We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic museum”

Museum of the Moving Image
Ranked #1 of 21 things to do in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The only museum in the United States that is devoted exclusively to the history, art and technology of movies, television and video.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Stroller parking
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

I am a fan of the film/TV industry and 80's arcade games - Kerching! A museum for me! Didn't disappoint, a really fascinating and enjoyable museum. The interactive editing, dubbing and sound effects interactives were really good, I got to worship at one of the models from Bladerunner, and get the high score on Asteroids - twice! worth a trip if any of this geek-dom attracts you, best to approach on the subway from mid-town east, central park sort of area. On the map it looks to be out of the usual tourist areas, but do it - you won't be disappointed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    147
    40
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spring Valley, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fascinating and Inexpensive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

If you have any interest in the history of movie or tv and their production, this is a highly interactive, informative venue 5 minutes from Manhattan. The whole family were intrigued with old technology, props, and the various exhibits. Definitely worth a few hours.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank minkman54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome....so much more than we expected!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We went for a special Breaking Bad exhibit which really wasn;t much....BUT, we got much more than we bargained for! It was great. So many interactive elements that were tons of fun. We went with our adult kids that were visiting from out of town but it is also perfect for little kids. We had originally figured we would be in and out in a half hour but we were there for 2 and a half hours and probably could have stayed longer if they weren't closing.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BrooklynNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“fun, creative+ educative+ unique”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

they charge 12$ each. parking is hard,you will have to park on the side streets. this museum is sure worth try if you hav kids who understand. many interesting things to look for. like how they make mask for the scary movies, the animals,aliens,etc. they also have movie going on there.one outside in white hall and other inside. they also have workshops there for the kids. some hands on activity for the adults also. the best part was recording your own voices and listening to them in a movie part. also adding different sounds to a movie clip and wathcing it. we really had fun doing these things,adding funny things. also you can hve a movie of your own at one place. you have to stand in front and do whatever you want,dance laugh,act for some seconds and its recorded. and you can email the clip to yourself or BUY A FLIPBOOK at the center below. good memories to keep.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank H B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Highlands
Level Contributor
184 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Bring back the workshops!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Ok, so I'm reviewing the Museum of Moving Image again. We visited last year and thoroughly enjoyed the experience and were naturally looking forward to more excitement this year. (see my previous Trip Advisor review).

To be quite honest we were rather disappointed this time. The museum had much less to offer for families this year, in our opinion. Even the cafe was closed! We had previously experienced an amazing animation workshop for children, where educators were on hand to assist and advise youngsters in all aspects of animation, film, digital media etc. This was held on saturday afternoons last summer, but not repeated this year. This left the museum somewhat 'flat' for us as little had changed in there otherwise.

One area which we ran out of time to explore last year though was the historic arcade games. These are old gaming machines which the museum has restored and converted, and can now still be played using the tokens available to purchase from the vending machine onsite. (4 tokens for $1, 20 tokens for $5). Having used our initial $1 worth we returned to the vending machine to purchase more, only to find that it had run out of tokens!

The American Museum of Moving Image is a very modern building and startlingly white inside. It is clean and air-conditioned, and the staff are friendly. There is a bag drop-off system in place, and all bags over a certain size must be left (no charge).

This museum is quite a journey by train (approx 1 hour) away from the chaos of the city. That can be advantageous though as it means that it is not mobbed by large groups of day care/summer camp children. It is closed Mon-Tues, open 10.30-5 Wed & Thur, and 10.30-8 Friday (although it's free on Friday 4-8pm), Sat-Sun it's open 11.30-7. Admission charges are $12 adults and $6 for children. Take the train to Steinway Street and use the 34th Ave exit near the end of the train. Then walk south along Steinway Street, then right onto 35th Ave. Proceed 2 and a half blocks and the entrance is just past 37th Street.

I hope this helps.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TellTheTruthPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of the Moving Image also viewed

 

Been to Museum of the Moving Image? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing