We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best French food outside of a Michelin Star restaurant in Paris”
Review of Lyon des sable - CLOSED

Lyon des sable
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best French food outside of a Michelin Star restaurant in Paris”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

The food was an inventive twist on classic french cuisine. Service and views was superb and you cannot beat the price!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank slaskowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    30
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windhoek, Namibia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Namibia's Best”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Well, Namibia's best is with my wife at home, but the second best is Lyon de Sable. It was phenomenal totally out of the box when inside a de-commissioned church in town, but now it has the addition of sea view to it. There is a reason that the chef has won various " Best of..." in a row, but he would be nothing without his superb management and service team. A MUST when on the coast.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cpt_Dynamite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A must experience when in Walvis!”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

This restaurant is by far my favourite restaurant in Namibia, and a must visit when you are in the coast. The food is nothing less then outstanding. Once you taste it, you will always find an excuse to go back to Walvis. Try the baked oyster as starter. It is simply delicious!!! Enjoy every bite of this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaMedeiros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Thoroughly average ”
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

We had pretty high expectations after having read all the reviews. Boo. Meal was average, fish bland and overcooked, prawns were okay but nothing special. Desert was quite nice except we couldn't cut into the ice cream with our knives, which was unexpected. The decor is truly hideous. So bad. It seemed like we were in a roadside shebeen. Plating of meals was kitsch! It's all okay, but we just really didn't see what people were raving about. Did we mention the horrible decor?

Helpful?
Thank nyx_sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

I when there when I was living in South Korea, so my perception and expectation of the western food was very bias. We had a beautiful gourmet Kingslip and certainly of the best I ever had. They have a terrace that during the daytime provides a great view. They had also a good selection of southafrican wines.
The food was really outstanding. great place to have dinner.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaricaor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lyon des sable also viewed

Walvis Bay, Erongo Region
Walvis Bay, Erongo Region
 
Walvis Bay, Erongo Region
Walvis Bay, Erongo Region
 
Walvis Bay, Erongo Region
Walvis Bay, Erongo Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing