We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“About as expected for very old but unique property.”
Review of Swakopmund Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swakopmund Hotel
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Swakopmund
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Was here for two nights attending part of conference. Hotel showed age but rooms were adequate and comfortable considering. Very few guests in hotel so staff was lean. Difficult to find entrance to meal area and routed around building to side rather than from courtyard. Food okay
Good location and walking to local shops and beach is close. Am not sure about what else is available in area so cannot rate vs others.

Room Tip: Did not have elevator , that we could find, but did not need. If you need such ask for ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oandw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 295 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2014

This is quite an expensive hotel and whilst the family rooms are small, apart from that, our stay was excellent. The staff are very very friendly (as I found across Namibia). They accommodated our requests from cleaning cars, to finding beaches to braai on, to moving tables so we could sit outside our room etc. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. The hotel itself is very well kept and the architecture is lovely. Didnt even bother to visit the casino or cinema next door. Our daughter lost her blanket on this trip. It is so old that it resembles a rag. We suspect that a cleaning lady picked it up and maybe threw it away. Whilst we never found it, the staff went out of their way to look through laundry etc. (It was time it went anyway!)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donnalee66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The hotel has colonial influence, could have been a nice hotel. We had poor experience with the staff, especially impolite at the front desk and the staff who carried out luggage would just stand there to make sure they got tip before they were "willing" to leave the room. The overall cleanness was questionable, especially with older furniture. We had some tower with black marks. We wouldn't recommend this hotel, definitely not near any four stars. We had all other accommodations in our Namibia trip way better than this, was disappointing we got recommended to stay here. The city was wonderful, a lot to do, and we also noticed some much nicer choices in the city

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ting S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Stayed here for 4wks on business and overall it was ok - managed to negotiate a much lower rate for my duration (as if not, I would be very unhappy with the cost/experience).

Staff are friendly, but not overly helpful/useful - if you submit laundry and put 'on hangers' don't be surprised if your clothes are all returned folded in a plastic bag instead.
If you choose something off the menu - don't be surprised if they don't have this tonight, or that, or the other tonight...
Internet is not free, and doesn't last long before you have to 'top up.
A popular place for groups of tourists - not exactly exclusive.

Other than a few trivial issues, it's an ok hotel - nothing stands out as massively better in the area, so you're probably stuck with it.

Only good thing - cleaners are on the ball - that's good enough for me.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

A very nice and comfortable hotel in a very "German) town in Namibia. The hotel staff was very helpful, but the wait staff in the Platform One Restaurant was rather slow. The hotel's location is excellent for exploring the town of Swakopmund.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank realbigbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The hotel is very nice, and the fact that it is the old Swakopmund station makes it a landmark in town. the rooms are spacious, but a bit dated. The bathroom was very small and very out dated. The shower in particularly was a nightmare. Staff was helpful but that's it! The restaurant is not fantastic, food is average and service average as well. It is a good place to stay, but do not expect too much.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManfrediPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I stayed here the past week end. Check in was a drag with the one receptionist on the phone speaking out loudly and trying to sell massages to me whilst still being on the phone instead of checking us in. The room was standard with all the amenities, The stairs to the room was a bit of a bother seeing that my wife is pregnant. There was a power outage at around 11 pm and there doesnt seem to be abck up generator so i was stuck outside my room for a bit . All in all our stay was average.

Room Tip: Choos a room that faces theswimming poll on the lower levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
0.4 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
432 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
297 reviews
2.8 mi away
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
#5 of 19 in Swakopmund
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
450 reviews
0.4 mi away
Swakopmund Plaza Hotel
Swakopmund Plaza Hotel
#7 of 19 in Swakopmund
93 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hansa Hotel
Hansa Hotel
#3 of 19 in Swakopmund
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swakopmund Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swakopmund Hotel

Address: 2 Theo-Ben Gurirab Avenue, Swakopmund, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Swakopmund
Price Range: $186 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swakopmund Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Swakopmund Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing