We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kayak Tour”

Eco Marine Kayak Tours
Windhoek, Namibia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kayak Tour”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

The owner run business was a delight to deal with and what an absolutely awesome morning kayaking among the seals and we were even lucky enough to see dolphins. http://journalofacitygirl.wordpress.com/2014/05/29/playing-with-the-seals/

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TraceyPictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Breda, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
425 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“A joyful seal and dolphin adventure”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Don't try to go to to Cape Cross seal reserve of which most visitors merely recall the smell. With a little bit of exercise and small bravour everybody - even children - can go on this tour. Jeanne is a wonderful person full of stories and she makes sure you are save and you see seals, comorons, pelicans flamingos and the occasional dolphin. The seals come really close to your kayak and they are playful and try to bit your peddle or wet you by making jumps. You can almost touch them and they are more active than at Cape Cross.
It is a bit of an early start but driving through the sand and mist is also an experience. Getting off through the surf (not like the 2 km waves on the other side of the bay, don't worry) and then you are alone with the seals. The fog sowly moving away gves it all a special atmosphere. after two hours you return to the car on the beach and there is a nice lunch. All together a morning to remember, close with nature and all well-commented by Jeanne.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ortwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience - must do!”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We went on the trip this morning and it totally surpassed our expectations - which were high! Jeanne is a lovely, knowledgeable guide and it was an absolutely incredible experience... We were very lucky to be joined by some bottlenose dolphins but it was the seals we got closest too (I have posted a photo to show just how close!) and they are so much fun to paddle about with.

I must admit that we looked at the people on the boat trips (who arrived after we'd already been there for a while) and felt a bit sorry for them as we were really in the thick of the action. If you get the chance, this is something that you must do!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pippy1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chichester
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Seal of approval”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Not to be missed. Jeanne and Bernd were perfect hosts, knowledgeable and friendly, full of information. We had the added bonus of a beautiful sunny day, but regardless of that, the seals were great. We just paddled into the midst of a group of youngsters and let them show off their jumping skills all round us, wonderful, when they got bored we paddled over to the next group, could have spent all day there.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Totally wonderful experience!”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Thank you to Jeanne and Berent for making our 'kayaking with seals' experience the highlight of our trip up the west coast of Africa in a very swanky cruise ship! We arranged the experience ourselves after reading all the 5 star recommendations. Jeanne met us at the docks and Berent drove us the 40km out to Pelican Point. The drive itself was fascinating. Dunes on one side sea on the other. Out via pink salt pans then onto the sand itself with tricky driving negotiated by our experienced driver, leaving the odd 4WD marooned in the sand awaiting the tractors! At the end of the spit we got into our very practical gear provided by Jeanne then into our two-man kayaks. No experience needed, calm water and lots of support. Wonderful to paddle past several colonies of seal on the sand (no smell, that only happens when they are on rock!). Pups swim right up to the kayaks and poke up their head then dive skittishly under you and off with a leap and splash. Large bulls bellow on the sands and it is all utterly entrancing. Once back ashore Jeanne provides a welcome hot drink and delicious picnic rolls. Then back via flocks of flamingoes, pelicans, the odd jackal etc. We saw 21 species of bird on our excursion. Jeanne so enthusiastic and knowlegeable one could not ask for a better guide. Shame we can't go higher than 5 stars! Thanks you Jeanne.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cristan04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eco Marine Kayak Tours also viewed

Walvis Bay, Erongo Region
Walvis Bay, Erongo Region
 
Walvis Bay, Erongo Region
Walvis Bay, Erongo Region
 

Been to Eco Marine Kayak Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing