We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A remnant of Germany in Africa”
Review of Hansa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hansa Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Swakopmund
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2013

A fine place to stay in the centre of Swakopmund, with good service, reasonable food and comfortable rooms. Everything feels a bit dated and rather Germanic, but that is part of the charm of a thoroughly enjoyable and historically relevant residence in an interesting, seaside tourist town.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BennettG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 375 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2013

This is a review for restaurant only. We did not stay at this hotel.

We visited this place during our two day stay at Swakopmund. They close at 2 for lunch and we were late , so we came back for dinner.

The restaurant decor was nice and the server was extremely friendly and attentive. The food was good and looked like it was prepared by a chef who cared. The other servers seemed happy and nice.

We ordered the carrot and onion soup. That was good. The fish dish of the day was nice while the veggie platter was okay. Service tends to get a little slow towards the end so order the check/bill before time.

This place is not as expensive as Tug and also serves better food than them.

I would recommend this place for a good lunch/dinner option at a fair price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank monie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Old style hotel with germanic overtones. Comfortable rooms around a flowered courtyard. Bar and restaurant in a classic European style. Excellent location right in town near a shopping mall street. Breakfast buffet is excellent in the Euro style. You can even get Lattes. Rooms have good sitting spaces and old school tile bathrooms.

Room Tip: First floor courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Located right in the center of Swakopmund, within an easy walk to everything in town, The Hansa Hotel harkens back to bygone days when the German community of Namibia would come to this little town on the South Atlantic to escape the heat of Windhoek. Today it is mostly tourists, but the atmosphere remains. The hotel is very comfortable with a bit of faded glory to it. The food is excellent, and the staff demonstrates a real commitment to service.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skyhoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This beautiful old hotel are in the middle of stunning restaurants, bars and shops. Clean rooms and friendly staff to welcome you. For the big eater this hotel gives you a big breakfast and has a very nice menu for dinner. Food are off a very hi standard. Rooms can do with a upgrade.

Room Tip: Good affordable accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andries_steyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Old colonial building in town centre.
Internet pictures look better than itself.
Pleasant staff but slow.
Only a quick 1 night stay on a drive around Namibia.
It is probably one of the best in the area.
Tourism and new hotel don't seem to have arrived.
Breakfast v v poor.
Nearby restaurants good.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dkkeeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Some older hotels are charming; some, like the Hotel Hansa, just need to be updated. My husband and I spent three nights here recently and as we were moved to a different room on our second night, this review will have two parts.
To begin with we were in a standard room - took a courtyard view room as a result of comments in Tripadvisor reviews about the noise. Had asked for and been told there was a/c in the room but in fact, it turned out there was not. They couldn't accommodate our request, they advised us, because apparently the hotel was full. View out onto the courtyard was pretty - however as people were smoking directly under our window most of the time, we had to keep the windows closed; room quite large though short on closet space. Very stodgy and old fashioned (haven't seen a tv like that for some time - not that you come to Namibia to watch TV but it was indicative of the last time they upgraded). Lighting was also pretty sparse and dim. Bathroom, while quite large had extremely limited counter space and was pretty dismal - could have benefited from some renovations.
Second day they moved us into a huge suite - maybe only the suites have a/c? Although it faced the street, it was certainly not noisy at night - maybe because of the time of year but we certainly didn't notice any noise. The suite was comprised of two large rooms - an oversized lounge area (with a new flat screen TV), a good sized bedroom with much better closet space and a large, somewhat renovated bathroom with lots of counter space.
When we first walked into the suite there was a distinct smoky smell which dissipated after a while. Unfortunately, they don't appear to have non-smoking rooms and everyone seems to smoke everywhere.
The overall atmosphere is rather Germanic and stodgy. Not sure what else there is in terms of places to stay in Swakopmund - maybe consider staying in Walvis Bay.

Room Tip: If yo have to stay here, i would suggest going for one of the suites as they appear to be the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpikeVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
0.3 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
399 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
286 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Deutsches Haus
Hotel Deutsches Haus
#10 of 19 in Swakopmund
249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swakopmund Hotel
Swakopmund Hotel
#8 of 19 in Swakopmund
291 reviews
3.0 mi away
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
#5 of 19 in Swakopmund
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hansa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hansa Hotel

Address: 3 Hendrik Witbooi St., Swakopmund 9000, Namibia
Phone Number:
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Swakopmund
#2 Luxury Hotel in Swakopmund
Price Range: $123 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hansa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hansa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hansa Hotel Swakopmund

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing