We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Swakopmund Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Eberwein(Swakopmund)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hansa Hotel(Swakopmund)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swakop Lodge(Swakopmund)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (300)
Filter reviews
300 results
Traveler rating
90
143
51
11
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
143
51
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationold railwaypool areahistorical hotelcentral courtyardinteresting townlovely hoteloriginal buildingchoose this hotelvictorian stylebit datedgerman townstaff were professionalthe air conditioningthe hotel staffshort strollexcellent facilities
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 300 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The Swakopmund Hotel is, a converted railway station the original was a grand German colonial design.
The accommodation we had was roomy, comfortable, but we had to request the balcony.

The staff is friendly, helpful and efficient. It was cool during our two night stay so we did not use the swimming pool but it is attractive and in warmer weather we would use it.
The breakfast was nice with good choice of dishes including fresh oysters the other meals that we had were not that great.
The casino is shabby with a rough cliental the bar area in the lobby ir open and subject to drafts which made sitting there uncomfortable.

My problem with the hotel is the cost you are paying 5 to 6 times what you pay at any other hotel at the coast but you do not feel you are getting any additional value for money.

All though a nice place to stay it is way over priced.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the 4 rooms with a proper balcony
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drury P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This converted train station is now a nice hotel.
Well located, with friendly staff and a nice swimming pool.
The restaurant has an excellent buffet (I usually don't even rate buffets as I don't like the concept).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skylab2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The Swakopmund Hotel is, unusually, a converted station building but the original was of quite a grand German colonial design and seems to have converted quite well. We found the accommodation roomy and comfortable, and the staff friendly, helpful and efficient. It was unfortunately quite cool during our three night stay so that the swimming pool was not an attractive amenity although in warmer weather one can believe that it would be. The cool weather also affected the desirability of spending time in the bar area, which is located in the large lobby area subject to cool draughts when external doors are continually being opened. The restaurant provided a nice breakfast with a good choice of dishes but we were disappointed with the one evening meal that we had. We were impressed with the shuttle service run by the hotel which was available, free, at any time to drop one off in any local destination and, at a phone call, also to collect and return one to the hotel. Overall, a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGEDNOMAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had a supper at the restaurant of that hotel. At first we were only 5 in that immense room; eventually 12 more people arrived. The buffet could have served hundreds of people . The buffet was full of goodies. We had a nice supper, service at the table (for wine) was perfect. The hotel is part of the old railway station dating the beginning of the city. It has been expanded and converted in a plush hotel and casino.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank B265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights with our 3 kids. Hotel staff were friendly and willing to help. Rooms are clean. Wifi works well and is free. Grounds in well kept condition. Breakfast buffet selection was good, including fresh fruit, yoghurt, eggs made to order, cereals, cold cuts, cheeses, breads and pastries and even steak and chicken if that's what you fancy. Made some nice restaurant recommendations within walking distance. There's a shuttle to town but we didn't use because we found the town easy to walk. We did quad biking nearby with Desert Explorers. Was a lot of fun and they'll collect you from your hotel and return you when you're done. We also did the Dolphin cruise which was quite enjoyable, they also collected and returned us to the hotel. Overall and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: we had room 203 and 205. 205 had a large balcony.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews