We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A DREAM COME TRUE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pelican Point Lodge
Tubingen, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A DREAM COME TRUE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

I chose Pelican Point Lodge as the only accomodation while in Namibia. And it was the best decision I could make. It is remote, quiet, and full of wildlife. I had long walks watching seals, terns, seagulls, cormorants, jackals, and lizards. The peninsula is scattered with bones of seabirds and seals, which gives the name of skeleton coast a ring of truth...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Habakuk_Tibatong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    11
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
38
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
67 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Pelican Point was a unique experience given its setting. We really felt we were at the edge of the world, surrounded by nothing more than sand, seals, jackals and flamingos. The rooms and public areas were very comfortable, and the young chef tried hard and made good, if not great food.

We got stuck in the sand just as we entered the point, but fortunately a few of the staff from the lodge were just happening to be on their way to town, so they helped us out and got us on our way. The engaging substitute manager Brian was exceptionally nice and helped us improve our sand-driving skills the following morning.

While the whole operation at Pelican Point might not be as polished as some might like, we loved it for the unique setting it offered. We were not inconvenienced by the limited hours in which power was provided, but as electricity is required to pump water to the lodge and the toilets, one has to be conscious.

Pelican Point is great for those wanting a sense of getting away from it all and the area offers incredible photo ops.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jiaotze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swakopmund, Namibia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed at the Pelican Point Lodge for 2 nights, with the day in between spent on the beach. The birdlife, the sea life creates great opportunities for wonderful photos, if you are into photography. There is nothing much to do at the lodge itself, except for relaxing, reading a book. The children loved the fact that they could walk from our room onto the sand to play. Food was very good. Generator only runs in the early morning and at night, i.e. limited hours of electricity. The logistics of the lodge are very demanding, even the water for the showers has to be collected at the nearest town and commuted to the lodge, which explains the price of your stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Silke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Zambia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

The pelican point lodge is truly an amazing place! Lost in the middle of the beach, surrounded by ocean, with 360 degrees sea view. The Captain Cove room is a must! The staff and management of the hotel are really helpful and always there to serve you a drink or a snack. food is also excellent and the general atmosphere is just fantastic. The journey to get there is also beautiful, driving on the beach with fur seals,jackals and an incredible bird life. Make sure you have a proper 4x4 to get there. We only had one bad note, when we arrived the room was not cleaned properly but this was immediately sorted by the hotel management.

Room Tip: The Captain Cove! on top of the building, 360 degree sea view! absolutely stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManfrediPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

This was the best holiday venue that me and my partner have ever stayed in - over the many years that we have been having holidays. It is remote form the hustle and bustle of the City, but close enough. You go there to enjoy absolute rest, in a property that offers you a 180 degree view of the sea, surrounded by Pelicans and Seals!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Bridgette2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

location unique : we have rent the room at the top , in the former tower control , with a marvellous weather ; walk among the seals and birds ,sea bath between the flamingo ,good food , just a reproach about no permanent energy , why don t use the solar energy like for the lighthouse !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Bernard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RogerWindhoek, General Manager at Pelican Point Lodge, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thanks for your review, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. The ‘room at the top’, Captains Cove, is a very special place indeed offering spectacular 360⁰ views of the ocean and the Walvis Bay Lagoon. I do apologies if the lack of 24 hour electricity affected the enjoyment of your stay but would like to comment on the fact that we have investigated installing solar power to generate the electricity but due to the often overcast weather experienced at the coast this option would not be efficient and would need a huge number of panels to generate the necessary power to operate the lodge. We will be installing battery packs later this year which will ensure 24 hour electricity to the lodge. We hope to see you in this special part of Namibia again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

I loved the interioir, the food and amazing view...just wish they had a view over the ocean...360 would have been amazing, so you can see the ocean while dining....but except for that it was amazing!!! Thanks Christa and Bertus we enjoyed it, you and your team are doing great!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 120Angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walvis Bay
5.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Walvis Bay Pelican Bay
16.0 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
15.3 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#5 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Lagoon Loge
Lagoon Loge
#1 of 5 in Walvis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
16.1 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Langholm Hotel
The Langholm Hotel
#2 of 5 in Walvis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Point Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Point Lodge

Property: Pelican Point Lodge
Address: Pelican Point Peninsula, Walvis Bay, Namibia
Phone Number:
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Walvis Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Walvis Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pelican Point Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the semi-remote solitude of a peninsula overlooking the ocean, the bay and entry port of Walvis Bay, a lighthouse breaks the horizon signaling that home is nearby. Pelican Point Lodge aims to extend professional individual service, in this exclusive and unique setting surrounded by sea and sand, guaranteeing your privacy and comfort in 9 luxury en-suite rooms, with private balconies. The presidential suite/honeymoon suite offers a breathtaking 360˚ view. Tranquility will strike the soul with inward relaxation and peace and guests will experience the opportunity to come in close contact with cape fur seal colonies, dolphins, whales, sunfish, endangered Damara tern, jackals, flamingos and pelicans. With the provision of luxury accommodation and dining to tantalize, all coupled with exclusive activities that are on offer, living the experience of Pelican Point Lodge is simply to die for! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pelican Point Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing