fried onion rings 11. Excellent all around. Highly recommended.

We went to Pachanga after seeing a movie at the KaufmanAstoria movie complex; it is a five minute ride away. A great doubleheader.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Flushing G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    10
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great brunch spot!”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Had the Veggie Jenga - which was a tostada, smashed beans, avocado, sweet potato puree, fried eggs and it was amazing! Highly recommend this place - service was great, drinks were fresh and food was fantastic!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bethyboo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
Level 6 Contributor
589 reviews
394 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Have to Agree -Best Mexican Food in Astoria”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

While I can not claim that this is the best Mexican restaurant in NYC, it is certainly the best Mexican restaurant in Astoria, and in my top two restaurants on 31st Ave. The meals are light, inexpensiveness and the staff are exceptionally friendly. I came here with a friend in December, and we found a nice table to eat and chat. However at the time it was a bit noisy and it was hard to talk for long periods.

The ambiance is actually more suited for couples, as there was very low light, and as a result the menu was a bit hard to read in a low light environment.

Pachanga Patterson is an ironic name for this restaurant, as 31st Avenue, in which it is located was one time known as Patterson Avenue, before the street name changed to 31st Avenue in 1925. I am not sure if there is an actual relationship here to the old street name, but the restaurant opened a few years back after the Himalaya Teahouse closed.

All in all -a very worthy addition to the neighborhood.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank neil102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great food in Astoria”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Been here many times for dinner and brunch. Astoria has evolved to include many culinary gems but PP is an inventive, reliable, alternative to the Greek abundance. I hope it remains there forever, unless you relocate to Bayside.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Best food in NYC”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This is the best restaurant in New York City... not specific to Astoria- all of New York City. We have been here easily 50 times and never once have we had a less than 5 star experience. From the waitstaff to the bussers to the bartenders to the managers/owners and most importantly- the food... it is without a doubt the best that we have had in all of New York City. You will not be let down here.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pachanga Patterson also viewed

 

Been to Pachanga Patterson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing