We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and gated house within easy walk of town”
Review of Namib Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Namib Guesthouse
Ranked #6 of 48 Swakopmund B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Formby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Comfortable and gated house within easy walk of town”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Beautiful rooms. Spotlessly clean and well equipped (no fridge but kettle). Staff (Sulki and Nikki) were friendly,welcoming, helpful and personal in their approach.

We received lots of information about the area and felt that any problems would be sorted out quickly (although we had none).

A lovely, simple but comfortable base for exploring Swakapmound.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reavley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    46
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
142
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Twickenham
Level Contributor
382 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

From the moment of arriving we were warmly greeted and looked after. Paulina booked us a great restaurant and arranging quad biking for the next day. When we went on a scenic flight with an early start a packed breakfast was made without question. The rooms are modern and comfy with great baths and showers. Breakfast is good with a choice of hot and cold dishes. Having a drink from the honesty bar in the lovely courtyard is a great way to relax. Less than 10 minutes walk from the main shopping and restaurant area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Welsh_Clarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morges, Switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Beautiful small guesthouse in a quiet residential area, a few minutes from either city center or seafront offering a warm welcome. Friendly host offers assistance in booking excursions and restaurants.
Large clean bright room opening on the patio, tea/coffee making facility but no fridge, huge modern bathroom, parking available right in front of the house with a guard at night.
The nice patio allows to enjoy a drink taken out of the "honesty bar", very good breakfast with extended choice for such a small property.
A good choice for a stop in the middle of a trip around Namibia !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grannyG7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

we enjoyed two lovely days at Namib guesthouse - the rooms are beautifully done with much attention to detail, the staff is incredibly helpful, breakfast is yummy and the location ideal for your 'tour de swakop' - we would recommend this place any day!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jules_canada_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed here in September. The guesthouse was easy to locate and parking was available outside just pulling in off the street. There was a guard there for the night. The location was a short 10 min walk into town.

The room was clean and bright and quite comfortable. They even provided extra older towels in the room that we could use to clean the ever present dust off our luggage and belongings! The staff was very helpful and the breakfast was fine. The area was quiet and this made for an excellent choice for a stay in Swakopmund. The area is safe and we had no problems walking back here at night after dinner. The staff will be helpful in providing suggestions for places to dine and activities if you don't already have something planned.

A great value and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LikesToHike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Kudos to the Namib Guesthouse Team for a fantastic stay. The contemporary designed rooms, delicious breakfast, friendly and service-minded staff make this truly the best place to stay if your travels take you to Swakopmund. The free wifi is a bonus too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UpInTheAirMalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Had a three nights-stay here in october 2013, and I cannot give this place enough credit. The staff was very helpful and service-minded, and even made lunchpack for us on our departure day, as we were departing before breakfasttime. The rooms are spacious and with a very chic interior, and the rooms were very clean. Very good value for your money.

The staff is helpful with ordering transport,book tables at restaurants and other things. I am very happy with my stay, and will most certainly go back during my next trip to Swakopmund :) a big thumb up for "The Honesty Bar" as well!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Renate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
0.6 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hansa Hotel
Hansa Hotel
#3 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
#1 of 48 in Swakopmund
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meike's Guesthouse
Meike's Guesthouse
#2 of 48 in Swakopmund
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Namib Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Namib Guesthouse

Property: Namib Guesthouse
Address: 61 Anton Lubowski Street, Swakopmund, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Swakopmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Namib Guesthouse 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uber-chic, eco-friendly, and just a 10 minute stroll to the beach, Namib Guesthouse is a luxurious and tranquil haven in Namibia's ultimate holiday destination: Swakopmund. All exquisitely decorated and spacious en-suite rooms have plasma TVs, satellite, and free Wi-Fi. Scrumptious breakfasts are served daily, and guests have full access to the dining room's honesty bar. We look forward to making your stay absolutely unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Namib Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing