We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely and relaxing”

Walvis Bay Waterfront
Book In Advance
More Info
$119.23*
and up
Sandwich Harbour Day Tour from Walvis Bay
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Walvis Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
london
Level Contributor
157 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“lovely and relaxing”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

it is a bit grand to define it as a "waterfront" a few food establishment, shops and boats, but nice all the same, bragain hard with the souvenier shops, pay about 30-% of what they ask you for at first.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Givemeaholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    109
    32
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, Berkshire
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Exciting day out”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We went on a cruise around Africa and stopped in Walvis Bay, Namibia. When we left the ship a lot of taxi drivers where competing for our business and we chose Rachel who had a lovely clean new people carrier ( and was a mature woman, which felt safe). She took us first to a lagoon to see thousands of flamingoes and then proceed through the desert to an oasis where we could climb the sand dunes, the she took us to a former German colonial town where we visited a beautiful fabric shop that made hand woven carpets and a crystal museum. We had lunch and then she took us back to the ship. We paid 120 dollars for the day, four people in the car.
We had a great time, Rachel explained everything to us and I feel we really have got a good impression of Walvis Bay which has got so much to offer.
Other people did a Whale and dolphin trip and saw lots of Dolphins and sea-lions. The locals were really friendly and Namibia seemed like it was on the way to becoming as prosperous as South Africa.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Songbird1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
296 reviews
165 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“The Mersig Lagoon is terrific”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

There is a lovely promenade and the birds are all around you. The flamingos are particularly impressive. It was very peaceful and great for photographers or just those wanting a quiet walk in beautiful surroundings. Very few people were there when we were which was a weekday.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tiish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pelicans on the bay”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Beautiful, flocks of Pelicans a far as the eye could see.
A sight worth beholding. nice arts and craft market and some really nice eating places on the bay

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mosma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
938 reviews
338 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Building it”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Construction everywhere
Too much like a building site
Need to get finished but can see it
Usual car parking attendants!!!!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dkkeeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walvis Bay Waterfront also viewed

Walvis Bay, Erongo Region
Walvis Bay, Erongo Region
 
Walvis Bay, Erongo Region
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
 

Been to Walvis Bay Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing