We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fish cafe worthy to eat at in Swakopmund” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Basket - CLOSED

Ocean Basket
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Camberwell, Australia
Level Contributor
228 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“A fish cafe worthy to eat at in Swakopmund”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2011

This is a wonderful fish cafe in beautiful Swakopmund. The four of us arrived without reservations on a busy night and were greeted as long lost relations a table quickly found and the menu explained with suggestions of what to eat. All fish was fresh and we tried for the first time Kingklip a delightful eating fish. We were so impressed we returned the following evening to an equally informative waiter.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aussiebd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    19
    8
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This Restaurant could Be anywhere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

On the Coast in Namibia you would expect a First Class seafood Restaurant. We quickly wanted to have Lunch, and the Service and the prices are alright, but it felt more like fastfood. Next time we will go to a real Restaurant again, this was disappointing and Not Special at all.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Werner D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swakopmund
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not up to Swakopmund standard”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

We were a group of 5 and two of us ordered kingklip. When it arrived it was still undercooked. We returned it to the kitchen and requested a new plate of food, not heated. When the other 3 persons in our group was finished with their meal, our second attempt meal arrived.....not bad...until we came to the middle and both the new kingklip were again undercooked! I left a note with 3 questions....1.What went wrong..2.What will you do about it...3. What will you do to prevent this from happening again ("Lean" m/ment questions)...I received a call the next day...and was satisfied with the explanation....last week we visited again.....this time the pumkins were ice cold....out of the fridge!......therefore....this restaurant is NOT up to Swakopmund standards! Rather select one of the other restaurants...Wreck, Kuki's Pub or similar.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SwakopmundEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
193 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“It's a seafood fast food restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

Don t be fooled by the name. This is a fast food restaurant, and not a fresh seafood specialty restaurant. Once. Realized that, expectations, adjusted, I can say the food was ok for lunch. Definitely not a dinner venue.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank traceller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great seafood without the fuss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

We had arrived in Swakop after a long drive, and didn't feel like prebooking, or anything stuffy. Although Swakop felt more German than African, the Ocean Basket creates some real local warmth. The staff are lovely, the wine list is great value, the food is good and plentiful and it's great value for money. Don't be put off by the silly menu. I had calamari 3 ways and my husband had kingclip. Both were excellent, and I think the bill was two thirds the price of other restaurants in town. No need to book.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Basket also viewed

Swakopmund, Erongo Region
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
 
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing