We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stunning natural scenery”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Meridien Ile des Pins
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ile Des Pins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2012

The hotel is set in really stunning scenery. The beach is protected by a reef and the water is clear and fairly shallow. No coral but you can swim all over safely. The bungalows are beautiful, huge living area, comfortable bedroom, huge bathroom and dressing room. Lovely deck. The panoramic bungalows are advertised as having direct access to the beach but in reality they are set up on a rocky outcrop with a precarious ladder that takes you down to the water. Dont think it is worth the extra. The other bungalows are either facing the lawn which leads down to the beach, a few are right on the beach, and the others are facing a natural salt water inlet which looks like a river but the water is crystal clear seawater with jungle the other side. The food is expensive but good quality. At lunch there is a BBQ with a good variety of fish and meat. Service we found efficient. There is really no other dining option, so we ate in the hotel the 4 days we were there. The only other place Kue Ngy is a walk along the beach and wade through the water, or follow a path over the hill, but was closed 2 days we went there. Ile de Pins is a "dry" (no alcohol sold except in resorts) island so if you enjoy a post dinner drink in your room, take your own. Drinks in the resort are expensive.There is a 12kg per person luggage limit, and 3 kg hand luggage, and they monitor it closely, so pack light. The Natural Aquarium is a must. Follow the path but where you think it disappears, opposite a wooden house, just wade through the water and you will find the path again about 20 yards further. The water there is crystal clear, there are huge fish and it is quite stunning. This is one of the most beautiful places in the world, and we have travelled extensively.

Room Tip: the bungalows are worth the difference- but not the Panoramic ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SpainMizliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (815)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

316 - 322 of 815 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2012

We last visited the Le Meridien in 2007. We loved the surroundings but the food was very disappointing. Given its close proximity to Australia we thought we would give it a second chance and were pleasantly surprised by the improvements to the menu and food quality.
We stayed in a cliff top bungalow with beautiful views over the Baie d'Oro. The rooms are very large, a little dated but very well maintained. Staff are friendly and most speak English.
We took one of the yellow paddle boats out to the sandy beach on the other side of the bay and made the trip around the corner and found more beautiful islands and aquamarine water. We spotted three turtles on 2 separate occasions both within metres of the paddle boat.
The natural pool is a must do and is only a 15 minute walk from the Resort. Stay clear of the blue ocean kayaks they are back breakers. The stand up paddle boards are great fun at low tide (you can step off rather than fall off!).
The staff arranged a hire car for the day (8400 francs) and we visited the main points of interest. Half a day would suffice as the island is small and sparsely populated. The ocean temperature at the Resort is much warmer than the beaches on the other side of the island.

New Caledonia is now an extremely affordable destination given the current exchange rate. Make the most of the duty free shopping at the international airport - about 20% cheaper than Sydney.

Room Tip: Cliff top bungalows are very private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tanyasydney2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Wow! What a beautiful place! We stayed four full days and three nights and couldn't have been happier. The location is stunning and the resort is beautiful. Everyday we would eat a beautiful breakfast on our balcony, relax, do some activities and enjoy everything the resort has to offer.

It is the perfect blend of total isolation and a beautiful resort. The idea here is to relax, prices are high, as the island is remote and almost everything has to be imported. Luckily heaps of activities are free so we enjoyed kayaking, paddling boarding, paddle boating (pedalo), snorelling, volleyball, bike riding.

We walked around to the piscine naturelle twice and it is a MUST. The lagoon and beach surrounding the resort are beautiful and you can kayak or pedalo out to other beaches and even take a prepared picnic. The beach changes with the tide, and you can wade at least a couple of hundred metres out and explore by foot!

A wonderful place for people who either want to relax or make their own fun (exploring, water sports, swimming). Don't forget sunscreen because the sun is much stronger than Noumea (some say its because of the beautiful white sand)

Room was beautiful and well kept, the grounds are well kept and turn down service adds the touch of luxury you expect.

Room Tip: being a Starwood Preferred Guest is advantageous in securing a better room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank awalk2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

As other reviewers have said, the location is absolutely outstanding!!! We have travelled a lot and this equals Bermuda and Moorea (Tahaiti) in our view as one of the best beach hotel locations we have seen.

Our room was excellent, overlooking the pool, and the lagoon. The food in the restaurant was good, and again as others have said, when they remember your order, or that you have sat down. The new Maitre d' is trying to lift the standard of service, but I fear he is battling a very lay-back culture, not inclined to see the need for 5 star service.

Free wifi to rooms would be a real benefit, at the moment it is only in the reception/bar area.

This is a place to go and relax. The "piscine naturelle" is a 15 minute walk, and is fantastic. It really is like swimming in an aquarium with the fish, and alone almost makes staying at Le Meridien a worthwhile trip.

Avoid however the beach restaurant around the corner (Kougney) - not part of Le Meridien. The advertise cheap lobster meals on the beach. Our lobsters were small and overpriced! Read my separate one star review.

Do take the time to spend a morning on the Baie D'oro in a Pirogue (outrigger sailing boat). The hotel arranged this for us and it was a delightful highlight of our trip. Just Louis our Kunie Captain, and the two of us cruising over the crystal clear water, spotting turtles, dolpins and big rays as we glided past the cupcake islands. Thank goodness for digital cameras or I would have run out of film after the first 20 minutes.

We would also like to say that the hotel reception staff were very good, especially the Japanese lady who met us at the airport and had the best English language skills of all, certainly a lot better than our French skills.

Remember this is an outpost of France, so French language skills will help you considerably. This also means that if you are from a country like Australia, you might get a surprise when the couple on the table beside you chain smoke between courses during dinner. Smoking and eating are not mutually exclusive here, and it would not have worked to ask to change tables because other than the Japanese honeymoon couples, we were in a non-smoking minority.

The only time we felt uncomfortable and not relaxed was during one lunch period when we struggled to find a table because the restaurant was over-run with day trippers from a P&O Cruise ship. They were loud, noisy Australians and made us disinclined to let anyone know we were also Australian. This is probably good business for Le Meridien to sell lunch to day-trippers, but it did disrupt our otherwise relaxing break.

We must mention the grounds. Clearly the ground staff take great pride in their work. The grounds, the pool area and beach were all very well presented, and maintained daily.

In summary, we will return to Isle Des Pins and stay at Le Meridien, it is one of the most spectacular islands in the world, and the location of this hotel is hard to beat.

Room Tip: They all look good, but if you want to step out onto the beach from your room ask for a beach side b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank horsefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Wenstayed here in dec 2011. The location is easily one of the most beautiful i have stayed in and I am an experienced traveller. I fugured this is probably the most beautiful island in new caledonia. And you pay for that.

The hotwl is in a stunning location. Staff are friendly and respectful and generally forget what yiu had asked for. Reception is better but the restaurant is almost shambolic. The hotel have employed a french manager for the restaurant to help improve service. He is super efficient and has just a touch of that arrogant frenchness ( am married to a frenchman so dont take offence please)

Food in the restaurant is ok. You will think it overpriced but i went to a few other places and they were similarly priced.
Information on the island was severly lacking. Basically here if you do not arrange your own transport you are stuck paying 25 aud to go anywhere. So decide early if you wish to rent a car or a moped.
The piscine naturelle was magnificent. Rounded off a very romantic holiday.
Nice stay, thank yiu le meridien
My tip for other travellers. Book early to get value for money for the accomodation. Do a couple of excursions, decide about transport and sadly accept the food and the price that goes with it. Try to understand that getting anything to the island is an epic journey hence the price tag,

Room Tip: We stayed in the most basic room and it was one of the nicest I have stayed in. We stayed in room 51
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claudia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

I had read all the reviews and had properly adjusted my expectations to "island time". In fact I was looking forward to slowing down to island time. The rooms and setting are as many have written before--glorious. We were there for the very busy Christmas period and expected slow service from the kitchen. The new restaurant food and beverage manager, Dieder, was constantly pushing the staff to deliver service that seasoned travelers come to expect in 5 star hotels. The food was fantastic and we felt very well looked after.

Our children had the flu which allowed my wife and I a romantic time without children and we felt like many of the other couples there. It was very much a mix of couples and families and everyone seemed easy going and friendly.

We wanted to change our flights back to Noumea and the concierge personally went to the airport to make sure we were properly ticketed. We really enjoyed all aspects of this hotel and the Spa "massages" were great.

make sure you go to the natural pool for a snorkel. well worth the walk!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

We had just the one day with our cruise on the Isle of Pines and booked a group package deal.
We were picked up from the beach and driven to the resort and spent the next 7 hours in luxury. We had full use of all the facilities and included lunch.
We began by meadering down the the natural tidal pool with snorkelling gear - this was the most incredible snorkelling experience! Very shallow and teaming with colourful fish of all sizes.
We headed back for lunch and we wonderfully surprised with the most sensational mix of foods in a buffet style. Desserts were exquisite.
After lunch we spent the rest of our time on the paddle boats and in the swimming pools.
They delivered us back to the ship after our day in total paradise.
Whilst the staff were extremely helpful, there was a bit of confusion with our booking, but that did not overshadow the pure beauty of the day and our experience.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank nannygoatjunction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ile Des Pins hotels
7.5 mi away
Oure Tera Beach Resort
Oure Tera Beach Resort
#2 of 4 in Ile Des Pins
338 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel Kou-Bugny
Hotel Kou-Bugny
#3 of 4 in Ile Des Pins
292 reviews
7.0 mi away
Relais Kuberka
Relais Kuberka
#3 of 4 in Ile Des Pins
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Ile des Pins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Ile des Pins

Address: Baie D'Oro, BP 175, Ile Des Pins 98832, New Caledonia
Phone Number:
Location: New Caledonia > Ile Des Pins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ile Des Pins
Price Range: $346 - $725 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Ile des Pins 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise is shaped like this. Le Meridien Ile des PIns overlooks the pristine white beaches of Oro bay, just 15 minutes from the island's airport, and is nestled in a centuries old coconut grove, redolent with the scent of lush, tropical vegetation. Le paradis ressemble a cela. Le meridien Ile des Pins donne sur les plages blanches immaculees de la baie d'Oro, a seulement 15 minutes de l'aeroport et implante au coeur d'une cocoteraie seculaire, regorgeant du parfum exhale par une vegetation tropicale et luxuriante. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Ile des Pins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Ile Des Pins Hotel Ile Des Pins
Meridien Ile Des Pins
Ile Des Pins Meridien
Ile Des Pins Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing