We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”
Review of Namib Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Namib Guesthouse
Ranked #7 of 49 Swakopmund B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
92 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Wonderful location close to Swakopmund Central area. Beautiful setting with well decorated rooms. Silke the manager went out of her way to make our stay comfortable and helped out with alot of information and bookings. Breakfast was well organized and orders were delivered in a timely manner. Highly recommended if you are visiting Swakop.

Room Tip: Go for Room 1 which is the Luxury room, its bigger and has both bathtub and shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wema34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ngossow, Owner at Namib Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Dear Wema,
thank you so much for taking the time and leaving a feedback on Namib Guesthouse We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. With sunny regards from Swakopmund Silke & Nicky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    46
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
144
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

I recently spent a month in Swakopmund, Namibia. My trip was at short notice so I had to find a place to stay for the duration which was pretty difficult with only 2 days notice. The folks at the Namib guest house luckily had accomodation for me so I booked it. When I arrived I found the guesthouse to be quite a surprise. The rooms were modern and very comfortable with all the amenities that I needed for the duration of my stay. With the main town only a couple of blocks away it was an easy walk to the restaurants and pubs for a meal which made it very handy. Nicky the owner and Silke the manager where absolutely awesome, they looked after me very well and did everything possible to make my stay as homely and comfortable as possible. I would recommend the Namib Guesthouse to anyone who wants a clean, quiet and friendly place to stay. Thankyou ladies I will be back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scruffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ngossow, Owner at Namib Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Dear Scruffa,
we wish to thank you for your excellent feedback and the fact that you booked with us again says it all :) We strive to make your stay with us as comfortable as possible. Greetings from Swakopmund Silke & Nicky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Opened two months ago, Namib Guesthouse is a chic new B&B that is styled and looks like a 5 star hotel, with personalized service. The interior design is fabulous, the solar heated water yummy and hot and the beds cushy and welcoming. The breakfast is also really healthy and inviting. Silke, who helps manage the place with owner Nikki, is very very helpful and had lots of useful tips for us. She booked our marine cruise, helped us find a good quad biking place, and made dinner reservations for us (at the Tug which is a winning A+ restaurant in my books). My husband was also quite appreciative of the DSTV in the rooms and the WiFi given how cold it was in Swakopmund when we got there.

We had a small hiccup with our water, but the lengths that the Silke and Nikki went to to resolve the issue speaks to the quality of service at the place.

I would recommend this place to everyone. It is a cool 10 mins walk to the middle of downtown Swakopmund. The pictures on the website are exactly how the rooms look like in real life - so you will not be disappointed. WILL stay here for sure on our next vacation to Swakopmund.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBuggy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ngossow, Manager at Namib Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 10, 2011
Our dear guests from Kenya, thank you so much for the positive review. I still wish Swakopmund would have presented itself with better weather than it did. Things are developing well here at Namib Guesthouse and Silke is keeping an interesting telly of our variety of guets we've had. Please send our regards to your husband - and we hope to greet you again at Namib Guesthouse. Regards from all of us here, Silke & Nicky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
0.5 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
358 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
247 reviews
0.7 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Swakopmund Plaza Hotel
Swakopmund Plaza Hotel
#10 of 19 in Swakopmund
49 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hansa Hotel
Hansa Hotel
#4 of 19 in Swakopmund
333 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
#2 of 49 in Swakopmund
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Namib Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Namib Guesthouse

Property: Namib Guesthouse
Address: 61 Anton Lubowski Street, Swakopmund, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Swakopmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Namib Guesthouse 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uber-chic, eco-friendly, and just a 10 minute stroll to the beach, Namib Guesthouse is a luxurious and tranquil haven in Namibia's ultimate holiday destination: Swakopmund. All exquisitely decorated and spacious en-suite rooms have plasma TVs, satellite, and free Wi-Fi. Scrumptious breakfasts are served daily, and guests have full access to the dining room's honesty bar. We look forward to making your stay absolutely unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Namib Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing