We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of town but very nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Swakopmund
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Have been there for the second time after almost ten yrs. The hotel is now bigger but still a nice place (with guarded parking, which is a plus, though parking lots are small) as it is located right next to the beach, which is the crucial plus, some km north of Swakop (which is a minus).

The restaurant was closed while we've been there, and -very odd- their espresso-machine is not for breakfast use, not even if you offer to pay.
Bf is good, though not special, service is friendly but slow. Our room was spacious and the terrace facing the garden and Atlantic, we would chose it again.

We've been there in low-season, but prices were not negociable. We were given internet-access f.o.c. but no further discount.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vielreisende R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 321 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

Small scale hotel, all rooms are facing the sea , are spacious and well equipped. Very clean. Those on the first floor have a patio where you can relax with a glass of wine and enjoy the sound of the waves. PS. no a/c.
The restaurant (the wreck) is awesome. Service is exceptional and their wine temperature is perfect.The Presentation of the plates is a delight for the eyes. You would think that you are in a french restaurant (this is not the case) . The food is extremely good.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

A nice, clean lodge in a quiet street about 10 minutes from Swakopmund CBD. Very quaint layout with rooms along oddly angled passages. There are about 7 single rooms, all equipped with all of the comforts from home, and giving a pleasant hotel experience. There are 3 or 4 "suites" which sleep more than 2, and up to 6 (I think). I had no expectations, and I was pleasantly surprised. A little on the expensive side, but the morning walk on the beach made me forget about the price. The breakfast at The Wreck restaurant was average to mediocre, slow service and cold coffee!!
WI Fi access is speedy, but also a bit on the expensive side. N$40 for 60 MB. I will go back, though.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Rude, arrogant Managers & Owner on arrival. Poor room nothing like the pics. We checked out in less than an hour & had been booked in for 12 nights. The location was beautiful and we did enjoy an lovely meal with a beautiful view of the ocean at The Wreck Restaurant at the end of our visit to Swakopmund. We did go on to enjoy a fabulous holiday at another lodge.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TraceyOwgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

When you book a hotel on line.. you have to trust the photos.. when the photos show the honeymoon suite (but don't say it is the honeymoon suite).. you expect your room to look like that.. my disappointment was obvious! The bath with the gorgeous round window and the view of the sea turned out to be a grim musty little room without any windows at all! When we expressed our surprise to the Booking Manager, Ariane van Rensburg.. oh my word!! I have NEVER been spoken to like that in my life before, let alone by someone who is to provide me a service.. after an abusive conversation she told us that if we get out of her hotel we can have our full deposit for the the 14 days back.. I have NEVER left a place so fast before.. never ever again! The restaurant was nice..

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank AdamEdge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed here a couple of nights on our way through Namibia and immediately fell in love with Swakopmund. The hotel is right on the beach in a quiet part of town, conveniently located, well maintained and clean. We were lucky enough to have the two storey apartment overlooking the beach. The top floor bedroom with spa bath was very romantic and luxurious. The manager Manti was is an absolute professional, so helpful and knowledgable, nothing was a problem. The breakfast buffet in the wreck restaurant was excellent and had great variety with hot meals cooked to order. We will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klokani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

i was at the lodge for my birthday in November and i had the best time ever..the rooms are so superb and the waitrons in the dining room are the best more especially in the afternoon and dinner except the breakfast team, they are clueless when it comes to service but overall its the best place to be at..

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thapelo l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
3.6 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#5 of 19 in Swakopmund
274 reviews
2.9 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
374 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Swakopmund Sands Hotel
Swakopmund Sands Hotel
#9 of 19 in Swakopmund
117 reviews
2.8 mi away
Swakopmund Hotel
Swakopmund Hotel
#8 of 19 in Swakopmund
284 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Deutsches Haus
Hotel Deutsches Haus
#10 of 19 in Swakopmund
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Lodge Swakopmund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Lodge Swakopmund

Address: 1 Stint St | Vogelstrand, Swakopmund, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Swakopmund
#5 Romantic Hotel in Swakopmund
Price Range: $126 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach Lodge Swakopmund 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beach Lodge Swakopmund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Lodge Swakopmund Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing