We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could improve”
Review of Ocean Basket - CLOSED

Ocean Basket
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Swakopmund, Namibia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Could improve”
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

My experience with ocean basket is that the quality of the food is very inconsistant as well as the availability of diet beverages. The ambiance needs drastic improvement and the lack of having colouring items for kids during our visits. Getting the waiters attention is usaully dificult as they bundle together and chat away instead of really focussing on the customers. We enjoy seafood and I think with a little more focussed management and involvement this restaurant can do so much better.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank louis n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    20
    8
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dinner at the Basket”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

It was very nice, not great, service very good, very basic seafood, very very reasonably priced. They have every kind of seafood you could want, along with great sushi. The onion rings could not be beat.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 19Patricia42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unhappy Customer”
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

Not happy at all a huge disappointment, Sushi was horrible one of my family members got sick from it, rest of the food was just as bad and the waiters were standing outside I had to stand up twice and go call one of them. Never going back there agian!

Helpful?
2 Thank Stefan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

from the outside it looks like a Fish and Chip shop, not particularly special or enticing you to go in. However we went in because it was open when our other choice wasn't (sorry Kucki's).
Got to say that I was really surprised, it was excellent. The waitresses were very good and the food was served promptly. I made the mistake of getting a platter. how big is it? pure shock, three types of calamari, prawns, oysters, fish ...
Even though a lot was deep fried it was still lovely and I ended up sharing with two others.
it was doing a roaring trade in take aways so they must be doing something right.
Would I go back? absolutely, but would go on a very empty stomach

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geomacg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice seafood”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We were in a bit of a hurry as we had activities booked for the afternoon and the staff were very accommodating in this. We were served promptly and our food was on the table very quickly. We ordered the grilled squid and chips which were delicious.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flippy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Basket also viewed

Swakopmund, Erongo Region
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
 
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
 
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing