We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very special place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alternative Space B & B
Ranked #12 of 49 Swakopmund B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
München
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very special place”
Reviewed October 13, 2010

We stayed two nights at this B&B which is located at the outskirts of the city (close to the dunes) in a very quite area, 15 min walk to town (if available, the owner offers a ride to town). Very quite and relaxing place with a nice patio. The breakfast is provided on a self service basis with plenty of choices; the kitchen can also be used for self catering for lunch/dinner. The rooms and the common area are very comfortable and clean. Perfekt palce to stay in Swakopmund.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Austin02006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    21
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
50
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gorgonzola
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2010

The Alternative Space is really alternative and very nice. Our room was just fine, everything was perfect. A communal area with fireplace and a reading room.
We had a great stay there.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sara-simoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2010

Located on the edge of town but a safe and easy 30 minute walk. However, the owner will drop you into town on an evening which was fantastic!

A truely 'alternative space', interesting accommodation, comfortable, great breakfast and honesty bar. Would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StarBrightYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2009

The Alternative Space is THE place to stay in Swakopmund. The proprieters created a truly inspirational, artistic space that feels like a home away from home. Every detail was considered and every comfort indulged -- all for a great price. If possible, ask for the large room off of the communal lounge; it is twice as big as the other rooms and has an amazing cast iron bathtub. Great for couples, solo travellers or business people. Super chilled, cozy and relaxing. In fact, my favorite place I stayed in my 3 months of travels in Africa.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathyk03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2009

Co-owned by an architect, & it shows. The house is beautifully designed & landscaped (although the artwork might be an acquired taste!). The kitchen is clean & well-stocked, the breakfast plentiful & the service excellent. Although the guest house is about a mile from the town centre, it's easily walkable & the owners will go out of their way to offer you lifts. A dune field is located just behind the guest house & is an excellent spot for a sundowner.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WandererSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2009

Located in a residential street in Swakop - architect owner lives a couple of doors away. Communal area with music, beer and log fire to relax in the evenings. Excellent value for money. Owner organises parking arrangements in secure area to ensure you can leave on time in the morning and are not blocked in. We did the kayak trip down at Walvis Bay with Jeanne, seals, dolphins etc. Very highly recommended, we were the only 2 on the tour. Probably need a car to get into Swakop town as it is a 20 minute walk but plenty of parking so no problem - just a couple of dollars to the parking attendants.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denhamania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahoa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2008

Very nice spot, friendly and helpful owners who went out of their way to make us feel comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve_and_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
1.1 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
358 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
247 reviews
3.2 mi away
Atlantic Villa Boutique Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Gecko Ridge Guesthouse
Gecko Ridge Guesthouse
#5 of 35 in Swakopmund
71 reviews
1.3 mi away
Skeleton Beach backpackers
Skeleton Beach backpackers
#8 of 35 in Swakopmund
121 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sandcastle Apartments
Sandcastle Apartments
#3 of 35 in Swakopmund
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alternative Space B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alternative Space B & B

Property: Alternative Space B & B
Address: 167 Anton Lubowski Street, Swakopmund, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Swakopmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alternative Space B & B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Alternative Space B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alternative Space Hotel Swakopmund
Alternative Space Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing