We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Surprise”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Swakopmund
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Pension d'Avignon
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Swakopmund
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Surprise”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We booked 4 nights at the hotel D,avignon , we were meet with friendly staff, clean rooms, of which many are not attacted to the Hotel but out the back, they were more like self contained units and provided heaps of space for all of us. Breakfasts were yum and when we had to head of early they provided us with a lunch pack in replacement. One of the real features of the hotel is its so close to town, literally just around the corner. For value for money , quiet and close to town this hotel ticks all the right boxs, Thanks Hotel D,Avignon for an enjoyable stay Regards Baxy Family from New Zealand

Room Tip: ASk for a room out the back by the pool, ask if its operating as the pool was not in use when we wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillip679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    28
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
13
18
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We were making a last minute reservation and needed two rooms. One double and one single. The double was big and spacious while the single was small and sort of spartan, though it was perfectly adequate. Too cool to use the back patio which would've been a bonus. It was right around the corner from a good restaurant, Kochi's where we ate well. Back to the Pension d'Avignon...next morning got up and went to the airy dining room and was greated by a nicely set table with tablecloth and a buffet of a multitude of delicious breads, jams, hot hard boiled eggs, cheeses, salamis, olives, cereals and other items. Cooked eggs et cet were avaiable for a very reasonable charge. Coffee pot was filled, hot and pretty decent. It was one of the best breakfasts we had during our stay.
They advertize free wifi, but its really only available in the main office room and it expires after just a short time...like 20 or 30 minutes as I recall...that was a disappointment.
Overall a nice place to stay with a very good breakfast.

Room Tip: ask to see what they have available and look at room first...some are bigger than others
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sethb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I originally intended to stay just one night, but the price was the lowest in town and there is actually a lot to see and do in Swakopmund, so the hotel makes a great base from which to explore the area. I stayed in a single room #6 which was just large enough and had a small balcony out back. The manager is wonderful to chat with, and the breakfast was excellent, with pots of coffee, local olives, muesli, cheeses and meats. Although the location is just off the centre of town, the facilities are secure with a gated parking lot. The only drawbacks are the hollow doors which are easily slammed at night and the annoyance of having to pay for wifi access. But at this price point, one cannot complain....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed here for 10 days, the rooms were great and the location was excellent. breakfast was (average) however given the price one can't really complain. The rooms were a good size and serviced daily. Unfortunately no iron, kettle or bar fridge is provided which would have made the longer stay more enjoyable. That being said as mentioned given the price and location it served us well and would have no hesitation recommending it.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeewolde, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and it was a very good place to explore Swakopmund. It's next to the city centre, so everything is within walking distance. The bed and shower were good and the room was clean. Only negative thing was that the building is a bit old and noisy. We did hear the staff preparing for breakfast and guests leaving early in the morning. Breakfast was fine also. And the owner didn't seem really friendly, at first she didn't even look up when we walked in, but she explained everything clear during check in and after that we didn't see her anymore the next days, which was ok for us. Also other staff was not super friendly, but it was ok.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This is a neat old building and the rooms are lovely. It has the lowest price of any guest house or pension in Swakopmund. Unfortunately, our short stay (we checked out earlier than planned, after only one night) was spoiled because the owner / manager displayed a very unfriendly attitude. The next morning at breakfast, her staff was equally unpleasant. This could be a nice place if the entire staff had an attitude adjustment!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monphrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

The hotel is located in a quiet street just outside of the city centre, within easy walking distance of the main sights and the shopping area. The room was nice and spacious and very clean. The breakfast buffet was one of the best I've ever had in this class of hotel.
The owner was friendly and helpful. The only criticism I'd have is that the there is a surcharge for heating in the room.
But still, at the price they charge per room, a good mid-range option in Swakopmund.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyprusguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
0.0 mi away
BON Hotel Swakopmund
BON Hotel Swakopmund
#11 of 19 in Swakopmund
53 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
254 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
#5 of 19 in Swakopmund
301 reviews
0.0 mi away
Swakopmund Hotel
Swakopmund Hotel
#7 of 19 in Swakopmund
272 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Deutsches Haus
Hotel Deutsches Haus
#8 of 19 in Swakopmund
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pension d'Avignon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension d'Avignon

Property: Hotel Pension d'Avignon
Address: 25 L. Amathila Str. | P.O.Box 1222, Swakopmund, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Swakopmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 138
Also Known As:
d Avignon Hotel Swakopmund

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing