We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay for a weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Swakopmund
Certificate of Excellence
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay for a weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

My wife and me stayed at this hotel for a romantic getaway over a long weekend. We really enjoyed our stay. The staff were friendly and professional, and the grounds and rooms were impeccably maintained and clean. We were impressed with the decor, the furniture and fittings, as well as the secure parking and constant security guard presence. The hotel is located right on the beach, but about 5 minutes drive from the center of town. The beach is not suitable for swimming, but the area is quiet and picturesque. The rooms do not have air-conditioning, although this is seldom required for Swakopmund. The hotel has a second floor restaurant with a wonderful view and good food.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pieter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    101
    41
    12
    1
See reviews for
74
124
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

This hotel has some good points and some bad...

The good:

Location and view right on the beach is great
Love the quirky porthole shaped windows
The restaurant is pretty good

The bad:
The rooms are dated and the place has a "travel lodge" feel to it
There is not much to walk to from this hotel - taxi or car into town is required

For what we needed it was perfectly adequate but it is not a luxury stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn3777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

We came here for the first time in September 2009 for our honeymoon. This place is really amazing, all rooms have views of the ocean which is on your doorstep. Tranquil seaside setting with their own restaurant that serves wonderful breakfasts and dinners.

The best is to sit on your balcony and watch the beautiful Namibian sunsets over a bottle of wine, then take a nice long stroll along the beach.

I can highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: If you are there for a special event as for the honeymoon suite, it has the most beautiful bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinStyle22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

This place rocked. I only wish I had a few extra days in Swakopmund to truly enjoy it. Fab customer service, great restaurant and large, comfy rooms, right near the waves. I was visiting the Beach Lodge in winter, when there was a lovely chill in the air and fantastic sunsets. Even though this place is a bit farther out of town, it's well worth it (and Taxi services are available). No complaints!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjmegy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed at the Beach Lodge for 3 nights, and were highly impressed with the cleanliness, comfort, genuine hospitality of the staff and of course, deliciousness of The Wreck restaurant. Definitely one of the best choices for foodies in town! Having access to the beach but being slightly out of the main bustle of Swakopmund couldn't have been a better fit for our needs. Thank you to Andre and everyone at the Beach Lodge who made our stay so pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giles and Alice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

The Beach Lodge is situated right on the beach so has a great aspect. We had a first floor two bed apartment with balcony facing the sea. The accommodation was very clean and modern with quirky features like circular windows to mimic the porthole of a ship. We had initially thought this would have two separate bedrooms but the doube bed was in an open plan living area just off the kitchen so privacy was a slight issue but we coped.
We had dinner in the hotel restaurant and had a really great meal. Top quality food, presentation, large portions. A bit formal but great value.

Room Tip: If you need to have two separate bedrooms you would be better booking two separate rooms rather than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noordhoek, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

We had a very pleasant two night stay at Beach Lodge. We stayed in a family room on the ground floor, so had a veranda overlooking the beautiful beach, and could take a stroll on the long, sandy beach. Falling asleep at night to the sounds of the waves was blissful. The service from the breakfast staff can definitely be better - it's not bad or rude, but really not friendly or attentive either. I would say the accommodation at Beach Lodge is definitely fair value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solospiral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
3.6 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#5 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
2.9 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Swakopmund Sands Hotel
Swakopmund Sands Hotel
#9 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hansa Hotel
Hansa Hotel
#3 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
2.8 mi away
Swakopmund Hotel
Swakopmund Hotel
#7 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Lodge Swakopmund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Lodge Swakopmund

Property: Beach Lodge Swakopmund
Address: 1 Stint St | Vogelstrand, Swakopmund, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Swakopmund
#5 Romantic Hotel in Swakopmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach Lodge Swakopmund 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Beach Lodge Swakopmund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Lodge Swakopmund Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing