We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb vistas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Desert Breeze Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We were a little disconcerted at a distance by the bold colours of the lodge but once inside the compound the design and care taken became apparent. A wonderful welcome from the Margaret ensured the success of our stay. We had room 3 which had a view over the river bed to the dunes beyond - it tempted us to stay and enjoy for many hours. The room was beautifully equipped and a delight. We had a wonderful fish meal at the Tug in town - so good we went back the next night.
A haven of peace and tranquility.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heathraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret M, Front Office Manager at Desert Breeze Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2015

Dear Mr/Mrs
We would just like to thank you for your kind review! we appreciate it very much .
Can you believe it has been almost 3 year ago since you stayed with us ? we hope to see you again some day .


Happy Holidays from the
Desert Breeze Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 229 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is an amazing lodge outside Swakopmund with fantastic view of the dunes.
The rooms are all decorated beautifully and I love the wood features.
The showers are huge and very luxurious. It is great to lie in bed and have the best view ever.
Breakfast was scrumptious and once again the view from the table was breath taking.
I highly reccomend this lodge to any visitor. It is a must!

Thank you to the staff for their warm friendly welcome!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AlisonSwakopmund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret M, Front Office Manager at Desert Breeze Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2015

Dear Mr/Mrs
Thank you for your kind review , can you belive it has been almost 3 year ago :-)
We hope to see you again , and would like to wish you Happy Holidays


From A Sunny Desert Breeze :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

What a wonderful place to stay ! We were received warmly by a cheerful crew and were overwhelmed by the outstandingly original architecture and the placement of the lodge. Only five driving minutes away from Swakopmund you are in the complete silence with a wonderful view from your bedroom into the desert and the sanddunes.
As a sundowner you can enjoy a nice glass of southafrican white or red wine togehter with some biltong.
We will come back !

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katrin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret M, Front Office Manager at Desert Breeze Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2015

Dear Mrs S
Can you believe that it is almost 3 years ago you stayed with us , we would just like to ,
Thank you for your kind review we appreciate it very much!

Hope to see you again soon :-)

From all of our friendly staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tschugger66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Marcel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolodetoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Alexander R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
2 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
406 reviews
3.7 mi away
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
330 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Swakopmund Hotel
Swakopmund Hotel
#8 of 19 in Swakopmund
291 reviews
1.9 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#5 of 19 in Swakopmund
290 reviews
1.6 mi away
Swakopmund Plaza Hotel
Swakopmund Plaza Hotel
#7 of 19 in Swakopmund
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Breeze Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Breeze Lodge

Address: Riverside Avenue, Swakopmund 4045, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Swakopmund
Price Range: $138 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Desert Breeze Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In it’s prime position above the ephemeral Swakop River overlooking a vast and sensuous apricot dune sea, Desert Breeze offers the ultimate desert experience. A short drive from central Swakopmund, its spectacular location provides peace and tranquillity away from the bustling town, and the privilege of savouring the ancient Namib Desert. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Desert Breeze Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing