We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Superb scenic view over the Namib Desert and Swakopmund

Whilst touring Namibia for over 2 weeks and staying at Swakopmund for 2 nights during tour, I... read more

Reviewed July 11, 2019
sourosircar
,
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Amazing afternoon

First time in a small plane and hopefully will not be the last! Brilliant 2 1/2 flight from... read more

Reviewed November 14, 2019
David D
,
Purley, United Kingdom
Read all 81 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Swakopmund
from $98.57
More Info
from $56.42
More Info
from $30.77
More Info
from $98.57
More Info
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveler rating
51
13
5
4
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
51
13
5
4
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great pilot skeleton coast namib desert two hours hour flight experienced pilot walvis bay amazing flight sand dunes an amazing experience salt pans once in a lifetime sandwich harbour day trip diamond plane cessna
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 81 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2016

We went on the Skeleton coast scenic flight with Eagle Eye Aviation. They were very professional. The pilot explained the route to us before the flight and during the flight they communicated with us regarding the locations. This was an unforgettable experience. The prices were really fair and I would most certainly go on the other routes.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank _milanerobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2016

My family of four did the 2.5hour long scenic sossusvlei flight with Eagle Eye Aviation and must say we had a swell of a time!

We were slightly worried in the morning with the strong winds going on in Swakopmund that the flight would be cancelled in the afternoon. Johan from EEA was extremely responsive with his emails, which made the entire booking process a lot more seamless and fret free.

As arranged we were picked up from our accommodation and taken to the airfield, where the trusty pilot gave us a quick briefing. I've read the reviews before hand, and prepped by travelling group that the flight would get hot and perhaps slightly turbulent. The heat was present but not unbearable, and I found myself carried away by the sights seen instead!

There isn't a particular side that is better for the views than another, although the seat on the right gets a larger proportion of the desert view than the seat on the left. The pilot was great at ensuring both sides of the aircraft had a fair share of the views. I thought this was a perfect finish to our Sossusvlei experience, having seen it on land the day before.

This could possibly be the best scenic flight we've ever done, and certainly will recommend it to anyone travelling to Swakopmund! The only flipside is that it certainly costs quite a bit, as the entire plane has to be chartered. This is great if you're travelling in a small group of 5, but possibly not ideal if you're travelling alone.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank jakehyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2016

I booked our scenic flight with Eagle Eye Aviation six weeks in advance, because I knew we would be on a tight schedule and I wanted to surprise my boy friend for his birthday. At first, Johan from Eagle Eye appeared to be very friendly and he contacted me various times to confirm the flight. Two days before the flight was scheduled, I received an email suggesting that we could take the flight with some other people, which would lower the costs. We agreed. However, to our suprise, we then received an email that 'the weather conditions were bad', so that we had to reschedule. Of course, this wasn't true, since the weather was excellent and we could see many scenic flights departing from the airport. When confronted with this fact, Johan admitted that he already had given our seats to another couple. Since we were in Swakopmund for only one day, he could not provide us with another option. When asked for other options, he never replied nor did he apologize.

Date of experience: May 2016
7  Thank JM H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2016 via mobile

We had never done a scenic flight before, and this trip exceeded all expectations. We did the 2.5 hours one to sossusvlei in the afternoon. To see the dunes and the scale of the desert was awe inspiring!
The flight felt very safe. I would say the best seat for pictures was the rear right hand side one, but you need to take care when composing your shots not to get the reflection from the glass. That said I got a few clear shots, but to be honest, it's the experience that will live with me forever.
The plane was warm, but hey you're traveling in a small metal box in full sunlight over a desert! Wear light clothes and fan yourself with the safety card! We were also given water on take off.
Highly recommended

Date of experience: April 2016
1  Thank sparkybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2016 via mobile

We had a flight in this company with two friendly pilots, going South of Swakopmund over the desert.
We saw the uranio mine, the three diamond fields and above all, the hundreds of seals, the thousands of flamingos and the two skeletons of ships
It was a nice and safe flight

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank NoloCordeiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews