We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceptionally friendly”
Review of Sam's Giardino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sam's Giardino
Ranked #11 of 50 Swakopmund B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“exceptionally friendly”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

rating from a person with broad experience from travelling in Africa:

exceptionally friendly and helpful
very nice rooms - especially the family room
refreshing garden
cute dog
good internet connection

Room Tip: family room is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaia_e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    55
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
37
100
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Augsburg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2013

If you visit Swakop don`t miss sams giardino.
Sam has the best wine cellar all over Namibia and he knows his wines.
His garden is a tropic rememberance in desert sourroundings.
Sams Giardino is a proffesionally owner managed small place with a very personal touch.
ernst and martina


  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ernst P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We don't really understand why Swakopmund exists! More of that later.

After a bright but slightly chilly day exploring the lagoon at Walvis Bay we did not expect to drive into fog on the short drive up to Swakopmund. At Sam's we received a rather brusk reception followed by being shown a very cold room. Heating was a plate radiator which took a long time to warm up and as we were not prepared for such cold conditions, we were in the tropics after all, we were not in the best of humour. We decided to eat in and take Sam's five course dinner which was a mistake as the food was not the gourmet experience we expected but a rather ordinary affair. Sam himself warmed once we started asking questions about the town and its people, frequently putting his coffee cup down at our table and sitting down to converse with us. The second night we decided to eat out which we did at the end of the pier with some wonderful fish - kingclip - but there was no heat there either so we did not linger.

However the bread provided at breakfast was to die for. Perhaps one good thing to come out of the fog is that the moisture conditions makes for better quality bread. Lovely German rye bread along with a wide selection of meats, fruit, etc, and eggs cooked as you like them.

As to Swakopmund it seems to have very little going for it. It sits in the middle of the desert shrouded in fog for most of the year with very few on land attractions. If you want to see the wildlife of which the area has plenty than staying in Walvis Bay would be a far better bet. We wanted to see the Welwitscia plants and duly paid for a permit to go there but no one wanted to see it so rather a waste of time finding the location of the place to pay. The plants themselves for non botanists are not very exciting but for myself they were one of the reason why I wanted to go to Namibia.

All in all, apart from the Welwitscias we could easily have given Swakopmind a miss.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank felixstowejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

What can we say about our stay at Sam's Giardino other than how much we enjoyed it. We were welcome to the B&B by one of the staff members who made us feel immediately at home. We later met Sam and his very charming personality. We were able to experience the wine tasting our first night which is highly recommended. He initially lets you test your olfactory acumen and then your are thrown into wine bliss. We also had the opportunity to have the prix fix dinner: what a treat! Everything was perfect from the table to the setting to the food. It was surprisingly romantic even with a table of about 12 people dining at the same time. Both mornings, almost at the end of our breakfast (which was delicious) he made a point of sitting with us and having a nice conversation.

During our stay we were also recommended some activities and a great restaurant for dinner. Both recommendations were excellent!!!

The only thing we wish is to have had another night or two in Swakopmund!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OffTheBeatenPath2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

After 3 weeks camping in the wilds Kaokaland and Damaraland, Sam's Garden was a refreshing and peaceful return back into the human race... we stayed 3 nights. With over 10 years in the area, Sam has very good knowledge on what to do and a very relaxed and engaging way of sharing this with his guests. We ate supper at the Tug and Kuchi's in town, and had our final meal with Sam on our last night... magnificent food, the best of the lot (Breakfasts good too) thanks to his dedicated staff and his Cordon Bleu chef background.
As a parting shot, Sam gave us some rolls as "padkos" for our long haul back to Johannesburg... nice touch Sam; wishing you and Beethoven all the very best.
Mark and Sue

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank African_LandCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamsGiardino, Owner at Sam's Giardino, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your comment. Now summer is coming in Swakopmund and our garden is looking very nice with all kind of flower and many birds are breeding and building nice houses.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dendermonde, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Sam's. Sam and Beethoven (a lovely Berner Sennen) are great hosts. Sam pays a lot of personal attention to his guests answering all your questions about the area. He's also very helpful in making reservations. Breakfast is very nice with a Swiss touch and Sam doesn't even mind if you take a sandwich for the road.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilde D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Great selection of wines! Unique place to drink special South African wines by the glass (Hamilton Russel, De Toren Fusion V, etc). Good breakfast. Rooms indeed slightly old fashioned, but clean and the bed is ok. But because Beethoven is around, the dog's hair is also around... The garden is nice, green, cool and a nice place to read a book, while enjoying a nice glass of wine.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irene2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
0.9 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
259 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
384 reviews
1.0 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
#5 of 19 in Swakopmund
304 reviews
0.8 mi away
Swakopmund Luxury Suites
Swakopmund Luxury Suites
#2 of 36 in Swakopmund
135 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sea Breeze Guesthouse
Sea Breeze Guesthouse
#3 of 50 in Swakopmund
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sam's Giardino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sam's Giardino

Property: Sam's Giardino
Address: 89 Lubowski Ave., Swakopmund 0000, Namibia
Phone Number:
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Swakopmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sam's Giardino 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the Giardino Experience surrounded by an intimate atmosphere and creative spirit - from the wine cellar filled with the Cape`s finest and candle-light gourmet dinners to libraries of books and travel info. Our tranquil gardens invite you to relax over sundowners, after exhilarating excursions, while our comfort rooms decorated in mostly natural materials ensure that you feel pampered even in your sleep. The Giardino is a haven to those who love all the good things in life ... and Bernese Mountain Dogs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sam's Giardino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing