We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Spindrift Guesthouse
Ranked #6 of 18 Walvis Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Accommodation was basic, but very clean and could not complain. The owner was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good. It is also very central and within less than 5 minutes walk you are at the lagoon where we were fortunate to spot some dolphins swimming in the lagoon. I would recommend if you looking for an affordable overnight stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 27 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

We liked the fact that this property is less than 10 mins walk from the lagoon. The owners couldn't have been more helpful to us when our car was broken into - we really appreciated it. The room we had was comfortable and the breakfasts were excellent. We also enjoyed the garden. On the first evening we walked down to the Raft for dinner - highly recommended. All in all excellent value.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane47uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

It was really a nice place and we were given the guest house and it was absolutely huge. WiFi would have been great in the house but they do have it on property. The TV was a no go but on a vacation we weren't really interested in that. The breakfast was good and filling and for the price worth it.

My only complaint was the lack of supplies in the kitchen to cook but when you go to a self-catering guest house you expect that because you plan on cooking.

Walvis Bay is a nice place but it is really small...if I had to do it again I would stay in Swakomund it has nothing to do with the place but the city.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The owners created a warm and welcoming atmosphere. The room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was good, and the pretty little garden in front of the guesthouse was a nice place to relax. The rates were good value. They were having renovations done while we were there, so the place is sure to be even nicer now. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nyc_girl7664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

A very friendly place which gives you the feeling to be at home ! The owner, established in this place for decades, has built an amazing beautiful garden and warm bedrooms. Each of them is different, spacious and stillish. The couple of owners were origanaly dutch, and it is obvious : northen european as English or Dutch for instance, know how to make warm cottage, the kind of place with fireplace where you appreciate to be with your lover ! The breakfast has nothing "continental" but typicaly "Dutch" so dilicious, huge, with plenty of choice : meat, cheese, eggs done how you like... No need to eat at lunch afterward !!
There is a safe parking inside (well protected) in the backyard of the house.
The situation is great : just 100 m from the bay, you can go by foot and see within 5 mn pink flamencos who stands by the beach !
Quiet neighbourood and bedrooms. A perfect place to rest ! The owner knows everithing there and can be a great help for your stay. He is always open to provide you services. Laundry in cheap and well done.
And, last, but not least, prices are very very reasonnables ! I have no doubt it's the best choice. Good value for money. We were a quite large party of friends to come, so I did check all the hotels arround. only the Lagoon is probably better, but much more expensive. So it's up to your budget : you are regardless to your money : go to the Lagoon, french owner, great service, you prefer to save money: Spindrift is the place : cheap with high range of quality and service.
By the way, I was very hesitating between sleeping in Swakop or Walvis Bay. This city looks less attractive, and less touristic, but nonestly I do not regreat my choice as Walvis bay is very interesting : the Bay, the boat trips, the restaurants by the wharf... You can go during the day at Swakop and sleep n Walvis. At night the pubs and restaurants are very nice in the harbour.
Enjoy especially the LYON DES SABLES : the best and creative food in Namibia !!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank terredepartages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Coming from Windhoek, it is now the second time we spend a long weekend at Spindrift Guesthouse this year. Both times we thoroughly enjoyed it. It is a nice base from where to visit the surrounding places of interest. The lodging has a cottage feeling. Each room has its flair and character. And for the price of 600,- NAD for a double room has value for its money and whereby a nice breakfast is included. The owner is very helpful. Payment is on a cash base. But with the many ATM's around in Walvis Bay not really a problem. Both times no advance on booking had to be paid either. Which, in my point of view is a plus point of people trusting each other on their word and which I keep very much in regard. It is best to book in advance. Parking place is available on the compound but can be a bit overcrowded at times.

Room Tip: We were both times staying in room 3. The room is spacious with a small veranda. The bathroom has bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dirk T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed for one night on our way south. The room was quite shabby with moldy carpets. Window in the bathroom was a bit unnerving. However, the owner was very friendly over breakfast and made sure we had everything we needed.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ghosttoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spindrift22, Owner at Spindrift Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

I am the friendly breakfast guy and I would have appreciated if you would have shared your observations with me that morning.

Coming from Scandinavia, the home of IKEA furniture, you may have mistakenly taken the vintage oak desk and cupboard and the Oregon pine headboard for shabby and the full length bathroom window looking into the garden unnerving. We intended to create a cottage like atmosphere, appreciated by many.

We unfortunately cannot comment on the moldy carpet. Guests before and after you do not confirm your observation, neither can we.

Never the less, thank you for your kind words and having stayed at Spindrift!

Spindrift Guesthouse & Art studio

Liz & Cees Visser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walvis Bay
0.9 mi away
The Langholm Hotel
The Langholm Hotel
#2 of 5 in Walvis Bay
75 reviews
0.0 mi away
African Pride Burning Shore
African Pride Burning Shore
#19 of 19 in Swakopmund
51 reviews
20.2 mi away
Swakopmund Sands Hotel
Swakopmund Sands Hotel
#9 of 19 in Swakopmund
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lagoon Loge
Lagoon Loge
#1 of 5 in Walvis Bay
167 reviews
0.8 mi away
10de Laan Bed & Breakfast
10de Laan Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 18 in Walvis Bay
19 reviews
0.4 mi away
Amjicaja Guesthouse
Amjicaja Guesthouse
#4 of 18 in Walvis Bay
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spindrift Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Guesthouse

Address: 22 Main Road | Meersig, Walvis Bay, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Walvis Bay
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Walvis Bay
Price Range: $47 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spindrift's friendly and homely atmosphere with eight comfortable and spacious en-suite rooms each with it's own veranda or balcony overlooking the garden, pool and koi fish pond makes it the perfect place to relax between your explorations of the Namib Desert coastline, including Sandwich Harbour and the Pelican Point Peninsula. Conveniently located for restaurants, bars and a short walk from the famous Walvis Bay lagoon, with its birdlife and many outdoor activities. Facilities include free wi-fi, swimming pool, separate braai area, honesty bar fridge, delicious dinners and off-road parking. Breakfast is included and dinner can be arranged in advance. The nearby Namib Naukluft Park, Damaraland and the rest of the Erongo Region is ideal for self-drive and 4x4 exploration with scenic places such as Welwitschia, Brandberg, Spitzkoppe, and Sossusvlei. Your hosts, Cees, Liz, Jaco and Kim have an extensive knowledge of the area. They look forward to welcoming you and assisting you with any travel arrangements you may require. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Spindrift Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing