We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanted, located under big trees,”
Review of Gite NATAIWATCH

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ile Des Pins
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gite NATAIWATCH
Ranked #1 of 4 Ile Des Pins B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2012

1 min from a beautifully secleded beach, the setting is breathtaking, yet simple and easy-going. Booking and reception went smooth, even though they are frequently booked out. The room was clean and freindly service. Only draw-back: the dinner was somewhat overpriced, though tasty and fresh.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chatouli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 196 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2012

Great restaurant. The best food on ile des pins, we walked there twce in the evening from Kou Bugny because the food was very good and very decently priced. Very fast and nice service. Very down to earth. I am bored with those false "high end" hotel such as the Oura Tera (why come so far away to feel just as you would in Fiji or Bali). I can only judge the restaurant of Gite Nataiwatch because we stayed at Kou Bugny which I would recommend too if you don't need pretend luxury, but very comfortable, clean albeit simple bungalow just in front of a stunning white sand beach. Don't expect 4 stars luxury, it is the Pacific!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The location is great, just steps away from magnificent white sandy beaches.
The rooms have ipads with internet connection which was a great surprise.
The bedding definitely needs an update: the mattresses were really old, the kind with springs and each time one moved in the bed, the springs went "bling bling".
The bathroom was Ok.
The soap in the soap dispenser had been watered down which added to creating that "cheap" impression of the place although the prices are not cheap! (Room price was quite average for New Caledonia though)
The food at the restaurant was lovely, nice and fresh - you need to order your dinner during the day and the menu is a bit confusing but it is well worth it!
We would definitely eat there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clauxmoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Spending two nights here as a solo traveler, generally speaking I was quite happy with this place. For me the location on the island was ideal as I wasn’t dependant on a motor vehicle to get around and explore. In fact I would have been happy to rent a scooter and drive around the island a bit, but the only scooter rental in the neighborhood recently went out of business. (There may have been an option to rent one from the L’Meridien but I don’t think I would have been willing to pay their steep rates).Renting a car wasn’t an option as I hadn’t made a reservation for one early enough, and there happened to be no availability on the day I would have been interested in renting one. Fortunately a bicycle was available and some exploring could be done. Riding it, Vao and the main points of interest in that corner of the island were no more than 20 minutes away. I had seen the other side of the island en-route to the famous pirogue trip across Baie D’Upi (nice, but not spectacular), and based on my impression I don’t think I missed out on too much by not returning there another time with a scooter or car. Kuto and Kanumera beaches are just a short walk away from Gite Nataiwatch, which is a big bonus. On the bicycle it’s a 10 minute ride to the nearest shop. My bungalow was a bit worn but clean and comfortable. I liked the Ipad guests are provided with in lieu of a TV, and the fact that the WIFI connectivity was flawless all around the resort was much appreciated. Meals are a bit pricey (~1800PF for a main) but portions are generous and the food was delicious. The choices at breakfast were solid and good. The guy at the reception speaks perfect English so most of my interaction was through him. He was always very friendly and accommodating. Two thumbs up for Gite Nataiwatch!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lucas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Such a beautiful location and brilliant place to unwind. It's set back from the beach, and in magnificant surroundings. The shacks themselves are fairly basic. We stayed in a twin bungalo, which had a single bed in the small entrance room, a bathroom and a third room with a double bed. The rooms also include a small fridge, an iPad and a safe.

We looked were fairly curious to have a look inside a family bungalo, as they have a kitchenette which would've been handy for us as we were keen to save on money by sticking to baguette, brie and salad for some meals.
The breakfast was great, basic but always appreciate a free meal, and nice to have access to coffee and tea.

If you're keen on saving a bit on meals, lunches particularly, try and bring some food accross from the mainland. We brought cheese, terrine, lettuce, tomato and ham over for lunches. There are two small shops which sell basics, one of these a boulangerie which is a fair walk away.
The staff were fabulous, so friendly and helpful. Both my dad and I speak a bit of french, so this came in handy when communicating with the staff, especially those who don't speak english.. evidently. On top of that it's nice to put in a bit of effort and do your best at speaking the country's language when you come to visit.

Don't miss the 'Piscine Naturelle', absolutely beautiful when the sun is out, beautiful clarity. And the trip there on the 'Pirogue' is incredible. Bring bread to feed the fish, they'll surround you! If you walk down the river from the pool, you'll come to another beach where you'll find "Chez Emile" (I think) and down from that a fantastic restaurant. Lobster is their speciality but we booked the day before to try Chicken Bougna, a New Caledonian special, which was incredible!!

Beautiful island, beautiful beaches, fantastic accommodation, not to be missed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 390Mel_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Beautiful island and fantastic snorkelling, this accommodation is so close to the beach, but bungalows are not nice, should have camped instead. Pricey, but that is everywhere in New Caledonia anyway. Food Ok. Owner a bit rude, I wonder if it was because my husband is English...lol

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dpsNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

The camp is in an amazing location, just in front of the bay. landscape is wonderfull and there's a great vegetation around. The price is a bit over rated compared to the service, but it's a fault of the entire New Caledonia, so if you don't want to spend much more for an hotel and you prefer to stay in touch with nature this is a great choise. We put our tent here for five days. the owner is in some ways a little bit cold, but is a good "sea man"

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andreasupertamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ile Des Pins hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kou-Bugny
Hotel Kou-Bugny
#3 of 4 in Ile Des Pins
292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oure Tera Beach Resort
Oure Tera Beach Resort
#2 of 4 in Ile Des Pins
338 reviews
7.3 mi away
Le Meridien Ile des Pins
Le Meridien Ile des Pins
#1 of 4 in Ile Des Pins
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Relais Kuberka
Relais Kuberka
#3 of 4 in Ile Des Pins
36 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Gite NATAIWATCH? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gite NATAIWATCH

Address: Baie de Kanumera, Ile Des Pins 98832, New Caledonia
Location: New Caledonia > Ile Des Pins
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ile Des Pins
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Nataiwatch on one of the most beautiful islands of the world!!This island is known as the "Jewel of the Pacific" and is world renowned for its unspoilt beauty.Isle of Pines is approximately 18km long and 14km wide and as its name implies has a prominently pine tree skyline, set against white sand beaches and turquoise lagoons.Guillaume and Eulali KOUATHE are considered pioneers here as they created this guesthouse 31 years ago. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing