We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveler rating
22
68
37
14
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
22
68
37
14
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spacious balcony rented a car lovely lady baguette small island explore the island natural swimming pool high tide ships beaches cruise shuttle ferry
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 164 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2018

New Cal and islands are very expensive, this was a relatively good value option by comparison! Lovely beach bungalow with a balcony that extends above the sands/sea at high tide. West facing so glorious sunsets. Tea/coffee/fridge/kettle in the room. Tea & coffee available in the restaurant all day. Bay is safe for swimming and snorkelling and dive shop is next door (but you must book in advance). Food at hotel was great (try their escargot!). If you ask they will do you baguettes for lunch. The staff are really friendly and helpful and have good English. I hired a car through the hotel and got to explore the island and it’s beaches... for best photos you want to be west cost in the morning and east coast in the afternoon to get the water colours. There are some beautiful caves, the Natural swimming pool is beautiful but does get very busy (especially on cruise ship days!) and there are plenty of other less busy beaches you can get to with a car. Be warned pretty much everything closes between 11-3 (except a few cafes where the cruise ship comes in) and all day Sunday (it is part of France after all!)

Room tip: Beach bungalows are by far the nicest with the great views
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pf1sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2017 via mobile

I visited with a friend and considering it was on the cheaper side of bungalows on the island it had everything needed for an enjoyable stay.

NC is expensive in general so if you're willing to go without the frills then you can go for this option.

My friend told me after speaking with the people there that service was in decline due to competitors so there was limited staff available and the decor was a little outdated.

However we were upgraded on the last night to a luxury suite by the sea and the view were breathtaking.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank jazminecox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2017 via mobile

This family hotel offers various types of rooms with different standards apparently. But we had a "bungalow garden " at the end of the property which was very spacious with a little living room close to the room, big bathroom. It certainly needs to be renovated but it was mostly ok and clean.
The staff is always nice ready to help and accommodate. Family management which gives a great flexibility (check out time), much appreciated.
They will probably refurbish it and that would be great and the place has a big potential, quite far from the rest of the island but nice sunsets on the beach.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank florak876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2017

Great value for money for an Ile Des Pins hotel. Beautiful location, extremely quiet and well-run boutique hotel - we would definitely go again. Some of the other hotels are in the bays where the Cruise Ships come in and that really spoils the remote location - so this hotel works very well if you are after a quiet, remote setting. WIFI available. Staff are extremely helpful and speak some English if you are not a French speaker.

The beach bungalows are hanging over a sandy beach with snorkelling just outside your doorstep, smart furniture indoors, extremely clean, with mosquito nets as well as well-serviced ceiling fans and very efficient air/con - so your choice for sleeping. This is one of the few hotels where you can sit on your own spacious balcony, watching the sun go down. We came with 3 friends and set up the deck furniture for all 5 of us to enjoy on one balcony.

The hotel will organise all sorts of trips for you and the Dive Centre is on site. We rented a car for the 3 days we were on the island to give ourselves a real sense of freedom and adventure, but the hotel will pick up/drop off if you don't have a car. Definitely go on the Pirogue trip and also to Piscine Naturelle - the snorkelling is out of this world beautiful. The island is casual, easy to get around, with lots of amazing places to see - we recommend at least a 2-day trip. We flew in, but boat good too.

The hotel breakfasts are brilliant and very filling - worthwhile doing as there aren't any self-catering facilities in the beach bungalows - only a fridge and kettle - and supermarkets have limited range of food. Most of the hotels on the island serve dinner and its worth rotating to different venues each night but you must book the day before.

Room tip: Beach bungalows are amazing - well worth the extra price with good breeze off the water and amazing views.
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zoe500770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2017

We stayed at Hotel Kodjeue because it was right next to Kunie diving centre. At first we were a little disappointed as the hotel appeared a little less than what we were expecting. However, after a few days, I realised that there was nothing missing here at all. In fact, the cabins are very well fitted out with good beds, bathrooms and air conditioning. The staff are very friendly and helpful (despite the language difference) without being obtrusive. The main thing I had to get used to was how QUIET it is here. But after a few days I was so grateful for this and I was more relaxed than I have been in years !! This is not your typical beach resort type holiday destination with a hundred activities to sign up for but, really, you can get that anywhere. You can't find peaceful beauty like this in many destinations. And the diving is first class by the way.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews