We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pass it”
Review of Bistro Zum Kaiser

Bistro Zum Kaiser
Ranked #51 of 73 Restaurants in Swakopmund
Cuisines: German, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Bistro Zum Kaiser offers a unique culinary experience combining the finest German-Namibian flavours with award-winning wines in a warm and relaxed environment.Be spoiled for choice from the superb breakfast feast, indulging sweet treats, outstanding light meals to our exquisite main menu. These mouth-watering dishes will please even the most discerning taste buds and will leave a lasting memory to your visit.For those exploring the vibrant streets of Swakopmund, Bistro Zum Kaiser is the perfect place to rest your feet and enjoy a delicious cup of freshly ground coffee.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
233 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Pass it”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

If you enjoy listening to waiting staff wining and dragging their feet you should definitely pay this restaurant a visit. The whole scenery is so boring and uninviting it just makes you want to eat up and run. The meat and the fish however were ok. As the waitress noticed we were going to pay by card she immediately let us know that we had to add her tip to the bill.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank sokriw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Bistro Zum Kaiser, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Sokriw,
We do appreciate your feedback as it will help us to provide the very best for future customers. Apologies for not meeting your expectations.
Best Regards,
The Bistro Zum Kaiser Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    18
    7
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Swakopmund, Namibia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Excellent service and great food. We had a function for 25 people there and everything was arranged perfectly. We had a lot of fun, received excellent service and great food. Highly recommend this place.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kerstin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Bistro Zum Kaiser, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Kerstin,
Thank you for your fantastic review! We are glad you had a successful function and enjoyed the service and cuisine you received!
Looking forward to welcome you back!
Best Regards,
The Bistro Zum Kaiser Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool UK
Level Contributor
144 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Agreeable eatery”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at the adjoining Boutique Hotel, and took dinner and breakfast here. On a rather chilly evening, we were pleased to find a blazing log fire. Food was good and reasonably priced - dinner cost N$340 for two, including two large glasses of wine, beer and sparkling water.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ornsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Bistro Zum Kaiser, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Ornsay,
Thank you for your wonderful review! Glad you liked our log fire in the winter as well as the cuisine!
Looking forward to welcome you back!
Best Regards,
The Bistro Zum Kaiser Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Cosey Restaurant on windy night”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Warm welcome - fireside table - very good service and food excellent Corkage (I'm from RSA) - very reasonable

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swakopmund
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

The Restaurant was very good and clean, the food was excellent as well as the service

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank TurmalinSwakopmund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Zum Kaiser also viewed

Swakopmund, Erongo Region
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
 
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
 

Been to Bistro Zum Kaiser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing