We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price invites expectation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oyster Box Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 17 Walvis Bay B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Price invites expectation”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We were disappointed with our two night stay. Staff kind of "dead", badly lacking in attention to detail, no character. For example - breakfast ran to 10am but when we arrived around 9.30am they were already packing up, had to ask for fruit, didn't bother to ask for brown bread for toast and they didn't offer, for two days a well used ashtray sat outside even when I moved it to the floor it was replaced on the table, still full. No kettles in the room, no tea/coffee station and no one at the bar when I tried to get a cup mid afternoon. When we did use the bar, with another couple staying there, we were told at 9pm to leave as it was closing. Stale rolls were served at breakfast for two days in a row and the staff needed prodding from their private conversation when I burnt my fingers trying to make toast out of what I thought was wholewheat bread but was in fact banana bread. Small things become large things with accumulation.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Urban R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    53
    21
    6
    5
See reviews for
12
65
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Durbanville, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I had to leave the guesthouse and go and stay at a hotel because they had no wifi in the rooms, this should be very cheap to rectify but now they will loose my business because of this and we have been complaining about his for some time as it is not my first visit here !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reggio Emilia, Italy
Level Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Oyster Guesthouse located on the wonderfull Lagoon is one the best option in town. Rooms are clean and modern design style. Breackfast is very good and you have many options. The view on the sea is wonderful. I strongly suggest this guesthouse.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefano A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This is the "seafacing room" when we booked, but when we check in, we totally fell been cheated. Very small window and can only see a little part of sea. And when we want to change the room upstairs, we was refused by so many excuses! But actually they have upstairs room available and waiting for guest check-in. I believe the hotel regards me like this because I'm a asian.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geraldo Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at oyster box for a night and we thought that they are way too expensive for what they offer. My friends room (Which was a double) had only 1 towel. The staff was absent on breakfast time. Breakfast was nothing special. We will not come back there.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolinaMedeiros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Very interesting structure where to stay in Walvys Bay ,prices are ok and is very clean . Security is really ok and you're next to ( about 500 meters by walk) the yacht center where to arrange for sea excursion . In the same area you'll find also restaurant and coffee' lounge bar

Room Tip: with a little extra you can ask for a seaview room but all rooms are really ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorenzo o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

A little pretentious. More show off than substance. Our room was on top of a staircase, difficult to access and we had to carry the luggage up and down.The bedroom was too small, the bathroom too basic. Service lamentably poor and unprofessional (though a common problem in Namibia where people is generally untrained and think that service is a sort of a "capitis diminutio") Probably this was caused by lack of managing supervision. Not good value for money.

Room Tip: Try at least to get a room with sea view.But not on the ground floor because people can watch you fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcello R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walvis Bay
0.7 mi away
Lagoon Loge
Lagoon Loge
#1 of 5 in Walvis Bay
156 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Langholm Hotel
The Langholm Hotel
#2 of 5 in Walvis Bay
66 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Walvis Bay Pelican Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Walvis Bay
19.3 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
247 reviews
1.1 mi away
Flamingo Villas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oyster Box Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oyster Box Guesthouse

Property: Oyster Box Guesthouse
Address: Esplanade & 2nd Street, Walvis Bay, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Walvis Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Walvis Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oyster Box Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Oyster Box Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing