We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Position and Accomodation in Swakopmund”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
African Pride Burning Shore
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in Swakopmund
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Stayed at Burning Shore for 3 nights. The rooms are spacious and clean. The friendly staff make you feel welcome and are pleased to assit. Excellent sea views from the bedroom and balcony. The bedroom linnen and Towels were crisp and changed daily. Restaurant offers a good menu which is reasonably priced. What a great place!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisSw312583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koet, General Manager at African Pride Burning Shore, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2012

Dear Chris,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding GUEST expectations. Your comments are therefore much appreciated, and we hope to have the priviledge of welcoming you to Protea Hotel Burning Shore again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 51 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2011

Yes, this is the place Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie chose when they stayed in Namibia to welcome their first child together. This is a bed and breakfast in a great location righ on the beach, but quite a drive from swakopmund or walvis bay,the latter not worth a visit, and the former a quaint German town. The rooms were spacious albeit in need of a renovation. The carpets in the common areas threadbare ,the overall maintenance not up to standard .the hosts were nice and helpful ,but the location is what may put people off. You need a car to get around as taxis are unreliable. All tours and excursions recommended and booked were very good.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traceller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Actually set in the toytown development of Landstrand, some 15km north of the town and roughly half way to Swakopmund, this place hit the headlines when it bizarrely became the spot in which Brad and Angelina decided to stay whilst having their first child.

As a frequent visitor to namibia and particularly Swakopmund over the last several years, I decided that due to all the hype surrounding this place I would give it a try. The hype being the fact that Brad and Agelina stayed there a few years back for the week. The Hotel itself is set right on the beach front, but it is in a really strange area of development, which kind of resembles Toytown. The area is quite upmarket place, with lots of upmarket holiday homes surrounding it, but there is nothing to do other than walk the beach. If you want to get anything you need to drive 20 minutes into Swakopmund itself.

The Hotel accommodation is very comfortable and is comprised of five luxury suites, the one i rented even had a jacuzzi. Downstairs there is an comfortable lounge and dining area which has a garden. The food and service were pretty good, but you can only handle the same Restaurant a couple of times, hence the need to get out and go into town. Which by the way has some excellent Restaurant options.

Although it is a comfortable and reliable option, i cant see myself staying there again, as I much prefer to base myself in nearby Swakopmund.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms with great sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank James05061957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Was in Namibia for two months...started and ended my stay at the Burning Shore. The bad hype is behind this property- excellent, friendly staff, lovely accomodations, and a great restaurant to boot! Exactly mid-way between Swakopmund and Walvis Bay in an area known as Langstrand, an upscale residential beach community. Dune riding and kayaking very nearby. Rates were not extremely high, as might be expected of a beach-side resort of this caliber, in this part of the world. Can't say enough about how attentive everyone was.

Room Tip: Each room has its own charm. I enjoyed the Bay Room, just above the entrance to the restaurant. Kind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank deanwhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koet, Manager at African Pride Burning Shore, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write your review upon your return. It was our pleasure to accommodate you and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us.
We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Burning Shore again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We had such a wonderful stay at Burning Shore! The staff is professional and friendly, the establishment is clean & tidy, the security was great, and we felt really at home there! The breakfast was delicious, with a wide variety of treats to choose from! If you're looking for warm hospitality, a home away from home, and a gem in the desert, THIS IS IT!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LukasChantelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2011

Service whas absolutely wonderful
The rooms just great
Great location - cant ask for better
Everything just amazing, the staff friendly and helping.
Food, beverages and room service - wonderful
There is nothing threats or anything bad about The Burning Shore

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annamarie7412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

We visited The Burning Shore for holidays a week ago and we were surprised after reading all the bad reviews. We enjoyed our stay and were very happy with all the services and we dont have any complaints. Please dont see it as the Brangelina five star hotel, just see it as a normal Namibian hotel for normal people who can afford to stay there.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roeleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
0.0 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
286 reviews
0.0 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
399 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
#5 of 19 in Swakopmund
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Swakopmund Hotel
Swakopmund Hotel
#8 of 19 in Swakopmund
291 reviews
0.0 mi away
Swakopmund Sands Hotel
Swakopmund Sands Hotel
#9 of 19 in Swakopmund
119 reviews
0.0 mi away
BON Hotel Swakopmund
BON Hotel Swakopmund
#11 of 19 in Swakopmund
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Pride Burning Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride Burning Shore

Address: Longbeach 152/4th Street, Swakopmund, Namibia (Formerly Protea Hotel by Marriott Swakopmund Burning Shore)
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Swakopmund
#7 Luxury Hotel in Swakopmund
Price Range: $86 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — African Pride Burning Shore 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the shifting sands of the Namib Desert swirl in time to an ageless rhythm, this hotel rises above the wilderness in an oasis of calm like a soothing balm upon the scorched earth. It is here, on the edge of one of the world's largest sand dunes, that visitors pay homage to the stark beauty of the Namib and the mighty expanse of the Atlantic. African Pride Burning Shore offers four standard rooms, three luxury rooms, four superior rooms and one suite. The hotel is located on the beachfront at Longbeach, only 15 km from either Swakopmund or Walvis Bay and 20 minutes from the nearest Regional Airport. It's a hotel that complements your travel style. Dine at our in-house restaurant that serves exquisite cuisine or sit down for your favorite drink in the cocktail bar. Guests can also head to the deck for alfresco dining with direct access to the beach or indulge in activities from quad biking to dolphin cruises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your African Pride Burning Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burning Shore Swakopmund
Burning Shore Hotel Swakopmund

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing