We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A day to remember and cherish.”

Sandwich Harbour 4x4
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Sandwich Harbour is a part of the Namib Naukluft Park (Namibia) many have heard of but very few have ever visited. Giant sand dunes run straight into the ocean, creating breathtaking sceneries and a unique off road driving experience. Our vehicles take you to beautiful lookouts where you can feel the isolation Namibia and the Skeleton Coast are so famous for! We offer full and have day trips to Sandwich Harbour, as well as combination tours with Boat trips and Kayaking.
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“A day to remember and cherish.”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Our guide Nico was really outstanding. We saw thousands of seals in a huge colony, we saw thousands of flamingos. We saw springboks and jackels and ostriches. We did some dune bashing. (This was Nicos favorite part of the day!) we were served oysters and champagne for lunch. Nico is a 4th generation Namibidian who is quite proud of his country and loves sharing the beauty of it with visitors. He took us to Sandwich Harbour which is a must see place. All in all this was a great treat that you should not miss when in this part of Namibia.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ForrestWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    41
    11
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Excursion into the Dunes of Namibia”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

DId a full day tour that included a half day kayaking with seals at Pelican Point and a half day 4 wheel driving in the dunes above Sandwich Harbour. Our 4 wheel drive guide (Herman) was funny, knowledgeable and engaging. He took us on a roller coaster type ride through the sand dunes and served us a fancy lunch in the middle of the desert! Also recommend the linked morning portion of the tour which included kayaking with the seals - tremendously fun day!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristen12653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa, India
Level 6 Contributor
399 reviews
160 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“A great tour in the sand”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

What an experience to drive around a sand dune desert with the highest dunes in the world. A bit of wildlife at the beginning with zebras and ostriches. A lot of birds including thousand of pink flamingos. The drive itself is breathtaking at time when the drivers just go down steep slopes. A must do in Walvis bay.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank JeromeMarrelGoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
2 reviews
“Wonderful afternoon at the dunes”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I came on Business trip and had a Sunday afternoon to spare. Randomly choose Sandwich Harbour 4x4 and it definitively was the right choice. Despite booking late (did call them over the phone though) they were able to provide a fantastic experience, even pick me from the hotel. I got a little bit concerned about roller-coaster type reviews, but I was assured this wouldn't be a problem and it wasn't at all (do let them know about any concern so they can take it into account). Our driver Jurgen was very knowledgable and had answers to every question. We drove through the salt farm, the river delta and finally where the ocean meets the sand. What an amazing experience! ... and it got just better and better until reaching the dunes at Sandwich Harbour. AMAZING ! Worth the effort to climb them and absolutely no danger at all. Views are thrilling... haven't taken so many pictures in a long time. Getting down was easy and we then had a great snack with oysters and champagne. I'm not into oysters so had other food they had available, but did have some of the champagne. Coming back we saw an ostrich, several jackals and of course the flamingos. In summary an amazing experience, which I hope to repeat again, next time with my family. No doubt Sandwich Harbour 4x4 was the perfect choice for me. Thanks very very much for a wondeful afternoon.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chapin206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palapye, Botswana
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb tour, blessed with enchanting beauty!”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

An amazing experience! We undertook the Marine Dune Tour (which included the harbour tour with Ocean Adventures) and t'was a lovely experience! Riding the dunes was magnificent - definitely felt like a rollercoaster for the young kids and the elder statesmen of our group (which was all comfortably accommodated for). The guides were really helpful, though we missed out on catching any wildlife. The scenery is breathtaking, especially at our lunch site where the kids could run up and down the dunes whilst the rest admired the remarkable adjoining of the Dunes and the ocean. A truly remarkable site where I snapped away a whole memory card's worth of photographs! The oysters were amazing (a first time experience for those who tried!) but the food finished a bit quick (it was more of a snack than a lunch for the 17 person party) and was a bit short in terms of variety for those who were vegetarian (the vast majority). On the return journey to Walvis Bay, 2 of the 3 4x4s had broken down (took about 25 minutes for both to come back to order), but the sights that we appreciated made us forgiving of this.

The only sad part was that it was too short! You just want to ride more and more into the dunes and stay dazzled at the meeting of the Namib desert and the Atlantic! A must attraction when visiting the vicinity!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lakshay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandwich Harbour 4x4 also viewed

Walvis Bay, Erongo Region
Walvis Bay, Erongo Region
 
Walvis Bay, Erongo Region
Walvis Bay, Erongo Region
 

Been to Sandwich Harbour 4x4? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing