We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alternative Space B & B
Ranked #14 of 50 Swakopmund B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We only stayed one night and wanted to stay longer but sadly they were fully booked. A great place. We loved it as did our 8 year old daughter. Slipper bath in our room, electric blankets on the beds (great in Winter). It just felt so comfortable. The fire was lit in the lounge, we put music on the stereo, grabbed a drink from the bar and sat, read, chatted and put our feet up :)

Thanks for the welcome and sharing such a beautiful space with all the best finishing touches and attention to detail!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 99 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2012

We spent two nights at Alternative Space and we felt like at home, we had dinner with Sybille and Frank, and with the other guests,
it is nice to feel like at home in namibia..!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Francesca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We only had a one night stay, we had the cool family room in the back; time there was too short! They are awesome hosts, very caring and welcoming! Very nice, help yourself breakfast. We enjoyed the great architecture and art very much!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pem2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We spent 3 nights in the family room at back and slept very well. Had lovely easy breakfast in the morning which was great for our kids. 30 minute walk to sea and town. Frenus arranged sandboarding for our girls and yes, he does have a opinion on everything.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shanekiernan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

You wouldn't expect such a charming lodge in this area of Swakopmund. We stayed with 3 couples and each in different equipped rooms, very nice. There are some pictures of the hostess and some art of the children. It's quite housy.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaatje72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2010

We had a great two night stay here. If you read the two or three reviews prior to this one you will get a good feel for the Alternative Space; its difficult to add much to what they say.
We were lucky in that we got the large room at the back of the building, which used to be Sybille & Frenus' living quarters, so it's one of the largest B&B or hotel rooms I've stayed in. The Alternative Space may not appeal to everyone - as others have commented on here, if you don't like art showing (tasteful) nudity then this place may not be for you. if you want someone to cook breakfast for you then it may not be for you either. However, there is a large choice of food at breakfast to compensate for preparing it yourself.
I could only find one minor fault with the place - secure car parking inside the walls at night can be cramped and difficult and if you are the first in you will be the last out so it makes an early morning getaway more difficult.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmr1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2010

We stayed here for 8 non-consecutive nights to relax and unwind after several short trips in the area. The Space is alternative, with 4 rooms in different shapes and sizes, lovely restful communal areas, and interesting artwork and photographs of mostly naked subjects, all very tastefully presented, of course. If you feel comfortable with your room-mate in the bathroom, ask for the large open concept room at the back of the property.
The hosts, Frenus and Sibylle are at your service any time of day. They will come running (literally) from their home 2 doors away, downtown, or from a friend's house. Be sure to start a conversation with Frenus (maybe when he is driving you to town or the car rental place) - he is open and opinionated on a variety of topics concerning Swakopmund and Namibia in general.
A large serve-your-self breakfast is available until the last guest eats, so you can sleep in and not worry about missing breakfast as is the case in most other B&Bs. There is also a small kitchen that the guests may use to cook the breakfast bacon and eggs or a light dinner if you do not wish to go to town. There is also wine, beer and soft drinks available at very reasonable prices.
All in all this Space is a great value and the 25 minute easy and safe walk to town to dinner is a plus, not a deterrent. Day trips will pick up at The Space and even stop to chat with Frenus. It seems everyone knows Frenus! If you're in Swakop, we would recommend you get to know him too.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RightAngleTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
1.5 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#5 of 19 in Swakopmund
273 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pension A la Mer
Hotel Pension A la Mer
#13 of 19 in Swakopmund
106 reviews
1.5 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sandcastle Apartments
Sandcastle Apartments
#3 of 38 in Swakopmund
153 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gecko Ridge Guesthouse
Gecko Ridge Guesthouse
#5 of 38 in Swakopmund
78 reviews
1.2 mi away
Be Still Accommodation
Be Still Accommodation
#7 of 38 in Swakopmund
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alternative Space B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alternative Space B & B

Address: 167 Anton Lubowski Street, Swakopmund, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Swakopmund
Price Range: $63 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alternative Space B & B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Alternative Space B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alternative Space Hotel Swakopmund
Alternative Space Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing