We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deflating and disappointing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Meridien Ile des Pins
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ile Des Pins
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Deflating and disappointing experience”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Having just spent 4 nights at the Meridien Iles Des Pin the impression was one of disappointment.

The Meridien markets itself as a 5 star resort and the reality is that it operates as a rapacious hotel devoid of customer service.

Advertised Room Rates at Hotel Reception as of 21 April 2013
Superior Room at 66,000 CFP (approx USD$650)
Deluxe Room (Pool View) at 71,000 CFP (approx USD$700)
Deluxe Bungalow Suite at 81,000 CFP (approx USD$800)

Customers would expect service and amenities to be all inclusive. Instead hotel guests are gouged at every opportunity:
1. Airport /Hotel transfers on Le Meridien hotel bus are charged at USD$25 per guest
2. Wifi - customers are expected to pay per hour access for wifi for each device ie iPad, iPhone laptop all incur individual charge!!! (Wifi is not accessible in guests rooms and guests are expected to sit in lobby to gain access!) During my stay I overheard numerous incredulous guests arguing with front reception about wifi charges. Staff response was totally dismissive and rude. I was told by staff that as the hotel is remote they charge customers because they can!
3. guests wanting to visit most popular beaches such as Kuto Beach can expect to be charged the equivalent of USD$70 per guest to utilise hotel bus shuttle service
4. Guests can expect to be charged equivalent of USD$5 for a small bottle of water in the room - no complimentary water is provided in guests room

The hotel itself is located in a spectacular location with stunning scenery but the service and overcharging makes the experience deflating and disappointing. I personally would avoid this hotel and find hotel closer to Kuto Beach.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Marquesjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing & Comunication manager at Le Meridien Ile des Pins, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Hello Marquesjohn,

Thank you for your comment. We understand your disappointment and are very sorry that your experience at Le Méridien Ile Des Pins did not meet the standards you were expecting.

Please note that airport and other transportation services available are not operated by our Hotel which is why they are at a charge. However, a return transfer to Kuto Bay is 2.500 XPF per person return (approx $US30) not US$70 and we apologises if you were misinformed.

Regarding our WIFI Internet service, we understand that our policy may seem excessive however, there is only one service provider in New Caledonia and this monopoly makes its cost extremely expensive especially for remote places such as the Isle of Pines where there are few subscribers. Please be assured that we are studying other solutions to improve the WIFI coverage at the resort and make the cost more affordable to both the Hotel and our guests. Additionally, the Hotel does not offer complimentary bottled water as the tap water in all of New Caledonia is safe and enjoyable to drink.

Lastly, we were very concerned to read that you perceived our associates to be dismissive and rude to your needs. This can occasionally be the perception of our guests when our associates have challenges expressing themselves in English and their choice of words and phrases may seem abrupt and not sufficiently explicit. We know that this is an ongoing area where we must improve.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we nevertheless hope you enjoyed stay with us including the upgrade to a Deluxe pool view room and complimentary late check-out.

With kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    208
    70
    36
    21
See reviews for
155
465
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
150 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were a group of 5 who arrived by sailboat after a 24 hour sail through major storm, hungry and exhausted. Arriving 5.30pm for dinner, freshly washed and dressed nicely, were told that without a booking they would not feed us.
I explained that we were happy to have whatever the other dinner guests did not order (it was a la carte) however the English speaking French manageress simply refused us outright. Tables had been set for only about 15 to 20 guests, so it was far from busy! She simply suggested that we make a booking for the following (Sunday) night instead.
Whatever happened to hospitality?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Walacia205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing & Comunication manager at Le Meridien Ile des Pins, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Hello Paul A,

We were very sorry to read that our hotel was unable to welcome you for dinner after your rough sailing experience and our failure to properly explain to you and your party the reasons why we could not do so.

As you mentioned, there was a major storm that day which had direct consequences on the delivery of food and supplies from the mainland as the merchant boats were unable to sail and could not confirm when the next delivery would come. As a result, our priority regarding meals was for the guests staying at the Hotel which is why we could not accept any outside customers that evening and only on the next day when we had fewer in-house guests.

We trust you will understand our position on that occasion and we apologize for giving you the impression that we were inhospitable. We sincerely hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again at Le Méridien Ile des Pins under different circumstances in order to restore your faith in our hospitality.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed for a week at this supposedly prestigious hotel in November 2012. We wanted to visit Isle of Pines and decided on Le Meridien because it was the only 5-star hotel on the island. Well, regrettably that was a poor choice.

The worst negatives were:
1) Most of the staff at reception or in the restaurant do not speak English.
2) The staff are inattentive and make you feel left out if you do not speak French.
3) The restaurant has ridiculously small lunch and dinner mains and the menu descriptions are misleading. For instance, I ordered grilled scallops and squid, but received a 6cm scoop of seafood risotto that would hardly qualify as an entree, more like an appetizer.
4) The restaurant tried to charge for tap water and drinks we never even ordered.
5) The pool table was in very bad shape, with broken lighting, too small triangle and not even a single cue had a proper tip.
6) The five bicycles all had broken brakes and stems locked at lowest possible position, which meant an adult couldn't drive the bicycle properly, resulting in severe backaches after just a few hundred meters. The Beach boys would rudely deny any requests at fixing the stem height.
7) The beach was quasi sandy but was only knee-deep and full of algae at the bottom, so forget about sandy bottom swimming here.
8) The room was nice, but the "don't disturb" plaque was magnetic and whenever we removed it from its slot, the electricity in the room would go off. What kind of system is that?
9) Maids were coming to clean the room way too often, they knocked on the door at least 3-4 times a day. And with none of them speaking English you can't even tell them not to bother.
10) The reception would not make a reservation for our lunch at the nearby Restaurant even though we couldn't speak French. Very rude.
11) There's nothing else around, the villages are 10-15km away, so you have no choice but to eat at the hotel restaurant.
12) The tiny "natural" swimming pool was anything but natural, with hundreds of people occupying it 24/7. They were mostly French-speaking and they behaved like they own it.

The positives:
1) Fantastic buffet breakfast. Best crepes and fruit salad I ever had.
2) Very nice room layout. Lovely bed and perfect shower.
3) The tiny wooden cottages for lying on the beach were perfect.
4) The kayaks and pedalos were great fun for cruising around the resort.

Conclusion:
This hotel is clearly not at the standard of a regular 5-star hotel, except with the prices they have. The attitude of staff is appalling towards the non-French speaking guests and the beach is not what we would consider a paradise beach. Next time we're on Isle of Pines, we'll be spending our money in the Oure Tera resort in the Wonderful Kanumera bay.

Room Tip: If you have the money go for the cliffs, those villas have their own stairs into the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing & Comunication manager at Le Meridien Ile des Pins, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hello Daniel C,

First of all, let us thank you for sharing your impressions about your stay. Our guests’ constructive comments may they be positive or negative are the most valuable feedbacks we can have and we are pleased that our buffet breakfast, room and leisure equipments met the standards you expected.

However, we must apologize if other aspects of our service disappointed you in any way. We take very good note of your remarks concerning our staff’s inconsistencies and we will try our best to solve those in due time. Please be assured that training staff and giving our clients the best service is our every instant concern.
We are sorry if you were not properly explained the reason why we could not make the reservation for the nearby restaurant. We have had several reservations issues, and since then we do not want to take the responsibility of our guest being disappointed if they cannot get the meal they were expecting or if the restaurant is fully booked and their reservation is not noted.

As far as other parts of your comment are concerned, we would like to precise that the power is controlled by the magnetic room key (not “do not disturb” plaque) and that this system is designed to be eco friendly so when you leave the room and therefore remove the key from the slot to take it with you, the power is automatically cut off. It is also very convenient so you always know where your key is when you are in your room. However, the “do not disturb” doorknob you mention is available for your use if you don’t want the service done while you’re in the room, as it happened several times in your case.

Finally, we are sorry you did not appreciate the surroundings and beach where sandy bottom swimming is possible a few meters further.
We would be pleased to welcome you again and sincerely hope you will give us the opportunity to show that we really can do better.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

If you're travelling on your dream holiday and money is no object, then this has to be one of your must stay resorts. Apart from the gorgeous suites and unsurpassed views, the gardens are stunning and the secluded beach makes this a lovely place to stay for couples. If you're travelling with a family, there's plenty for the kids to do, with beach games, bikes and a pool with a view. On the downside the seclusion means you need to be self-sustained and happy with doing resort based activities....unless of course you go on a booked tour. Also, if there's a cruise ship in town you get a lot of non-resort guests visiting for the day and to be honest, they can be a bit out of place.

Room Tip: For more privacy and quiet, get a room away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravBugTV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing and communication manager at Le Meridien Ile des Pins, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Travel bug,
Thank you so much for sharing this lovely review with the online community! We are very happy that you liked the resort. Do not hesitate to come back!
A bientôt!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Arrived in off season, the tail of a cyclone had passed the previous week. Had a fabulous time, greeted at the airport after the very short hop flight from Magenta airport in Noumea and at the hotel very promptly. Booked into a standard room, which was fitted out perfectly. Bathroom, TV and something to dock the ipod into -all great. Food selection is limited as it is an island and everything has to get there somehow. Explained the locals on the flight with slabs (cartons) of beer!! Still if you stuck to your tastes there was plenty to eat. Stayed there for six nights & only ate away once. Does cater to the Japanese & Korean market, so menus are better read in french if you can, acitvities seem to slightly cater for that market too. Local basic restaurant next door on the beach opens at lunch and needs reservations.
The resort is lovely, with a beautiful infinity pool and loads of stuff to take in the water - pedalos, kayaks, stand up paddle boards, snorkels etc. Staff friendly and helpful, but pace is slower so take it all in your stride, it is a holiday. Most days walked around to the Piscine Naturelle, which is tidal and an interesting walk sighting snails and crabs as the water levels go up & down. On another day, went in the bus (for a small charge) to Kuto & snorkelled at Kunamera- cruise ships dock here, but although crowded by comparison with Oro, still plenty of room. Stuck to the bottled water, which I recommend & avoid ice in your drinks of course too!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveller42_Syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing & Comunication manager at Le Meridien Ile des Pins, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Merci beaucoup WorldTraveller42_Syd for sharing with us your wonderful experience in our resort. We are truly delighted to read that you spent such a good time in our hotel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

A bientôt!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
626 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at Le Meridien from 23-26 December 2012. The hotel was very expensive at around A$700/night but we thought since it is Christmas, we would splurge a bit for our hotel stay for the trip.

At first impression, it was very very nice. The hotel shuttle picked us up from the ferry jetty as we took the Betico ferry from Noumea to Ile Des Pins. The only thing I would complain is that it costed around $40/person for this shuttle and for a 5* hotel of this expensive rate, the shuttle should really be complimentary.

The resort was not overcrowded and very peaceful with nice hut/shading along the beach and complimentary kayak, paddle boat, stand up paddle and snorkelling gear. There are also other game equipment such as badminton.

The room is very spacious and nice. We had the upper floor room facing the pool.

The rental car at $100/day is quite pricey but at least their fleet consist of new cars (Ford Fiesta).

All was well until Christmas Eve. They had a special Christmas Eve banquet at their restaurant but when we wanted to book, they advised that they have exhausted their banquet menu but we could order a-la-carte or room service. As their normal a-la-carte and room service menus were very limited, we wanted to have their special Christmas Eve banquet menu. It is surprising for a 5* hotel not to have enough food for such special event for all their guests. It’s not like this is a massive resort either. That was our first disappointment as my partner really wanted to have a special meal for Christmas.

On Christmas Eve, our a/c also stopped working. One technician came, fixed something but it failed again and he had to ask his manager to look at the problem. They created a mess but it was cleaned up later. However, as it was during the evening of the Christmas Eve, we didn’t have anywhere to go without a room as we were told that the Christmas dinner was fully booked. The hotel receptionist kindly provided us with complimentary drinks at the bar after we complained. At the end of one drink, the compliment was not communicated with the bar staff but was resolved after 5 minutes.

Our stay at Le Meridien went from bad to worse. My partner complained of stomach pain on Christmas Eve day but I was fine. However, on the night of Christmas Eve, in the middle of the night, I felt nauseous and vomited. This was when I realised, my partner must have had a mild food poisoning attack while I had a severe bout of attack. I continued vomiting throughout the night about four times. After all is exhausted with nothing able to be vomited anymore, I had diarrhoea seven times during Christmas morning even though I had not eaten due to the vomiting. I was very dizzy and called the Receptionist to find out if they have a house doctor or a pharmacy which they don’t. They then said that I have to go to the next Village as there is a “Dispensary” there. As I didn’t get any better, my partner then went to the Reception to get a better idea on how far this Dispensary was but was told that as it is Christmas, there was no Doctor working but that there would be a nurse who could provide some medicine. As I literally had to go to the loo every 5 mins and since there is no doctor working on that day, we thought that my partner could just go to the Dispensary and get me some rehydration salt and any other prescribed medication. The receptionist then said that I have to go along as the nurse needed to do a check up on me. The hotel arranged for a taxi and agreed to pay for the return trip to the Dispensary but not the consultation cost or medicine. That was fine by us at the time. When we reached the hospital, the nurse called the doctor as he told us that over the last month, that particular Dispensary had treated over 50+ cases of contamination from guests at Le Meridien. He also confirmed that these cases are all from Le Meridien. He called the doctor who decided to come to the Dispensary to look at my condition, perhaps alarmed with the continuous contamination imposed on the guests of Le Meridien. He told us that Le Meridien should compensate us for the consultation and medicine costs. My partner, upon return to the hotel, went to see the receptionist to seek compensation on these costs but was told that the General Manager would contact us. The GM never contacted us.

The other issue we had was relating to their day trips. On 24 December morning, the receptionist told us that if we would like to join any day trips on Christmas Day, we need to let them know by 8pm on the 24th. We then decided (before I had my food poisoning attack), that we would like to join the outrigger day trip and went to see the receptionist in the afternoon. The receptionist on shift at that time advised that there is no trip on Christmas Day. Had we known, we would have swapped our car rental day from 24th to 25th and join the trip on the 24th rather than getting stuck at the hotel on Christmas Day with nothing to do. Anyhow, it turned out that I was so ill on Christmas Day that I wouldn’t have been able to join any trip.

On 26th, my partner booked me on a two hours reflexology treatment as an early birthday present. The booking was made from 12 noon to 2pm and it was confirmed in writing. I turned up at the spa hut at 12 noon to find out that the door is locked with a notice requesting guest to go to the reception. I went to the receptionist and she told me that they are on lunch break! I mean, why book me in at 12 noon when this is a lunch break hour?! After going back and forth to the Spa hut to check when they are open, I was finally served at 12.30PM. The reflexology massage then ended at 1:55PM. I went back to the reception to seek pro-rata refund as we had paid for a two hours massage, not less than 1.5hr. The receptionist then advised that I have to deal with the Spa staff directly to get the refund but I insisted that she deals with the Spa staff on my behalf since the booking and payment was made at the reception. Eventually, they refunded me approximately $40 from the $200 we paid for the massage. The massage itself was the worst massage I have ever experienced. It was supposed to be a reflexology massage. When I signed up for a reflexology massage, I expect physical act of applying pressure to the feet, hands, or ears with specific thumb, finger, and hand techniques. Initially, the masseuse simply put her thumb at two points of my foot. I told her that she should press harder as I can hardly feel anything. She then pressed rather than touched the two points on my other foot with about 5% of the pressure of a soft poke. That was the extent of the reflexology. The remaining part of my body was splattered with oil and that was pretty much it. It was so disappointing.

I think Le Meridien really needs to look at their water filtration system. The doctor told us that he would be reporting Le Meridien to the authority the next day as they had been given previous warnings and procedures to follow to avoid this severe type of intoxication on their guests. Incidentally, when my partner was at the reception to enquire about taking me to the doctor, one other guest also informed the reception that she had one bout of vomiting overnight but was ok afterwards.

Ile Des Pins is a very nice island with amazing Baie of Kuto beach and is a must visit for New Caledonia. Le Meridien is the only 5* hotel there, but there was one 4* hotel which unfortunately was fully booked 3 months prior to our trip. I would suggest guests to prevent staying at Le Meridien if possible as I took all precautions and still ended up with severe food poisoning.

I have also read one of the Management’s comments on one of the reviews here that the contamination was under control but obviously not.

To protect their brand, I believe Le Meridien should compensate us for all the expenses incurred including the room rates, but I guess that’s wishful thinking on my behalf!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LC888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing and communication manager at Le Meridien Ile des Pins, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear LC888

Firstly, we were very sorry to learn that your stay with us was not to our expectations and also that our associates lacked empathy that would have been appropriate in your situation. As we seem to not have much information internally regarding all the issues you experienced, we would like to request that you please make direct contact with us in order that we may learn more about your experience. Regarding the “gastro bug” you caught, we would like confirm that whilst several guests at the Hotel were affected, we immediately undertook the necessary water & food analyses, which are also done on a regular basis, and the results showed that only the tap water was incriminated. All of the necessary actions were taken immediately and the situation returned to normal very quickly with no new cases reported afterward.
We look forward to hearing from you very soon to learn more about this unfortunate experience.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is one of the most inspiring Starwood locations I have been to. Why? 1) fantastic remote location with pristine and very quiet beach 2) very nicely decorated and large cosy rooms with hardboard floors and beautiful quiet private deck overlooking the bay (we were staying at the hilltop suite bungalow). 3) great recognition of Starwood status.
I was worried by some negative reviews. Yes, the food is expensive and the food is not Michelin star quality, but that is what you can expect on a very remote and almost unpopulated island. I liked the service, but expect that the staff only seeks French and expect no Asian style over the top service.
In short, go to this resort if you are looking for an amazing quiet, private beach resort with amazing views and on the beach 5 star bungalows and if you are looking for a bit of heaven on earth. Our 5 days were a truly freshing holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a bungalow on the beach or a hilltop bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienNoumea, Marketing & Comunication manager at Le Meridien Ile des Pins, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Merci beaucoup FlyingTraveller_58 for this lovely review!

We appreciate that you took the time to share your lovely experience and we are truly delighted to read that you spent such a good time in our hotel. We are delighted that our service and location made your stay outstanding.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.
A bientôt!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ile Des Pins
7.5 mi away
Oure Tera Beach Resort
Oure Tera Beach Resort
#2 of 4 in Ile Des Pins
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel Kou-Bugny
Hotel Kou-Bugny
#3 of 4 in Ile Des Pins
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
113.7 mi away
Hotel Oasis De Kiamu
Hotel Oasis De Kiamu
#1 of 4 in Lifou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Relais Kuberka
Relais Kuberka
#3 of 4 in Ile Des Pins
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Ile des Pins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Ile des Pins

Property: Le Meridien Ile des Pins
Address: Baie D'Oro, BP 175, Ile Des Pins 98832, New Caledonia
Location: New Caledonia > Ile Des Pins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ile Des Pins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Ile des Pins 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise is shaped like this. Le Meridien Ile des PIns overlooks the pristine white beaches of Oro bay, just 15 minutes from the island's airport, and is nestled in a centuries old coconut grove, redolent with the scent of lush, tropical vegetation. Le paradis ressemble a cela. Le meridien Ile des Pins donne sur les plages blanches immaculees de la baie d'Oro, a seulement 15 minutes de l'aeroport et implante au coeur d'une cocoteraie seculaire, regorgeant du parfum exhale par une vegetation tropicale et luxuriante. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Ile des Pins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Ile Des Pins Hotel Ile Des Pins
Meridien Ile Des Pins
Ile Des Pins Meridien
Ile Des Pins Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing