We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT HONEYMOON LOCATION”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Meridien Ile des Pins
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ile Des Pins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were not in fact on our honeymoon being about to celebrate 50 years of wedded highs and lows. However, it did occur to me that the beautiful tree top apartments would be perfect for honeymooners. They had delightful retractable ladders directly on to the gorgeous white sand below and one could chose to use all, or part of the hotel facilities or not.
We had a lovely suite directly overlooking the beautiful pool which looked absolutely stunning
when lit up at night. Unfortunately in August it was a little too cool for us to actually make use of the pool. We were there with another couple and they experienced health issues due to drinks that had been made with ice. Just a warning for prospective visitors that the water is not potable and the ice machine is plumbed directly into the water supply - do not drink anything containing ice.

Room Tip: Pool side 2nd floor rooms have a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GillhowardWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Ile des Pins, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Good Morning,

Thank you for sharing your comments on our hotel. I am glad to see that you have many good memories of your stay and enjoyed the beauty of our site. As you've mentioned, it is an ideal place for couples who wish to have intimacy but also for those that want to experiment more lively holidays. You are right when saying that the pool may seems slightly too cold in august especially because it had just been refiled at your period of stay. It is getting warmer and warmer every day. Regarding the health issue, we are obviously very sorry for that couple. Due to heavy rains this summer, the municipal potable water system encountered some problem. We tried to prevent any negative effect for our clients. The situation is now back to normal and the water is obviously drinkable.

We sincerely hope to see you again and hope that time you will enjoy the swimming pool.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (835)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

276 - 282 of 835 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is probably the nicest place to stay when visiting Il-de-Pins, the location is wonderful. The bay is white sand and turquoise water and there is nothing to disturbe the peace (but our children, 3 & 8, did their best to make the hotel more lively...). Except for our family, there was only one other child under 10 there during our 4 days, the hotel seemed to be favored by honeymoon travellers.

We stayed in a very nice de luxe cottage, which was meant for 2 + 1 persons, but got an ok to squeeze in the 3-year old without a separate bed. The cottage was big and there was lots of space to play for the children. The bath/dressing room was nice and big and bathrobes were provided both in adult and child sizes. Everything was very clean and fresh and cleaning service was very good, with an extra round of offering new towels being made in the evenings. The only thing that bothered us a little were the earwigs in the toilet/shower and one bigger spider the first evenining. Two of us (1 child, 1 adult) got ill at the end of the stay, one was vomiting and one had nausea with fever. We didn't drink tap water (bottled water was provided), so there may have been something with the food, but it's hard to say.

The restaurant served very good and tasty food and the menu was extensive, also the children's menu was good. We all enjoyed the food very much, but you had to wait very long (40-45 minutes) for the food to get to the table, which was a challenge with the kids. The youngest one regularly fell asleep on the chair in the evenings, sometimes before his food had even arrived.

The hotel offers a good meal plan for children, where you pay a fixed price per day and they can order whatever during the stay. The food is reasonably priced also for adults.

The surroundings are fabulous and the beach is very child-friendly, you actually have to walk very far out to be able to swim. The natural pool in the vicinity (20 minutes walk, ask for a map at the reception) is a must for snorkelling, but go there early in the morning to avoid the crowds. And go at low tide.

The service is very friendly and smiling, we felt very welcome and it's a place we could gladly return to again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TMWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing & Communication manager at Le Meridien Ile des Pins, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Hello,
We are delighted to read your comment.
We hope to see you again at Le Méridien Ile des Pins.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This was my first stay at a luxurious hotel and a second visit to Isle of Pines. I won't go on about French rude attitude but it is an aspect I'll seriously consider before having another holiday on French territories.

PROS: We were picked up at the airport by the hotel van driver although we did not ask for transfers. It turned out quite handy as we did not realise how far the hotel was. At check-in we were assisted by a polite Asian lady which spoke English perfectly. The room was magnificent, the layout was unique with the bathroom essentially being a part of the room. Swimming pool was pleasant for a quick swim and has a nice view the lagoon. The beach was great for my needs: no mass tourism, there was hardly anyone at the beach and the lagoon was great for paddling. Buffet breakfast was good, the freshly baked bread was delicious and there was a choice of salami, fruit, spreads and cereal. We later on discovered there was an American-style buffet on the terrace on some days.

50/50: Isolated hotel location which means it was idyllic BUT there were no meal options nearby.
One gets nice little souvenirs daily but they tend to be removed if one doesn't store them immediately (?!). The nice lady at the reception was kind enough to arrange for the replacement before we left.

CONS: Most staff does not speak English which turned out to be very painful as my French was not nearly good enough to make a sensible conversation. Lunch and dinner food was awful. Overpriced, pretty average and particularly dinner-sized meals were tiny. There were no alternatives unfortunately. We cycled into closest town on one occasion and bought a few cans of food. Cycles were in bad condition (seats uncomfortable and brakes not working 100% well) so we haven't bothered again.

Overall, the value for money wasn't too bad (wouldn't want to be paying full rates for it though!), the location has its cons and pros, the environment IS beautiful, the hotel room was terrific, I just really missed (access to) a good meal.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing & Communication manager at Le Meridien Ile des Pins, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Hello Elaine C,
Thank you for your comment.
We wish to apologies for the inconvenience maybe that poor english skills from the staff could have brought.
We regret the cuisine quality did not meet your standards and will follow up your remarks concerning service.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

WE stayed at Le Meridien last week on a day trip from Noumea to the Ile des Pins! The location was amazing and the view from the hotel breathtaking! We were there when the weather was over cast so it must look absolutely stunning on a sunny day! The staff were very helpful and friendly and the facilities there were very good. Would love to go back there again one day and stay much longer! A 15 minute walk from the hotel to the piscine naturelle is well worth doing as the snorkelling there is very good! :)
The beach in front of the hotel is really lovely and especially relaxing with the huge comfy day beds with thatched rooves from where you can take in the beautiful view!
Had a great time there, thanks!!! :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holidaygirlWaikato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing & Comunication Manager at Le Meridien Ile des Pins, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Hello,

Thanks a lot for your review. We are happy your stay with us met your expectations, it was a pleasure having you!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My wife and I visited this hotel for 6 nights in July 2013. After two days both of us experienced severe bouts of vomiting. We discovered that the same had happened to the couple staying in the bungalow next door. We subsequently read on Tripadvisor that the hotel had experienced lots of problems with guests becoming ill before. No one told us on arrival not to drink the tap water, only after we became sick. Bottled water was only supplied in the room on the second day of our arrival. Our tummies became better after a few days, but despite eating very carefully, my wife still suffers from diarrhea at the end of our holidays. This truly spoiled our holidays.
The setting of the bungalows and rooms amongst the dense vegetation is very beautiful and peaceful but we were disappointed with the beach because the tide recedes up to 20 meters and one could not really swim at those times. The natural aquarium is spectacular with lots and lots of fish but it is a 20 minute walk away and does get swamped at times by visiting passenger liner guests.
We were also disappointed in the food. Admittedly you are on an island miles from every where but do all the breads and pastries have to be soft instead of crusty and crisp as you expect French baked goods to be? Where was all the yummy tropical fruit? The menu is very limited as others have observed and there are hardly any light or health conscious meals. The food is very old- fashioned and traditional. Most of the staff try hard but there is a strange watchful and disapproving atmosphere in the dining room. It is certainly disapproved of if you pour your own wine after waiting too long for service.
The hotel is very expensive for what you get and as others have observed one would expect airport transfers and wifi to be included at that price. We also expected some sort of gym to be available in case of bad weather. It is a lovely location, but do not expect five star food or service!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing & Comunication Manager at Le Meridien Ile des Pins, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Hello,

Thank you for your comment.
We are very sorry to read that you had an unpleasant experience during your stay.
We apologize for the inconvenience which spoiled your trip on the island.

Please feel free to contact us at arnaud.ollivier@lemeridien.com for further discussion.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Went there with friends as day guests for a drink and lunch later. Their welcome was quite cold, unprofessional and we were told that we could not sit around the pool as it is reserved for hotel guests. There was absolutely no one around the pool or on the beach. Obviously when God gave common sense to wait staff it must have been their day off? We moved to a side table and ordered coffee. I returned my cappuccino 3 times as it was so weak that I could not drink it. When I complained to the restaurant manager his answer was: "no one has complained before!"
Eventually he refunded my purchase. Lunch was good, but the experience of a so called 5 stars establishment left me with a sour taste. Will I go back to iles des pins? NO.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank navigator8850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing & Comunication Manager at Le Meridien Ile des Pins, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Hello,

We really regret that your experience did not meet your standards and that our staff did not succeed in satisfying your request.
We will forward what you underlined in your review.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed 3 days...was blown by the experience. You just have to be there to experience it. It is a such a "secluded" place where service is just great and genuine, warm smiles come often. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rex Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing & Comunication Manager at Le Meridien Ile des Pins, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Bonjour !

Thank you so much for you review ! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay this much and we will be happy to welcome you back whenever you want!

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ile Des Pins
7.5 mi away
Oure Tera Beach Resort
Oure Tera Beach Resort
#2 of 4 in Ile Des Pins
346 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel Kou-Bugny
Hotel Kou-Bugny
#4 of 4 in Ile Des Pins
312 reviews
7 mi away
Relais Kuberka
Relais Kuberka
#3 of 4 in Ile Des Pins
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Lezard Home
Lezard Home
#1 of 2 in Paita
47 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Ile des Pins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Ile des Pins

Address: Baie D'Oro, BP 175, Ile Des Pins 98832, New Caledonia
Phone Number:
Location: New Caledonia > Ile Des Pins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ile Des Pins
Price Range: $301 - $555 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Ile des Pins 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise is shaped like this. Le Meridien Ile des PIns overlooks the pristine white beaches of Oro bay, just 15 minutes from the island's airport, and is nestled in a centuries old coconut grove, redolent with the scent of lush, tropical vegetation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Starwood, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Ile des Pins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Ile Des Pins Hotel Ile Des Pins
Meridien Ile Des Pins
Ile Des Pins Meridien
Ile Des Pins Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing