We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (897)
Filter reviews
897 results
Traveler rating
497
254
80
40
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
497
254
80
40
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews natural pool piscine naturelle fish low tide paddle boats new caledonia stunning location table tennis oro bay food quality day trippers tropical paradise water sports meal times stayed for nights pine trees end of the day
Filter
Updating list...
385 - 390 of 897 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2010

What a beautiful place, fantastic and very quiet location. The bungalows are spacious and luxurious.
This place is nothing for people who are looking for entertainment other than nature. Perfect stay for a honeymoon to let the wedding impressions sink in and for a completely relaxing and stress free time. Do yourself a favour and use the free bike service at the hotel to explore the island by bike. It is well worth the effort (even though there are some steep hills on the way).

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betulus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

I guess this is one of the lesser known hidden gems of the world (at least if you don't live in the Oceania region) and one of my favourite hideaways around the world. I strongly recommend to book a villa to fully appreciate the beauty and luxury of this place. Service and food are not always perfect, but I wouldn't complain too much, given that we are in a remote part of the French Southern Pacific. The hotel's surrounding seaside with it's bays and inwater lakes is best explored in a kayak and with snorkel equipment. Myriads of colourful fish, turtles and even the occasional seaside snake which is highly venomous, but so small it can hardly bite into any extremities. Maybe a finger or similar... There is not much to do other than total relaxation.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrophyCollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2010

The location and rooms are both five star, with sky-high prices to match. The service, however, is three star at best.

My partner and I just spent three nights at La Meridian, Isle des Pins. We had a standard room, which was beautiful and large. I found it to be very comfortable, although my partner thought the bed was too hard. The bungalows are probably spectacular, though be warned that most of them do not have views of the bay.

The location is stunning -- on the beautiful Baie d'Oro, with a lovely white sand beach. It's very quite there, as the only nearby establishments are a small gite and some local residents. Within a short walk is a stunning natural pool, with beautiful coral and tropical fish.

Everything would have been perfect... except, the service was very poor. The staff appears to be poorly trained, and there are too few of them. Some other reviewers have said that the staff were lazy -- that may be true, but I really just got the feeling they were overwhelmed. In any case, the level of service was NOT ACCEPTABLE for a very expensive (supposedly) five star resort.

It's also worth mentioning that the food (we only had breakfast & dinner) was good, but not spectacular, and the menu never varied. The breakfast (buffet) was ok, but again, not up to five star standards. The staff also could not/did not keep up with demand (and were were there off-season, when it was very quiet), so the hot food was often not available.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newtownians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

The hotel is located on a marvelous bay. The sand is fine and white and the water is crystal clear. The hotel is nice and well maintained. The rooms are large and nicely decorated.
The service is very bad. When you check in, the reception staff speaks little French (most of the staff is asian) or any other language that is not Korean or Japanese. If you ask a question about outdoor activities, they will need to ask a supervisor for an answer.
When we have checked out, they could not provide a clear invoice before our departure because the reception lady was unable to use the computer properly.
Breakfast is very poor. I expected nice French baguette, jams, … You will find only a few pastry, some food for Japanese/Koreans, 3 kind of cereals and a little bit more. I asked for an omelette and it was really terrible! The local staff are very poorly trained, lazy and have no concept of guest service.
The restaurant is very expensive for what they provide. The menu is not bad but it is always the same and it becomes very quickly boring. The service is extremely slow! It takes generally up to 2 hours for a diner or lunch that includes an entree, main and dessert. If you ask for a coffee, you can add at least 20 minutes. At noon, you have the "grillade" with only 2 kinds of meat and 4 of fish and a buffet with only 4 kind of dishes. For the buffet/"Grillade" it will cost about € 45. If you want a Lobster, you have to pay an extra of € 20. If you ask for a glass of wine you have the choice between red and white but they would not even tell you which wine it is or where it comes from.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Netopyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2010

I read all of the reviews on this hotel before going there with my husband and baby. We stayed in a standard room, which was superb.

The hotel is very beautiful as well as being beautiully located facing the spectacular Baie D'oro. The service is intimate and the staff very friendly. We were made to feel very welcome, despite being the only guests with a baby (most were Japanese honeymooners). Each day, cleaners, gardeners, restaurant staff would come by to see if we needed anything to be made more comfortable.

There is only one restaruarant in the hotel, at which we ate dinner for 5 nights. It is fine dining and expensive (about AU$200 per couple per night including a glass of wine), but consistently priced with the nearby restaurants we visited for lunch. Unfortunately, there are no casual meals for dinner. The bar does have a snack menu between lunch and dinner which includes delicious sandwhiches. There are no shops or even a supermarket on the island, so you really have to be prepared with your own things if not eating at the hotel.

While there, the hotel staff were able to help us with lost luggage, booking tours, booking restaurants, hiring cars etc. My only suggestion is that more English speakers man the Reception desk. All staff speak French and then some Japanese and Korean. It was difficult to communicate with some of the non-English speakers.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelswithbaby2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews