We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and amazing service”
Review of Sam's Giardino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sam's Giardino
Ranked #10 of 48 Swakopmund B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food and amazing service”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Spent 3 nights at Sams and Beethovens place and I justed loved it. Sam is the best host and Beethoven is definitely takeing good care of the public relation part. Thx for a good winetasting and a nice stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitewaterluksus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    54
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
36
99
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

The gardens were lovely, the food was nice, in particular the swiss muesli and myriad of Jams! The whole place felt a little too austere for my liking, I found the piped in Mahler a bit much!
Sam is obviously a font of knowlege for wine. I was suprised that he permitted cigar smoking at the bar, though pleasantly the smell did not linger.
The lack of Tea and coffee making facilities in the room was dissappointing.
More suited for an older crowd.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank two_boots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heemstede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2011

This hotel is run by Swiss management and is exellent. When you like a good glass of wine please go to this hotel, the best South African wines are available for reasonable prices. Don´t forget to have a Malt Whiskey , Sam can offer you all sorts. In his restaurant they serve a 5 courses mael. Marvelous.

Room Tip: ground floor on the garden Clean, cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lexwinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
166 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2010

Spent 3 nights here. Sam is very good host in all ways. Breakfast more than adequate. Dinner (not included) extra delicious! Rooms are large. Quiet location. Walked to town but a bit away. Parking off street. Safe in room. Free internet. Enjoyed Sam's dog but he is not intrusive. Sam knows everyone and we were not surprised when our guide at AfriCat knew him well!

Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DTen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2010

After the beautiful Namib's endless sand and grit, this guesthouse is a truly welcome respite. There is no dust here and the sound of a waterfall outside our comfortable ground-floor room is refreshing. An elegant raised pavilion in the garden is the perfect spot for an afternoon read – or snooze. Sam serves a generous breakfast and freshly prepared five-course dinners may be ordered in advance. There is also an extensive wine cellar. We recommend you eat-in at least once. Beethoven, the newly appointed guest relations manager, will entertain you -- until he falls asleep. (Beethoven is a three-month-old Bernese mountain dog newly arrived in Swakopmund from Leipzig.)

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgiaPeachMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West midlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2009

Sam's attention to detail is evident in everything about this small hotel in a Swakopmund suburb within easy reach of the town centre. Rooms are spacious and well appointed. The breakfasts, with the odd Swiss touches, are excellent. Sam will recommend Swakopmund restaurants for dinner but don't miss an evening in - with his reasonably priced and excellent quality five course dinner

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fudgeroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2009

For the price Sam's was an ideal location for a few days rest during a driving trip around Namibia. Sam himself although slightly quirky was an extremly helpful host arranging restaurant bookings and reconfirming activities for us. Breakfast was very good and we also had supper one evening, which again for the price was very good.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
0.9 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hansa Hotel
Hansa Hotel
#4 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
#1 of 48 in Swakopmund
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.3 mi away
Namib Guesthouse
Namib Guesthouse
#6 of 48 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meike's Guesthouse
Meike's Guesthouse
#2 of 48 in Swakopmund
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sam's Giardino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sam's Giardino

Property: Sam's Giardino
Address: 89 Lubowski Ave., Swakopmund 0000, Namibia
Phone Number:
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Swakopmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sam's Giardino 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the Giardino Experience surrounded by an intimate atmosphere and creative spirit - from the wine cellar filled with the Cape`s finest and candle-light gourmet dinners to libraries of books and travel info. Our tranquil gardens invite you to relax over sundowners, after exhilarating excursions, while our comfort rooms decorated in mostly natural materials ensure that you feel pampered even in your sleep. The Giardino is a haven to those who love all the good things in life ... and Bernese Mountain Dogs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sam's Giardino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing