We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst accomodation in Walvis Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Spindrift Guesthouse
Ranked #9 of 17 Walvis Bay B&B and Inns
Reggio Emilia, Italy
Level Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The worst accomodation in Walvis Bay”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This guesthouse is maybe the worst accomodation you can find in Walvis Bay. Staff is friendly, but the price is not value compare the kind of place. Very noisy place until late and through the main door of the room's door everybody can see inside. A really bad experiece. I strongly not suggest this place!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefano A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpindriftWB, Owner at Spindrift Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
We value and appreciate comments and reviews of our quests, which have been generally pleasing, positive and constructive. however the statement " The worst accommodation in Walvis Bay " must be considered at least odd,irrational if not malicious, given the fact of our very fair track record and 7 years of a successful existence. It needs mentioning, that at the day of our disgruntled guests stay, we were full house with a mixture of diplomats, businessman and tour guides as we were the days before and still now 4 days later after the guest's departure, thus remaining an attractive, hospitable and friendly and sought after venue, considered value for money.

Yours sincerely,

Cees Visser/owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    7
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
10
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Beautiful rooms and a really nice garden. And just like the others said, the owners are great!
The guesthouse has a good location. By foot it´s 10 minutes to the raft and harbour area , 20 minutes to the city centre and 2 minutes to the beachwalk to see some flamingos. Beautiful morning walks there!
Breakfast is good with toast, yoghurt, fruit and tea/coffee. All you need!
Free internet that most of the time worked everywhere.
I had a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoWi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VT
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at Spindrift, we arrived early and got a chance to choose our room, all the rooms we saw where roomy comfortable and had balconies or patios.
Breakfast was great but what impressed us most about Spindirft were the owners. Case in particular was so welcoming and full of information, he recommended a great restaurant, shared so much interesting history about the town and Namibia, gave us travel advice re our driving safari and sent us on a short but exciting excursion to Pelican Point. He even offered to come and pull us out if we got stuck in the sand!!!! You could not ask for more!!!
Do consider staying here you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VermontVt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SA
Level Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Accommodation was basic, but very clean and could not complain. The owner was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good. It is also very central and within less than 5 minutes walk you are at the lagoon where we were fortunate to spot some dolphins swimming in the lagoon. I would recommend if you looking for an affordable overnight stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We liked the fact that this property is less than 10 mins walk from the lagoon. The owners couldn't have been more helpful to us when our car was broken into - we really appreciated it. The room we had was comfortable and the breakfasts were excellent. We also enjoyed the garden. On the first evening we walked down to the Raft for dinner - highly recommended. All in all excellent value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane47uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

It was really a nice place and we were given the guest house and it was absolutely huge. WiFi would have been great in the house but they do have it on property. The TV was a no go but on a vacation we weren't really interested in that. The breakfast was good and filling and for the price worth it.

My only complaint was the lack of supplies in the kitchen to cook but when you go to a self-catering guest house you expect that because you plan on cooking.

Walvis Bay is a nice place but it is really small...if I had to do it again I would stay in Swakomund it has nothing to do with the place but the city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The owners created a warm and welcoming atmosphere. The room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was good, and the pretty little garden in front of the guesthouse was a nice place to relax. The rates were good value. They were having renovations done while we were there, so the place is sure to be even nicer now. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nyc_girl7664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walvis Bay
0.9 mi away
The Langholm Hotel
The Langholm Hotel
#2 of 5 in Walvis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Walvis Bay Pelican Bay
0.2 mi away
Lagoon Loge
Lagoon Loge
#1 of 5 in Walvis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Walvis Bay
0.6 mi away
1932 House Bed & Breakfast
1932 House Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 17 in Walvis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spindrift Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Guesthouse

Property: Spindrift Guesthouse
Address: 22 Main Road | Meersig, Walvis Bay, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Walvis Bay
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Walvis Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spindrift's friendly and homely atmosphere with eight comfortable and spacious en-suite rooms each with it's own veranda or balcony overlooking the garden, pool and koi fish pond makes it the perfect place to relax between your explorations of the Namib Desert coastline, including Sandwich Harbour and the Pelican Point Peninsula. Conveniently located for restaurants, bars and a short walk from the famous Walvis Bay lagoon, with its birdlife and many outdoor activities. Facilities include free wi-fi, swimming pool, separate braai area, honesty bar fridge, delicious dinners and off-road parking. Breakfast is included and dinner can be arranged in advance. The nearby Namib Naukluft Park, Damaraland and the rest of the Erongo Region is ideal for self-drive and 4x4 exploration with scenic places such as Welwitschia, Brandberg, Spitzkoppe, and Sossusvlei. Your hosts, Cees, Liz, Jaco and Kim have an extensive knowledge of the area. They look forward to welcoming you and assisting you with any travel arrangements you may require. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Spindrift Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing