We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent villa and great service”
Review of The Stiltz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Stiltz
Ranked #8 of 50 Swakopmund B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed in Villa 2 for 2 night. The decor is really great and the villa is huge - on two floors with 2 huge bathrooms and 3 bed rooms. Very nicely decorated and fresh flowers every day. As many other reviewers have commented, it does get cold in the rooms. Our friends stayed in "normal" rooms and despite fans it did get cold and dark in the rooms.
The cold does come from the weather in Swakop though- with fog and wind it does get chilly in the evenings and night.
Breakfast was really good and varied. The kids got pancakes and fruit salad. Not only the usual eggs and bacon.
The lady in the reception was awesome. She helped us book all our activities and talked to the car rental company when we had problems with our rental car.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Axel08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 263 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2014

We planned our 2 night stay in Swakopmund, and booked the villa. We thought that it was just two connecting rooms, but we were pleasantly surprised by the outcome. The villa was beautiful, providing two outdoor areas, 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a living room, dining room and view of the sea. It was spectacular and the price was very low and affordable. Our family would go back anytime and we definitely recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: Villa rooms are AMAZING definitely recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Louiza V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay and was very glad that we did not stay in one of the "Hotels" in town. Views from our cabin were wonderful. Breakfast is excellent. Only issue we had was the lighting in the room - I know that they want to create a romantic atmosphere (which is great) but we still need to be able to read and see things in the cabin - even one really good floor lamp would be helpful.
Free wifi was appreciated - keep up the great service.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 113Sheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Stiltz. All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The decor in the chalets is beautiful and the chalets provide every comfort you could want. Free wifi is also a great bonus!
Thanks Stiltz!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Bertybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

The Stiltz was a perfect stop over on our tour of Namibia and provided the opportunity to rest and charge our batteries. From the individualistic locality and building to the decor and facilities we were thoroughly satisified, especially the staff and manager are to be praised for their dilligance and friendeliness.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CHJJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed at The Stiltz for 4 nights in December 2013. The chalets are well equipped and close to the beach. Secure parking, front door locks and raised walkways between chalets make this a very safe option. We had fresh roses in our chalets and this was totally unexpected in Namibia! Breakfasts were great and staff friendly. Chalets are serviced every day, even on Christmas day! Not enough light in the rooms, please install more LED lights.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

The Stiltz is right on the edge of Swakompund, within walking distance to the pier and city centre.

We had the largest villa (2 storey) with 3 bedrooms and two bathrooms. The bathrooms and loos are a little quirky, no windows to be opened, very little artificial light (erratic LEDs) and large windows which had to be partially shuttered to avoid being seen from the outside.

Bedrooms were good, breakfast quality and choice was okay, served by slightly sultry staff.

All in all I had expected more, but would recommend it with a few caveats, nonetheless.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mathias D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
0.8 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
399 reviews
3.7 mi away
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
#5 of 19 in Swakopmund
329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
432 reviews
3.7 mi away
Atlantic Villa Boutique Guesthouse
3.1 mi away
Sea Breeze Guesthouse
Sea Breeze Guesthouse
#3 of 50 in Swakopmund
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stiltz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stiltz

Address: P O Box 4045, Swakopmund, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Swakopmund
Price Range: $106 - $454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Stiltz 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique in every aspect, staying at The Stiltz offers the most spectacular views in Swakopmund overlooking either the Atlantic Ocean, the river-bed, the sand dunes and the bird rich lagoon at the river mouth ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Stiltz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stiltz Hotel Swakopmund

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing