We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite Café in Swakop”
Review of Village Cafe

Village Cafe
Ranked #1 of 77 Restaurants in Swakopmund
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My favourite Café in Swakop”
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Every time I'm in Swakopmund I go to the Village Café, usually for breakfast or brunch. I love the decor and the friendly service. The food is great and 'Ma se Brood' is a must. Highly recommended. And you can bring your dog!

Helpful?
Thank tinarani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    424
    189
    32
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria South
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“FUN-TASTIC”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

As they say, "don't judge a book by it's cover" - don't judge Village Cafe by it's unassuming street front.

During my research for our trip, Village Cafe kept on being recommended. We were looking for a good place to have breakfast before leaving Swakop for the rest of our long trip and was very happy to hear that they are open for service from 7am.

The court yard is a fun filled sunny spot to enjoy great food, served by smiling, happy waitresses - not something to take for granted. The menu will satisfy any and every preference and the food and coffee is really good. You can not help but take plenty of pictures of this jolly eatery. Altogether a good experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Petro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely courtyard. Good service.”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is such a lovely quiet, cool and hidden courtyard in what can be a very busy town over December. Nice variety of salads, basic toasted sandwiches and lovely service. Coffee is disappointing, though.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank marlette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Only had the takeaway”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Heard lots of good things about the Village Cafe and would have like to have eaten there properly. We purchased some sandwiches and muffins for that day's long drive. The sandwiches (chicken & tuna) were nice, but possible a little plain. The biggest complaint I had was with the muffins. While they were gargantuan in size, they were rather quite dry and needed to be eaten with the packets of butter that were provided.

Overall, the takeaway we bought was a little underwhelming, but we did notice some nice looking plates of food being served to the customers dining in-house.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrNBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Massive!”
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

We were eating here and ordered the terminator 3 what a meal big slice of bread good contents and o so good a place to visit if your in swakop!

Helpful?
Thank jamescritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Cafe also viewed

Swakopmund, Erongo Region
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
 
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
 
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
 

Been to Village Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing