We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (890)
Filter reviews
890 results
Traveler rating
492
252
80
40
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
492
252
80
40
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnatural poolpiscine naturellefishlow tidepaddle boatsnew caledoniastunning locationtable tennisoro bayfood qualityday tripperstropical paradisewater sportsmeal timesstayed for nightspine treesend of the day
Filter
Updating list...
383 - 388 of 890 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2010

I guess this is one of the lesser known hidden gems of the world (at least if you don't live in the Oceania region) and one of my favourite hideaways around the world. I strongly recommend to book a villa to fully appreciate the beauty and luxury of this place. Service and food are not always perfect, but I wouldn't complain too much, given that we are in a remote part of the French Southern Pacific. The hotel's surrounding seaside with it's bays and inwater lakes is best explored in a kayak and with snorkel equipment. Myriads of colourful fish, turtles and even the occasional seaside snake which is highly venomous, but so small it can hardly bite into any extremities. Maybe a finger or similar... There is not much to do other than total relaxation.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrophyCollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2010

The location and rooms are both five star, with sky-high prices to match. The service, however, is three star at best.

My partner and I just spent three nights at La Meridian, Isle des Pins. We had a standard room, which was beautiful and large. I found it to be very comfortable, although my partner thought the bed was too hard. The bungalows are probably spectacular, though be warned that most of them do not have views of the bay.

The location is stunning -- on the beautiful Baie d'Oro, with a lovely white sand beach. It's very quite there, as the only nearby establishments are a small gite and some local residents. Within a short walk is a stunning natural pool, with beautiful coral and tropical fish.

Everything would have been perfect... except, the service was very poor. The staff appears to be poorly trained, and there are too few of them. Some other reviewers have said that the staff were lazy -- that may be true, but I really just got the feeling they were overwhelmed. In any case, the level of service was NOT ACCEPTABLE for a very expensive (supposedly) five star resort.

It's also worth mentioning that the food (we only had breakfast & dinner) was good, but not spectacular, and the menu never varied. The breakfast (buffet) was ok, but again, not up to five star standards. The staff also could not/did not keep up with demand (and were were there off-season, when it was very quiet), so the hot food was often not available.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newtownians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

The hotel is located on a marvelous bay. The sand is fine and white and the water is crystal clear. The hotel is nice and well maintained. The rooms are large and nicely decorated.
The service is very bad. When you check in, the reception staff speaks little French (most of the staff is asian) or any other language that is not Korean or Japanese. If you ask a question about outdoor activities, they will need to ask a supervisor for an answer.
When we have checked out, they could not provide a clear invoice before our departure because the reception lady was unable to use the computer properly.
Breakfast is very poor. I expected nice French baguette, jams, … You will find only a few pastry, some food for Japanese/Koreans, 3 kind of cereals and a little bit more. I asked for an omelette and it was really terrible! The local staff are very poorly trained, lazy and have no concept of guest service.
The restaurant is very expensive for what they provide. The menu is not bad but it is always the same and it becomes very quickly boring. The service is extremely slow! It takes generally up to 2 hours for a diner or lunch that includes an entree, main and dessert. If you ask for a coffee, you can add at least 20 minutes. At noon, you have the "grillade" with only 2 kinds of meat and 4 of fish and a buffet with only 4 kind of dishes. For the buffet/"Grillade" it will cost about € 45. If you want a Lobster, you have to pay an extra of € 20. If you ask for a glass of wine you have the choice between red and white but they would not even tell you which wine it is or where it comes from.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Netopyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2010

I read all of the reviews on this hotel before going there with my husband and baby. We stayed in a standard room, which was superb.

The hotel is very beautiful as well as being beautiully located facing the spectacular Baie D'oro. The service is intimate and the staff very friendly. We were made to feel very welcome, despite being the only guests with a baby (most were Japanese honeymooners). Each day, cleaners, gardeners, restaurant staff would come by to see if we needed anything to be made more comfortable.

There is only one restaruarant in the hotel, at which we ate dinner for 5 nights. It is fine dining and expensive (about AU$200 per couple per night including a glass of wine), but consistently priced with the nearby restaurants we visited for lunch. Unfortunately, there are no casual meals for dinner. The bar does have a snack menu between lunch and dinner which includes delicious sandwhiches. There are no shops or even a supermarket on the island, so you really have to be prepared with your own things if not eating at the hotel.

While there, the hotel staff were able to help us with lost luggage, booking tours, booking restaurants, hiring cars etc. My only suggestion is that more English speakers man the Reception desk. All staff speak French and then some Japanese and Korean. It was difficult to communicate with some of the non-English speakers.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelswithbaby2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2009

Two immediate warnings if you are considering this hotel. First, you are basically subsidising the day trippers to use and enjoy the facilities at your expense. The day trippers put a strain on the facilities (even including beach loungers), staff service levels, food availability at meal times and can make the whole experience feel like a bit of a zoo. Second, whilst the lagoon and beach are impressive, very few of the bungalows have a “proper” lagoon view. Most of them are in fact facing a small estuary, barely knee deep when the tide is out. I would recommend you save yourself a lot of money and just come to use the facilities here as a day tripper. You can stay at much cheaper places where the quality of the accommodation and service is much better value for money. This is what it seems the locals from the main island do.

To be more precise on the day tripper situation, the hotel allows visitors to use all the facilities at the hotel for a small fee on a daily basis (I believe it was equivalent to circa 20 Euro’s at the time of writing). This is small when you consider how much you pay for this hotel for a night. Whilst this was not an issue all the time, there were too many occasions this materially affected our stay. On the first day for example, there were no loungers left on the beach. It became clear later that evening that most of them were being used by day trippers. This also affected activities such as kayak availability where we had to wait for the day trippers to have finished with the kayaks. The affect was also felt at breakfast where if you did not get there before the first day trippers, a number of the buffet options had “run out”, even plates at one point. Finally, I am not sure if this is related, but almost every time we tried to get a beach towel, looked for assistance at the front desk, a drink from the bar etc… you always had to wait or ask someone to get the relevant service attendant. The staff are friendly but the service was very poor for the price you are paying here.

On the resort itself, the lagoon is indeed very picturesque and the beach is beautiful. We had booked one of the deluxe bungalows but the majority do not face the beautiful lagoon, instead a shallow estuary, which is technically part of the lagoon. The bungalows are well furnished, but again, very average considering the price you are paying. For those used to island escapes such as Maldives, Zanzibar, Seychelles etc… you are going to be very disappointed in terms of value for money and gob smacked by the poor service levels and the significant effect of the day trippers on the facilities here.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cgcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews