We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Walking distance to catch the boat trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Protea Hotel by Marriott Walvis Bay Pelican Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Walvis Bay Pelican Bay
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Walvis Bay
Pretoria
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Walking distance to catch the boat trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

We were a small group consisting of family members and friends that stayed there for one night with the primary aim to do a boat cruise. We stayed on the first floor with a view over the lagoon which is west and thus ideal for sunset viewing. We were booked for "double rooms" with the option of inner connecting doors that was welcomed by some members in our party. The rooms were very spacious and neat and they have small balcony with a view over the lagoon. The staff were very friendly and also assisted us with the booking for a boat cruise at no extra cost. The departure points for the boat cruises are within walking distance (5 minutes) from the hotel. The hotel has a spacious restaurant with one side also facing the lagoon. The car parking is unfortunately uncovered but the drop off at the entrance is covered.

Room Tip: It seemed as if all rooms are facing towards the lagoon, but I think those more towards the middle c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MIMSPretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    78
    43
    14
    7
See reviews for
15
43
10
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Curepipe
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Probably the best place to stay if you are in Walvis Bay.

Pleasant hotel with amazing views..... flamingos, pelicans...

Also has a great pathway for walks along the beach in the morning/afternoon. There are also a couple of good restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RN717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
104 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Friendly reception staff and an awesome setting on the lagoon make this a great choice when staying in Walvis Bay - My wife and I enjoyed our stay as we had a top floor lagoon facing room. Beds were comfortable and the room clean and tidy complete with bar fridge and coffee station. The Bathroom has a shower and bath combination and the usual toiletries are provided. The view of the flamingoes and pelicans that walk past is just magical and especially at sundown.
Breakfast is included and is a superb buffet spread. Service was good and the waiters friendly.
It's very well situated allowing you to go on long walks around the lagoon and access nearby cafes and a coffee shop.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

I got a room facing the lagoon and woke up to see the pink flamingos every morning. That was really beautiful. It was a pleasant and relaxing stay compared to most business hotels I stayed before. The baht tub was also very big and nice. The food was so-so but not bad. I went there to host a conference and the staff were very helpful and friendly. They were very professional and helped us with no hesitation with last minute request. Generally, I'd stay there again on my next business trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janjarang K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulton Broad, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights on business. Room facing the lagoon was excellent. Staff all very friendly and helpful.
I would have given 5* but for the water went off on the last day, with no idea when it was going to come back on again, so had to travel without having a shower. Also, the hotel restaurant wasn't up to much at all. Tinned vegetables, and a fillet steak that really was not a fillet steak.
But I would stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Spongeandcustard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

This hotel is kind of like Walvis/Pelican Bay itself -- fine, but nothing great. It's a standard chain hotel. Food is so-so, rooms are fine (have wifi, which is great). Views from the room facing the bay are nice, though, especially at sunset.

Room Tip: Some rooms share a (locked) interior door with another, which can let noise through, so ask for some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank huntersmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Nice looking hotel, more modern than most places we saw in namibia. Room very spacious with excellent sea view and balcony. Free wi-fi, friendly staff (also not a given in namibia) and big bed. Tv guide with a good variety of channels, enough packing space, great shower pressure. Could use a little tweaking here and there, but very happy, will recommend.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank voyagersolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walvis Bay
0.4 mi away
The Langholm Hotel
The Langholm Hotel
#2 of 5 in Walvis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lagoon Loge
Lagoon Loge
#1 of 5 in Walvis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Walvis Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#5 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
19.9 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
20.0 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Walvis Bay Pelican Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Walvis Bay Pelican Bay

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Walvis Bay Pelican Bay
Address: The Esplanade, Walvis Bay, Namibia
Phone Number:
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Walvis Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Walvis Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Walvis Bay Pelican Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott(R) Walvis Bay Pelican Bay - Your Refuge on the Walvis Bay Lagoon. Protea Hotel by Marriott(R) Walvis Bay Pelican Bay overlooks one of the most important wetland areas on the African Coastline, the Walvis Bay Lagoon, declared a Ramsar site to ensure that its protection is guaranteed by the Namibian government. With its temperate climate, Walvis Bay and the Protea Hotel by Marriott(R) Walvis Bay Pelican Bay offers a safe refuge from the Atlantic Ocean to the abundance of majestic flamingos and gigantic whales that flock to these waters. With uninterrupted view of the Walvis Bay Lagoon, where dolphins are often spotted playing in the water, Protea Hotel by Marriott(R) Walvis Bay Pelican Bay offers comfortable en-suite rooms, a restaurant, bar and coffee shop, as well as secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott and Priceline so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Walvis Bay Pelican Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing