We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best choice in Walvis Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oyster Box Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 19 Walvis Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Oyster Guesthouse located on the wonderfull Lagoon is one the best option in town. Rooms are clean and modern design style. Breackfast is very good and you have many options. The view on the sea is wonderful. I strongly suggest this guesthouse.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefano A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 123 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

This is the "seafacing room" when we booked, but when we check in, we totally fell been cheated. Very small window and can only see a little part of sea. And when we want to change the room upstairs, we was refused by so many excuses! But actually they have upstairs room available and waiting for guest check-in. I believe the hotel regards me like this because I'm a asian.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geraldo Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at oyster box for a night and we thought that they are way too expensive for what they offer. My friends room (Which was a double) had only 1 towel. The staff was absent on breakfast time. Breakfast was nothing special. We will not come back there.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank CarolinaMedeiros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Very interesting structure where to stay in Walvys Bay ,prices are ok and is very clean . Security is really ok and you're next to ( about 500 meters by walk) the yacht center where to arrange for sea excursion . In the same area you'll find also restaurant and coffee' lounge bar

Room Tip: with a little extra you can ask for a seaview room but all rooms are really ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorenzo o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

A little pretentious. More show off than substance. Our room was on top of a staircase, difficult to access and we had to carry the luggage up and down.The bedroom was too small, the bathroom too basic. Service lamentably poor and unprofessional (though a common problem in Namibia where people is generally untrained and think that service is a sort of a "capitis diminutio") Probably this was caused by lack of managing supervision. Not good value for money.

Room Tip: Try at least to get a room with sea view.But not on the ground floor because people can watch you fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marcello R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

After two weeks in game lodges this was a return to something a little more familiar. Spotlessly clean, modern, well equipped and just over the road from the famous lagoon. Location and standard of room could hardly be bettered with a warm welcome from friendly staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arkivist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had booked a seaview room back in Sept 2012 but when we arrived we were given room 1 on ground floor. If one person sat right by the door, they could just see the sea around the corner - this was a disappointment as we wanted to watch the birdlife. The room was fine and the location itself is good. We found the staff of young women very remote - they did not seem to really understand what their job was about. We only had one night on a Sunday, so all lthe great places to eat were shut - we ate in, and the sausage and chips was ok, the apfelstrudel very good. On trying to check out, we again had to really find the staff - in the end I left the key on the desk as there was noone around and there were several other sets of people waiting to check out. I think that perhaps the manager was not there as there was noone who seemed to be in charge or ready to help with any query or get things to happen.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor are probably better and have actual views of the lagoon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pagDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walvis Bay
0.2 mi away
The Langholm Hotel
The Langholm Hotel
#2 of 5 in Walvis Bay
78 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Walvis Bay Pelican Bay
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Walvis Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
#5 of 19 in Swakopmund
337 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lagoon Loge
Lagoon Loge
#1 of 5 in Walvis Bay
170 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amjicaja Guesthouse
Amjicaja Guesthouse
#4 of 19 in Walvis Bay
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oyster Box Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oyster Box Guesthouse

Address: Esplanade & 2nd Street, Walvis Bay, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Walvis Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Walvis Bay
Price Range: $108 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oyster Box Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Oyster Box Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing