We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meridien Ile des Pins
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ile Des Pins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2013

WE stayed at Le Meridien last week on a day trip from Noumea to the Ile des Pins! The location was amazing and the view from the hotel breathtaking! We were there when the weather was over cast so it must look absolutely stunning on a sunny day! The staff were very helpful and friendly and the facilities there were very good. Would love to go back there again one day and stay much longer! A 15 minute walk from the hotel to the piscine naturelle is well worth doing as the snorkelling there is very good! :)
The beach in front of the hotel is really lovely and especially relaxing with the huge comfy day beds with thatched rooves from where you can take in the beautiful view!
Had a great time there, thanks!!! :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holidaygirlWaikato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing & Comunication Manager at Le Meridien Ile des Pins, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Hello,

Thanks a lot for your review. We are happy your stay with us met your expectations, it was a pleasure having you!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (794)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

261 - 267 of 794 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

My wife and I visited this hotel for 6 nights in July 2013. After two days both of us experienced severe bouts of vomiting. We discovered that the same had happened to the couple staying in the bungalow next door. We subsequently read on Tripadvisor that the hotel had experienced lots of problems with guests becoming ill before. No one told us on arrival not to drink the tap water, only after we became sick. Bottled water was only supplied in the room on the second day of our arrival. Our tummies became better after a few days, but despite eating very carefully, my wife still suffers from diarrhea at the end of our holidays. This truly spoiled our holidays.
The setting of the bungalows and rooms amongst the dense vegetation is very beautiful and peaceful but we were disappointed with the beach because the tide recedes up to 20 meters and one could not really swim at those times. The natural aquarium is spectacular with lots and lots of fish but it is a 20 minute walk away and does get swamped at times by visiting passenger liner guests.
We were also disappointed in the food. Admittedly you are on an island miles from every where but do all the breads and pastries have to be soft instead of crusty and crisp as you expect French baked goods to be? Where was all the yummy tropical fruit? The menu is very limited as others have observed and there are hardly any light or health conscious meals. The food is very old- fashioned and traditional. Most of the staff try hard but there is a strange watchful and disapproving atmosphere in the dining room. It is certainly disapproved of if you pour your own wine after waiting too long for service.
The hotel is very expensive for what you get and as others have observed one would expect airport transfers and wifi to be included at that price. We also expected some sort of gym to be available in case of bad weather. It is a lovely location, but do not expect five star food or service!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing & Comunication Manager at Le Meridien Ile des Pins, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Hello,

Thank you for your comment.
We are very sorry to read that you had an unpleasant experience during your stay.
We apologize for the inconvenience which spoiled your trip on the island.

Please feel free to contact us at arnaud.ollivier@lemeridien.com for further discussion.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Went there with friends as day guests for a drink and lunch later. Their welcome was quite cold, unprofessional and we were told that we could not sit around the pool as it is reserved for hotel guests. There was absolutely no one around the pool or on the beach. Obviously when God gave common sense to wait staff it must have been their day off? We moved to a side table and ordered coffee. I returned my cappuccino 3 times as it was so weak that I could not drink it. When I complained to the restaurant manager his answer was: "no one has complained before!"
Eventually he refunded my purchase. Lunch was good, but the experience of a so called 5 stars establishment left me with a sour taste. Will I go back to iles des pins? NO.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank navigator8850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing & Comunication Manager at Le Meridien Ile des Pins, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Hello,

We really regret that your experience did not meet your standards and that our staff did not succeed in satisfying your request.
We will forward what you underlined in your review.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed 3 days...was blown by the experience. You just have to be there to experience it. It is a such a "secluded" place where service is just great and genuine, warm smiles come often. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rex Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing & Comunication Manager at Le Meridien Ile des Pins, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Bonjour !

Thank you so much for you review ! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay this much and we will be happy to welcome you back whenever you want!

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Ile Des Pins could be described as closest place to paradise. Le Meridien somewhat captures the islands beauty, with arguably the best located hotel on the island. I have stayed here 3 times over the last year.

The hotel is ok, with island time service and highly relaxed atmosphere. The hotel is somewhat dated (late 90's for their cabins and mid 2000 for rooms). I recommend going for the garden rooms. They are the most modern, have super king bedding (good-excellent linens). They may not have the views of the cabins, but room is much more comfortable. Note, all cabins have twin beds put together including the best ones with front cliff view (phenomenal view with relatively dated rooms).

The natural rock pool makes this place. Otherwise do not spend more than 3-4 nights here.

Room Tip: Get the basic garden rooms! Awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Private R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing & Comunication Manager at Le Meridien Ile des Pins, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Hello,

Thank you very much for reviewing our property and for your fidelity! We do agree with you that “Le Méridien somewhat captures the islands beauty” and it is a great way to put it!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Having just spent 4 nights at the Meridien Iles Des Pin the impression was one of disappointment.

The Meridien markets itself as a 5 star resort and the reality is that it operates as a rapacious hotel devoid of customer service.

Advertised Room Rates at Hotel Reception as of 21 April 2013
Superior Room at 66,000 CFP (approx USD$650)
Deluxe Room (Pool View) at 71,000 CFP (approx USD$700)
Deluxe Bungalow Suite at 81,000 CFP (approx USD$800)

Customers would expect service and amenities to be all inclusive. Instead hotel guests are gouged at every opportunity:
1. Airport /Hotel transfers on Le Meridien hotel bus are charged at USD$25 per guest
2. Wifi - customers are expected to pay per hour access for wifi for each device ie iPad, iPhone laptop all incur individual charge!!! (Wifi is not accessible in guests rooms and guests are expected to sit in lobby to gain access!) During my stay I overheard numerous incredulous guests arguing with front reception about wifi charges. Staff response was totally dismissive and rude. I was told by staff that as the hotel is remote they charge customers because they can!
3. guests wanting to visit most popular beaches such as Kuto Beach can expect to be charged the equivalent of USD$70 per guest to utilise hotel bus shuttle service
4. Guests can expect to be charged equivalent of USD$5 for a small bottle of water in the room - no complimentary water is provided in guests room

The hotel itself is located in a spectacular location with stunning scenery but the service and overcharging makes the experience deflating and disappointing. I personally would avoid this hotel and find hotel closer to Kuto Beach.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Marquesjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing & Comunication manager at Le Meridien Ile des Pins, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Hello Marquesjohn,

Thank you for your comment. We understand your disappointment and are very sorry that your experience at Le Méridien Ile Des Pins did not meet the standards you were expecting.

Please note that airport and other transportation services available are not operated by our Hotel which is why they are at a charge. However, a return transfer to Kuto Bay is 2.500 XPF per person return (approx $US30) not US$70 and we apologises if you were misinformed.

Regarding our WIFI Internet service, we understand that our policy may seem excessive however, there is only one service provider in New Caledonia and this monopoly makes its cost extremely expensive especially for remote places such as the Isle of Pines where there are few subscribers. Please be assured that we are studying other solutions to improve the WIFI coverage at the resort and make the cost more affordable to both the Hotel and our guests. Additionally, the Hotel does not offer complimentary bottled water as the tap water in all of New Caledonia is safe and enjoyable to drink.

Lastly, we were very concerned to read that you perceived our associates to be dismissive and rude to your needs. This can occasionally be the perception of our guests when our associates have challenges expressing themselves in English and their choice of words and phrases may seem abrupt and not sufficiently explicit. We know that this is an ongoing area where we must improve.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we nevertheless hope you enjoyed stay with us including the upgrade to a Deluxe pool view room and complimentary late check-out.

With kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were a group of 5 who arrived by sailboat after a 24 hour sail through major storm, hungry and exhausted. Arriving 5.30pm for dinner, freshly washed and dressed nicely, were told that without a booking they would not feed us.
I explained that we were happy to have whatever the other dinner guests did not order (it was a la carte) however the English speaking French manageress simply refused us outright. Tables had been set for only about 15 to 20 guests, so it was far from busy! She simply suggested that we make a booking for the following (Sunday) night instead.
Whatever happened to hospitality?

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
8  Thank Walacia205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing & Comunication manager at Le Meridien Ile des Pins, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Hello Paul A,

We were very sorry to read that our hotel was unable to welcome you for dinner after your rough sailing experience and our failure to properly explain to you and your party the reasons why we could not do so.

As you mentioned, there was a major storm that day which had direct consequences on the delivery of food and supplies from the mainland as the merchant boats were unable to sail and could not confirm when the next delivery would come. As a result, our priority regarding meals was for the guests staying at the Hotel which is why we could not accept any outside customers that evening and only on the next day when we had fewer in-house guests.

We trust you will understand our position on that occasion and we apologize for giving you the impression that we were inhospitable. We sincerely hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again at Le Méridien Ile des Pins under different circumstances in order to restore your faith in our hospitality.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ile Des Pins
7.5 mi away
Oure Tera Beach Resort
Oure Tera Beach Resort
#2 of 4 in Ile Des Pins
333 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel Kou-Bugny
Hotel Kou-Bugny
#3 of 4 in Ile Des Pins
287 reviews
7.0 mi away
Relais Kuberka
Relais Kuberka
#3 of 4 in Ile Des Pins
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Le Refuge du Cerf
Le Refuge du Cerf
#1 of 1 in Ouaco
56 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Ile des Pins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Ile des Pins

Address: Baie D'Oro, BP 175, Ile Des Pins 98832, New Caledonia
Location: New Caledonia > Ile Des Pins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ile Des Pins
Price Range: $363 - $723 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Ile des Pins 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise is shaped like this. Le Meridien Ile des PIns overlooks the pristine white beaches of Oro bay, just 15 minutes from the island's airport, and is nestled in a centuries old coconut grove, redolent with the scent of lush, tropical vegetation. Le paradis ressemble a cela. Le meridien Ile des Pins donne sur les plages blanches immaculees de la baie d'Oro, a seulement 15 minutes de l'aeroport et implante au coeur d'une cocoteraie seculaire, regorgeant du parfum exhale par une vegetation tropicale et luxuriante. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Meridien Ile des Pins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Ile Des Pins Hotel Ile Des Pins
Meridien Ile Des Pins
Ile Des Pins Meridien
Ile Des Pins Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing