We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Swakopmund
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Earlier this year on a business trip I had a pleasure of staying at Beach Hotel Swakopmund. Friendly staff, great hosts, fast internet and the most amazing view of Swakopmund. The swimming pool on the roof was an unsuspected pleasant surprise! A true gem in the desert!

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Eben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    93
    35
    3
    0
See reviews for
67
89
18
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sossusvlei
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

My family and I stayed at the beach hotel for 2 nights in October. What a lovely place. Loved the swimming pool overlooking the ocean on the roof top, not to mention the view. The breakfast was fantastic, the staff was friendly and the owners were amazing. They definitely have a feel for what their guests wants. The room was stunning too. We will definitely be staying there as often as we can. Great value, great people, awesome stay. Michelle & Nicolas Sossusvlei

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Namibia
Level 5 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Many thanks Peter & Julie for our stay at the Beach Hotel last weekend. We went to check out this new property and really enjoyed our stay. The location is excellent, very close to the aquarium and within walking distance of the Tug and Jetty restaurants. There are superb views across the estuary and beachfront from the roof top terrace.

We stayed in a family room which was very comfortable, had sea views and all the facilities that you would expect. The prices are very good, and it's really nice to be able to walk to the shops, beaches and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ATI_Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is a brand new hotel, opened September 2012. Booking was very difficult - took a week and many calls and emails to get what I wanted. In the end had a comfort room 402 - somewhat small but a great bathroom with corner tub and walk in shower and a big private balcony.

 Location is great for fabulous sea views, and close to the Jetty, so good if dining there.

 The 4th floor rooms open onto a guest lounge with TV - nice idea, except when a noisy young family get up at 7am, everyone is awake - not thought through properly.


Some other fundamental omissions for a new hotel:
- only 2 sockets in the room, plus an old extension cable, giving 3 points altogether. Even without all our camera and phone chargers, these were shared by the kettle, the fridge and 2 bedside lights. Missed a great opportunity to put loads of points with international adaptors for guests.
- wall bathroom hairdryer, cord so short that you couldn't do the left side and see in the mirror at the same time
- Tiny wardrobe - held nothing longer than a shirt.


- Strange choice of heavy furniture that took up a lot of room but not much else
- Bar/restaurant has no atmosphere/warmth (yet - maybe it will improve)
- Food was good - but served on cold plates. 


- Room was clean but not spotless - ashtray on balcony was not emptied, nor floor cleaned.


- Shower door opened onto corner of basin, an accident waiting to happen
- Underground parking - don't use it, it's too steep and full of concrete pillars - there is plenty of parking above ground

Room Tip: I wanted the luxury apartment but found out at the last minute it has twin beds so if like us you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Gbrux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Went to Namibia for a photo production in the month of September 2012 and stayed at the Beach Hotel Swakopmund for 7 days and had a excellent time. The hotel had recently opened , but seemed as if they have been running for quite sometime.Staff were extremely helpful. The presence of the owners were also felt, which is something you don't get at all hotels.

Food at their restaurant The Galley was very good. The Galley Burger is a must try.

Also close proximity to beach and town is a plus!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouisLocations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, Inhaber at Beach Hotel Swakopmund, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Louis,

many thanks for the nice rating! We are so happy that you enjoyed the stay with us.
We hope we will se you again.

Greetings to SA

Peter & Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
0.7 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
328 reviews
3.6 mi away
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
#5 of 19 in Swakopmund
298 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Deutsches Haus
Hotel Deutsches Haus
#8 of 19 in Swakopmund
243 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hansa Hotel
Hansa Hotel
#4 of 19 in Swakopmund
339 reviews
1.7 mi away
BON Hotel Swakopmund
BON Hotel Swakopmund
#12 of 19 in Swakopmund
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Hotel Swakopmund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Hotel Swakopmund

Property: Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Address: 1 Suedstrand St., Swakopmund 9000, Namibia
Phone Number:
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Swakopmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach Hotel Swakopmund 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are on a business trip, visiting our charming town Swakopmund, having a conference, a romantic weekend or holiday trip, Beach Hotel Swakopmund is a perfect place to stay and to feel comfortable.The ideal location of Beach Hotel Swakopmund, just 50 m from the Atlantic Ocean and within walking distance to the centre of Swakopmund, allows you to experience the flavour of our charming town, while providing you the opportunity to explore the surrounding areas. Our friendly staff will always be happy to provide additional information on local services, shopping, activities and nearby attractions at your request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Beach Hotel Swakopmund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing