We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Benin City Select Emotan
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Benin City
Portharcourt
2 reviews
“Home from Home”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is by far the best hotel in Benin.
Very neat comfortable and quiet. Very easy to have a sneaky sleep in. Service is professional and prompt.
Buffet or a la carte, the food is good.
The best evening I have had in Nigeria was the pool side Sunday bbq (braai). One to look out for if you are around. The hotel is also a great spot to have a drink with friends and colleagues after work.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHSelectEmotan, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Benin City Select Emotan, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Chris

Thank you for taking the time to post a review

I am pleased you enjoy you stay with us and even more so that you had the time to enjoy the pool side.

Keep posting your comments on trip advisor we always value and read them.

Best Regards

Fraser Johnston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    21
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
6
1
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2013

i spent an evening hanging out with my friends at the pool side bar .. The environment was surreal, complete with the native lanterns. We watched as the fresh cold air of benin city gently caressed the top of the water in the pool. Some fireflies danced around the native lanterns - i felt at my place with myself and below man!

Room Tip: choose a room facing the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dickiyamu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHSelectEmotan, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Benin City Select Emotan, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear GUEST

Thank you for taking the time to post a review

I am pleased you enjoy you stay with us and even more so that you had the time to enjoy the pool side.

Keep posting your comments on trip advisor we always value and read them.

Best Regards

Fraser Johnston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiumicino, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Finally! A nice, new, comfortable, with professional and friendly, well done! For people like me who run a little bit for Nigeria, it will be a pleasure to discover this hotel, fully functional and, at the time, well maintained. My husband and I had the pleasure of staying for one night and we had dinner a la carte. The chef has pleasantly surprised, lamb and steak cooked to perfection and without garlic according to our request, considering how much we Italians exacting for food. The terrace with the pool is very pleasant to relax or have a drink. Good job.
Marcella

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcimarini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHSelectEmotan, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Benin City Select Emotan, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Marcella

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and my most sincere apologize for taking this long to reply. The error was on my part 100%.

I so am pleased you enjoy you stay with us and that you had the time to enjoy the pool side.

Further more if anyone knows good food Italians would be in the top 3.

I will pass on the positive comments as per the lamb and steak you enjoyed to the chef.

Keep posting your comments on trip advisor we always value and read them.


Best Regards

Fraser Johnston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is the best hotel in Benin ,in a unique location with a lot of goodwill inherited fo emotan hotel. The hotel is very neat,smack of furnishings of the highest quality, in a serene environment and its a home away fom home with excellent and courteous service

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHSelectEmotan, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Benin City Select Emotan, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Peter

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your most recent stay at the Protea Hotel Select Emotan Benin City.

We are always happy to receive such positive feedback and cannot express how happy we are that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It is always a pleasure to hear that our GUESTS enjoyed their stay with us.

We once again thank you for your feedback and hope to welcome you back soon

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2013

A new stylish hotel is always a great find in any city and the Protea meets all the criteria - from the first friendly encounter with reception staff to the well designed, comfortable & functional rooms, pleasant outdoor area and well patronised restaurant. But the attentive staff and smiling service, overseen by the fantastic GM, really demonstrate what hospitality is all about. It changed our visit from a planned overnight stop to a most enjoyable 3 night stay. Well done team, keep up the great work!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RANDRTRAVELLERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHSelectEmotan, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Benin City Select Emotan, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Roger

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your most recent stay at the Protea Hotel Select Emotan Benin City.

We are always happy to receive such positive feedback and cannot express how happy we are that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and I look forward in working you back on your next trip

Regards

Fraser Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Emilia-Romagna, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2013

It's a brand new hotel with a fantastic pool and very nice reception zone. The food is squisite. Just opened few months ago and it's so nice and feels like home. The special big thanks to the staff that was very nice and special big thanks to GM of this hotel that was so kind to help us to organize the trip back home once he knew the problem issue we've had with our partner in Nigeria. You are a great man, Fraser! Hope to see you next time in Africa. Victoria

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Victoria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHSelectEmotan, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Benin City Select Emotan, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Victoria

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your most recent stay at the Protea Hotel Select Emotan Benin City.

We are always happy to receive such positive feedback and cannot express how happy we are that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It is always a pleasure to hear that our GUESTS enjoyed their stay with us.

We once again thank you for your feedback and hope to welcome you back soon

Kind Regards

Fraser Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herent, Belgium
Level Contributor
169 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I stayed in the Protea for a longer time and it's by far the best hotel in Benin. No doubt.
There is a buffet in the morning and mostly in the evening. If not, an international menu is present and that even without the spicy food.
As said, the hotel just opened it doors which makes everything clean, fresh and pleasant.
The bed is big enough (which is nice is you are 1.95) and the Air Conditioning is water cooled so no noise. And that is basically all in the hotel.
It's quiet. On the terrace, in your room... just quiet.
One result of a more expensive hotel, the weekend party people don't come here.
So, for now... I've made a good deal (nice if you're a long term guest) so I'm happy here...
The staff is more professional then most hotels I've seen and that is a compliment...

No negative issues? Sure. Most annoying is that Internet is not very stable. If it works, it is good enough for work, Skype etc... But it just stops after a while.

And although the buffet is great, specially with breakfast, you see the supply of cold cuts can be a problem. But so far so good.
I think I sign up for another month

But that one question... why are they so interested in my night? It's usually the same as for everybody. Long, dark and quiet.

Room Tip: Take rooms on the front side of the hotel. Just a better view than on the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The-M0M0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHSelectEmotan, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Benin City Select Emotan, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Eric

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your most recent stay at the Protea Hotel Select Emotan Benin City.

We are always happy to receive such positive feedback and cannot express how happy we are that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thanks for the feedback on the cold cuts for the breakfast, I am sure you would have seen the improvements in the breafast already as a result of your feedback.

We once again thank you for your feedback and I hope to welcome you back soon

Wishing you a good night !

Regards

Fraser Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benin City hotels
1.9 mi away
Golden Tulip Essential, Benin City
0.0 mi away
Best Western Homeville
Best Western Homeville
#3 of 20 in Benin City
44 reviews
1.1 mi away
Randekhi Royal Hotel
Randekhi Royal Hotel
#6 of 20 in Benin City
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Meridian Lodge Benin City
Meridian Lodge Benin City
#8 of 20 in Benin City
4 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Benin City Select Emotan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Benin City Select Emotan

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Benin City Select Emotan
Address: No 4, Central Road | Off Sapele Road, Benin City 300251, Nigeria (Formerly Protea Hotel Select Emotan Benin City)
Phone Number:
Location: Nigeria > Edo State > Benin City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Benin City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Benin City Select Emotan 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Protea Hotel by Marriott Select Emotan Benin City, opened in February 2013, is the first Protea Hotel in Benin City, Nigeria! The new hotel is located in the heart of Benin City, the capital of Edo State in the southern mid-west part of Nigeria. The hotel is in close proximity to Benin Airport, approximately 10 minutes away as well as a short 5 minute drive to Benin Golf Course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Benin City Select Emotan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing