We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pub / Locale Atmosphere Good Food”
Review of Cronin & Phelan's

Cronin & Phelan's
Ranked #64 of 575 Restaurants in Astoria
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pub / Locale Atmosphere Good Food”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I frequent this place. The fish and chips are amazing and the shepards pie is a must try! The bartender will buy you back if you're just there to drink. Food is always good although this is a pub atmosphere the food is still good.

Love the fact they serve ciders too. Very irish... great local spot for a drink after work or if you're in the mood to take a brief trip to an Irish pub.

They have an outdoor area in the back. Never sat there, but it's a great alternative if you're with a child and you just want to eat.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank justinebaybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    13
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great local pub - Don't be fooled by the outside”
Reviewed December 13, 2011

You would never guess that you could get good food here from the outside.
Good food, large portions, friendly waitresses; really have never had a bad meal here. Have probably tried almost everything on the menu and have no complaints. Ask Dave the bartender to do some magic tricks for you.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelling&goodfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Friendly neighborhood Irish pub”
Reviewed September 1, 2011

I love this place. The menu is quite large and varied, something I don't normally expect from an Irish pub. The food is good, especially the burgers, and they sure know how to pour a pint of Guiness. The owner is a charming man who comes around to make sure everything is ok, and from my experience, it always is. The servers are all friendly and good at what they do. It's a very laid back place with a good crowd.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tbrad82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Very very very nice ...... yum... Had an excellent Philli Steak Sandwich. Was with family who go there alot, very accomodating as we had a baby with us. Excellent service very friendly.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hopes25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.I. City, N.Y.
1 review
“Horrible Bartender and Food”
Reviewed June 23, 2009

The service there I found terrible, and the skin-head bartender was surly.
Upon being delivered rancid - liver tasting porkchops I ordered, he told
me "theres nothing wrong with porkchops that taste like liver "
Since he looked and acted like he was ready to rough-house at the
slightest provocation, I ordered another dish at greater expense.
The replacement food was average at best.
Not returning to this place, period.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LICityGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cronin & Phelan's also viewed

 

Been to Cronin & Phelan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing