We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good pizza!”
Review of 22 Degrees South

22 Degrees South
Ranked #20 of 73 Restaurants in Swakopmund
Price range: $7 - $41
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: This is NOT the pub at the beach, but an Italian restaurant INSIDE the actual lighthouse.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very good pizza!”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

If you are looking to eat a real italian food, while in Swakopmund, here is the place to go! Pizza is delicious, ravioli as well. We love to go there for dinner. Ambience is nice. Service is great. Food is delicious. What else? Try it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaMedeiros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    95
    36
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Solid food very slow service”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Food was solid, service was at best subpar. We might have been unlucky, but we waited over an hour for the oyster appetizer and twenty or so more minutes for the rest of the dinner. Meanwhile, we saw the neighboring table wait for about 30 minutes for a tiramisu.

Our server and, after we approached him, the owner said the kitchen was slammed and they were sorry, but it seemed a weak excuse at best given that oysters require barely any preparation and tiramisu is made ahead of time and served cold. Nothing else than verbal excuses were offered: no offer to comp any of our food or drinks, nor to offer us dessert or drinks.

On the bright side, location is nice and the people coming in after rush time seemed to be getting their food quickly.

As for the food itself, no complaints. Everything was solid, nothing was exceptional. Fish was simply, but expertly cooked, sides were bland and consisted mostly of blanched vegetables. I had better and worse before.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just good”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

It was just good for a dinner, nothing perfectly special. To be honest if there was no lighthouse it would be one of the really really average restaurants in swakopmund. I had a rump steak which was also on average. I would not recommend if you are going only for red meat. However service was good and staff was friendly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bora G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Colorado
Level Contributor
98 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Delicious food served in a unique setting”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We ordered seafood we have never had before and we were pleasantly surprised by its attractive preparation and delicious taste. The service was very polite. And the setting in the base of an operational lighthouse is unique. Don't miss this place when in Swakopmund!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Family friendly”
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed the salmon vodka pasta (penne) and some cocktails. It was well prepared but could hardly see the salmon. The cocktails took forever to be served. Despite the lack of salmon on my plate, my toddler could run around in the garden and play in the sandpit which allowed us to soak in sun and sip on some fizzy gin cocktails. Great lunch

Helpful?
1 Thank CillaHuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 22 Degrees South also viewed

Swakopmund, Erongo Region
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
 
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
 

Been to 22 Degrees South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing